Virtual Console 480P

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Groomery, Jan 4, 2009.

Jan 4, 2009

Virtual Console 480P by Groomery at 8:57 PM (1,874 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Groomery

    Member Groomery GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    Sweden
    A simple question, Can you play Virtua Console Games with Component cable in 480P resolution?

    I have a NTSC U WII

    thanks.
     
  2. Gerard

    Newcomer Gerard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Ireland
    Em sorry I dont know : /
     
  3. pokeparadox

    Member pokeparadox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What I would like know is can the video mode of VC game be patched to force 480p...
     
  4. maduin

    Member maduin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Country:
    United States
    yes you can, just do it, why even ask? It's not like it's hard to just try it yourself.
     
  5. Louisiana

    Member Louisiana GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    Why exactly would you want to do such a thing?
     
  6. Groomery

    Member Groomery GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    Sweden
    Beqaus i dont have the cable yet... thats why im asking.
     
  7. Louisiana

    Member Louisiana GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    If you force old, low-res games to run at 480p, they look like garbage.
     
  8. lll

    Member lll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PAL VC games, at least, will only run at 576i, not 480p.
     
  9. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,347
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Normal NTSC VC games support upscale to 480p. Allowing more HDTVs to display correct.

    Most Neo Geo or PAL VC games lack this important feature, making them need the code to activate interlace on TVs with compatibility issues.
     
  10. no_chocobo

    Newcomer no_chocobo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    I've never seen any VC or WiiWare game change formats from 480p to 480i, so I think its safe to assume they just run at whatever your system settings are set at.
     
  11. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,347
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    As I was saying that's mainly NTSC versions. Numerous VC games removed 480p for PAL.
     

Share This Page