Virtual Console 480P

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Groomery, Jan 4, 2009.

Jan 4, 2009

Virtual Console 480P by Groomery at 8:57 PM (1,764 Views / 0 Likes) 10 Comments

    • Member

    Groomery GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    173
    Country:
    Sweden
    A simple question, Can you play Virtua Console Games with Component cable in 480P resolution?

    I have a NTSC U WII

    thanks.
    • Newcomer

    Gerard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Country:
    Ireland
    Em sorry I dont know : /
    • Member

    pokeparadox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Posts:
    177
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What I would like know is can the video mode of VC game be patched to force 480p...
    • Member

    maduin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Posts:
    417
    Country:
    United States
    yes you can, just do it, why even ask? It's not like it's hard to just try it yourself.
    • Member

    Louisiana GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Posts:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    Why exactly would you want to do such a thing?
    • Member

    Groomery GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    173
    Country:
    Sweden
    Beqaus i dont have the cable yet... thats why im asking.
    • Member

    Louisiana GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Posts:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    If you force old, low-res games to run at 480p, they look like garbage.
    • Member

    lll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Posts:
    132
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PAL VC games, at least, will only run at 576i, not 480p.
    • Member

    Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    3,290
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Normal NTSC VC games support upscale to 480p. Allowing more HDTVs to display correct.

    Most Neo Geo or PAL VC games lack this important feature, making them need the code to activate interlace on TVs with compatibility issues.
    • Newcomer

    no_chocobo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Posts:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    I've never seen any VC or WiiWare game change formats from 480p to 480i, so I think its safe to assume they just run at whatever your system settings are set at.
    • Member

    Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    3,290
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    As I was saying that's mainly NTSC versions. Numerous VC games removed 480p for PAL.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page