Hacking UWP: Noob here, if we are able to change the architecture to x86...

Noober82938

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
If we are able to change the architecture of an app to x86 and convert the win10 app to an .appx file, will we be able to use it? I did try to convert Kodi, but it gave me an error saying that the architecture was wrong.

Attachments

• 1512879181195.jpg
    1512879181195.jpg
    37.1 KB · Views: 386

CaseyOmah

Newcomer
Trophies
Website
www.caseyomah.com
XP
Country
United States
The error is claiming that XBONE does not have WoW (meaning Windows on Windows, the feature that allows Windows x64 builds to use x86 programs) building a WoW port for console will not be a simple task.

TheRealNGB

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I ported a build of kodi to uwp recently, I had a problem with the signature though, I already have a fix in the works and think i can get running, it's just a matter of time and motivation at this point.

kingtut

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So this is kind of related, on the xbox one feedback page, you are allowed to vote for some ideas of what you like to see on xbox, and Microsoft cares about that list. so if you all want, you can vote for stuff like this which essentially makes it easier to play pc games on xbox one:
https://xbox.uservoice.com/forums/251646-apps/suggestions/6307017-allow-a-full-steam-app-on-xbox-one

https://xbox.uservoice.com/forums/2...upport-java-a-full-pc-standard-vm-on-xbox-one

https://xbox.uservoice.com/forums/2...ns/8464621-make-pc-games-playable-on-xbox-one

if we get more votes, who knows what will happen. Currently they have a decent number of votes, but if we can get them to be higher, we increase our chances so anyone here is free to share these links with other people they know.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------