USB Loader GX: Black screen when loading Wii games

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by iamfearlezz, May 14, 2014.

  1. Ayan

    Ayan Member

    Newcomer
    10
    2
    Jul 1, 2016
    United States
    YESSSSS!!! Finally the new ISO works! Thanks for the help guys! I appreciate it! (Without need for USBLoaderGX updates and stuff)
     
    Last edited by Ayan, Jul 2, 2016
    Clutz450 and Cyan like this.


  2. ferferga

    ferferga Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Jul 16, 2016
    Hello! I have one issue with Ultimate USB Loader GX. I switched from WiiFlow to this launcher because it features a better interface and more useful capabilities for me. WiiFlow worked perfectly for me with a TDK 32 GB drive formatted as FAT32 and the game under Root:/wbfs/XXXXX.wbfs. I had with it a d2x-v10-beta52 install in slot 249 with iOS 38 as base. I tried with that installation, but it didn't worked. I switched to 56, it didn't as well. I tried cios from 245 to 250 without success, all of them worked perfectly in WiiFlow. No one of my games sems to load (but WiiParty), it is stuck at a black screen when I boot the game. I have Disney's Epic Mickey, Just Dance from 2014-2016, Wii Party and Zelda Skyward Sword. I also tried different video modes without success, both with cios 249 in base 38 or 56.

    Any idea is highly appreciated!
    thank you very much in advance!
     
    Last edited by ferferga, Jul 16, 2016
  3. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,750
    709
    Mar 2, 2015
    United States
    It's better to post in the official support thread, but SysCheck report (that version) and revision number (not latest!)

    Wii games belong in /wbfs/<game name>/<gameid>.wbfs
    Gamecube games belong in /games/<game name/id>/game.iso (disc2.iso for second disc of multivolume games)

    IOS3x aren't good to use for cIOS. Use IOS249[56] and IOS250[57]. Just Dance and CoD games need 57.
     
    Last edited by GreyWolf, Jul 16, 2016
  4. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,422
    8,003
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    /wbfs/<gameid6>.wbfs is working too.

    All working path layout

    The only cIOS you need is d2x v10 beta52, with base 57.
    57 has the best compatibility.
    Some games might need a base58 (music games which use USB devices, like wiispeak etc.) but most games will need 57.


    At least, your drive is detected as you can select and launch the games.
    You mentionned you have the "ultimate USBLoaderGX", but there's no such a thing as "ultimate". Could you tell us which exact revision number you have?
    The latest revision has two different options for cIOS slot : one for the loader (all access done while inside the loader), one for the game.
    maybe you edited the wrong one?
     
  5. AaronMyers

    AaronMyers Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Oct 6, 2012
    I have followed all the directions listed here, but my wii still has the black screen when trying to load any wii games... I don't know what I am doing wrong.
     
  6. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,422
    8,003
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Following someone else specific issue is probably not the way to fix a different issue.
     
  7. Black_dragon

    Black_dragon Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 3, 2016
    Netherlands
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    I'm pretty noob to this stuff so please forgive me.

    First the story:
    Ok, so I dusted off my old softmodded wii, wanted to play a few new games but not all of them did work.
    I was using USB loader GX to load some games, Big Brain Academy and Lost in Shadow didn't work. When I try to boot the game, I get nothing but a black screen.

    So I googled and came here, it appeared my cIOS and bases were out of date (or something). I think I updated them, but I'm not sure I did it correctly.

    Then I wanted to take it step by step, since I was getting frustrated by my own doing. So I needed to do a system check.


    Most games work just fine. Some gamecube games give problems, I read somewhere Nintendon't is a better alternative. Maybe I should update that one too?
     
    Last edited by Black_dragon, Aug 3, 2016
  8. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,422
    8,003
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    you updated only the slot 250, which is good and enough for most games.
    In USBLoaderGX, go to settings > loader settings > Loader's IOS : set that number to 250
    game's IOS : set that number to 250 too !
    and reboot the loader.

    your other slots are still outdated, but don't worry about it. just don't use them, and you'll be fine.

    For gamecube, if you still use DIOS MIOS, you should definitely try nintendont. it has better compatibility, and works on both SD and USB (not more need to reinstall a different MIOS every time you want to play from a different device).
    nintendont doesn't even require an installation, it's just a homebrew on SD or USB launched by USBLoaderGX.
    by default, USBLoaderGX expect nintendont into SD:/apps/nintendont/ folder.
    You don't need to change your games, nintendont is using the same filename and format than DIOS MIOS.
     
  9. Black_dragon

    Black_dragon Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 3, 2016
    Netherlands
    Well I understand what you're writing but somehow I am not able to adjust the main loader settings.

    I'll take it step by step, than you can easily see what I am doing wrong (I hope).

    I open USB Loader GX
    I click on the hammer and wrench (Cause I presume these are the settings).
    On the right side there are 6 options, in descending order:
    - Info
    - View
    - Style
    - System
    - Updates
    - Back

    In info there are 3 subtabs:
    - Basic, IOS and Debug
    But I can't really select anything, is this where I am supposed to be?

    All the other ones are not are not pointing towards loader settings (but maybe I'm assuming too much).

    When I click on a game to select, I can press options and select IOS 250, so that works (I think).

    When I try to load it using IOS 250, it says it is blocked....

    And so I still get a black screen. :(
     
  10. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,422
    8,003
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    humm, Are you really using USBLoaderGX? because that's not the usual settings names from that loader.
     
  11. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,750
    709
    Mar 2, 2015
    United States
    That doesn't sound like USB Loader GX or at least a recent version. The settings screen has buttons in the center that should be labeled "GUI Settings", "Loader Settings", "Hard Drive Settings", "Features", etc.

    The menu is the large round gear button opposite the Wii button.
     
  12. Black_dragon

    Black_dragon Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 3, 2016
    Netherlands
    Lol, you guys are right. I've been using Configurable USB Loader all the time.....

    Ok back to USB Loader GX (it's on my SD card so no worries).

    In the USB Loader GX --> Loader settings --> Adjust Loader IOS
    With Loader IOS, do you mean the option "Boot/Standard"?

    Big Brain Academy still doesn't work, neither in USB Loader GX nor in C USB Loader.

    Lost in Shadow now works in USB Loader GX, but not in Configurable USB Loader.
     
  13. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,750
    709
    Mar 2, 2015
    United States
    Change game IOS and loader IOS both to 250.

    Big Brain should work fine. I have it. It could be a bad rip?
     
  14. Black_dragon

    Black_dragon Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 3, 2016
    Netherlands
    I understand but when I open Loader settings I get these options:
    - Video Mode
    - VIDTV Patch
    - Sneek Video patch
    - Aspect Ratio
    - Game Language
    - Patch Country Strings
    - Ocarina
    - Boot/Standard
    - Quick Boot
    - Error 002 fix
    - Block IOS Reload
    - Return to
    Etc.

    Do I need to adjust Boot/Standard to 250?
     
  15. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,422
    8,003
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    if you have "boot/standard" it means you have an old version of USBLoaderGX.
    but yes, that's the correct option.
     
    Black_dragon likes this.
  16. Black_dragon

    Black_dragon Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Aug 3, 2016
    Netherlands
    Hmmm, I guess it's a bad dump then.
    Thanks for all the help guys!

    EDIT: Got my hands on other versions, now they work :) Even in CFG USB :D Hooray!
     
    Last edited by Black_dragon, Aug 4, 2016
  17. Adrian Gonzalez

    Adrian Gonzalez Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Aug 4, 2016
    Mexico
    Hello, I was getting a black screen on almost all my games and after reading this thread I saw how the best cIOS with most compatibility is d2x v10 beta52, with base 57. I have d2x v10beta53 with base 56. Can I just install the other cIOS? Thanks
     
  18. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,422
    8,003
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    you don't already have a cIOS with base57 installed? most guide let the users install 3 different bases : 56, 57 and 58 respectively in slot 249, 250, 251.
    just try selecting slot251 if you have a game which is not working.

    You don't necessarily need to reinstall beta52, except if you plan to play channels installed on EmuNAND.
    Having beta53 can be an issue if you have multiple USB connected at the same time (WiiU HDD, vWii HDD; etc.) but mix the order.
    But if you have only one device then be sure to connect it to USBPort0 (back-top on WiiU)
     
  19. parisi

    parisi GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    158
    7
    Aug 21, 2015
    Gambia, The
    hello guys
    I too have this problem "the black screen".
    Whenever i try to load a game e.g(new super mario bros.wii , super mario galaxy , loz skyward sword) they get a black screen.
    I have cIOS rev21 d2x v10-alt beta 53 ios 249 base 56 and cIOS rev21 d2x v10-alt beta 53 ios 250 base 57 and i tried them both
    i tried forcing ntsc480p and/or force pal50/60 at video mode, but till now nothing seems to work. any sugestons pls?
     
  20. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,422
    8,003
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    try to reset the loader's settings. There's maybe something wrong (for example you enabled debug, but you don't have a USBGecko, so the game wait for the debugger, etc.)
    Try another loader to check if it works and see if it's a loader issue or a game issue, or anything else