Updates about nesDS...

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by huiminghao, Mar 12, 2011.

Mar 12, 2011

Updates about nesDS... by huiminghao at 4:35 AM (173,173 Views / 11 Likes) 1,359 replies

  1. Trevor Belmont

    Member Trevor Belmont GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    136
    Location:
    timbuk2, kamtucky
    Country:
    United States

    Just push L or R during gameplay.
    If it's not working, the only thing I can think of is that your buttons may not be functioning.
    Are they indeed functioning...?
     


  2. faster7

    Newcomer faster7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    How the hell do you save on this emulator?


    I lost my progress three fucking times on Megaman because the save states are garbage and stops working at random times.

    Is there no save slots in on this emulator? How the hell do I access it?
     
  3. Clydefrosch

    Member Clydefrosch GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,853
    Country:
    Germany
    am I somehow doing anything wrong with the settings in this emulator? whenever i restart it, i have to readjust the screen and swap a/b again and reset the bottom screen to show the rest of the pixels that get pushed out of the upper screen (which is really great on games like mario 3) and also any shortcuts.

    i did save the settings ini, multiple times even.

    also theres the function to scale up and down (it can even be put to the shortcuts) which is the best thing to happen to the emulator with its terrible aspect ratio leading to cropping on the ds. if there ever is another update to this, would it be possible to limit how far these functions go? because if you just go a bit too far with the scaling, the whole thing crashes, which pretty much makes the whole function useless.

    thank you and good day

    EDIT: ok, got it. the ini belongs in the root folder...
     
  4. hollowdeathcult

    Newcomer hollowdeathcult Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Peru
    I'm genuinely new to DS homebrew and emulation, so maybe this will be a noob question...

    Where can I find the nesds.ini to manually configure the default folder for the roms? Because I didn't found it yet

    Also, thank you very much for this emulador, it just work great!
     
  5. gothicall

    Member gothicall Blah blah blah!

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    Colombia
    When you start for first time it'll create an ini file on root of your MicroSD.
     
  6. hollowdeathcult

    Newcomer hollowdeathcult Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Peru

    I open the emulator, played a game a bit an then shut down the console.

    I searched for the .ini and it doesn't on the root folder...

    That's strange, because I use gameyob and it generate correctly a .ini that I can modify...

    What's happening?
     
  7. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,262
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    grab 1.3a from filetrip. its got the nesDS.ini included.
    http://filetrip.net/nds-downloads/emulators/download-nesds-1-3a-f30809.html
     
    gothicall likes this.
  8. hollowdeathcult

    Newcomer hollowdeathcult Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Peru
    VatoLoco likes this.
  9. nitendo

    Newcomer nitendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Sweden
    Huiminghao - Please consider updating nesDS (if possible?) to function with a rom of the following specs:

    MMC5
    1MB PRG-ROM
    1MB CHR-ROM
    8KB SRAM
    Capcom 6C80 Sound Engine, with DPCM usage
    If this is possible AND you are able to do it - you can play this EXCELLENT rom hack (currently in Beta - so there is no rush).

    Zelda - The Legend of Link:
    http://acmlm.kafuka.org/board/thread.php?id=7308&page=1

    The above is simply the MOST impressive rom hack for the NES....ever...period!

    /Nitendo
     
  10. nitendo

    Newcomer nitendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Sweden
    So I've done a little research...

    The Problem

    This is from the creator of the hack, Zelda - The Legend of Link:
    "There is a fast way to learn if my rom will play perfectly on an emulator you use.
    Watch the intro after the title screen fades away. I have a golden scroll moving up the screen.
    If that scroll & text comes up garbage, then you should stop playing unfortunately.

    This is because the emulator you are using, is not utilizing the MMC5 register $5130 correctly.

    I perform chr swaps for 3 specific things, the intro, a mini game, and the Ganon fight.
    If you continue to play the game with the garbaged gfx, it will obviously look bad, and it might even crash. "

    The Solution

    Below is great material for trying to 'fix' nesDS:

    Description of the MMC5 mapper and its details
    MMC5 mapper description: http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/MMC5

    Open-source code that 'correctly' emulates MMC5:
    fceux MMC5 source: http://sourceforge.net/p/fceultra/code/HEAD/tree/fceu/trunk/src/boards/mmc5.cpp

    Open-source code to nesDS - that needs to be 'fixed':
    nesDS mapper 5 source: http://sourceforge.net/p/nesds/code/ci/master/tree/arm9/source/mappers/map5.s


    Anybody got the skillz to fix this in nesDS?

    /Nitendo
     
  11. nitendo

    Newcomer nitendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Sweden
    Can't get this off my mind - so I researched it some more.

    Here is a screen-shot of the file mmc5.cpp from the source of Fceux (http://sourceforge.net/p/fceultra/code/HEAD/tree/fceu/trunk/src/boards/mmc5.cpp):

    [​IMG]

    And here is the corresponding code of map5.s from the source of nesDS (http://sourceforge.net/p/nesds/code/ci/master/tree/arm9/source/mappers/map5.s):

    [​IMG]

    Seems to me that Fceux does some 'magic' with register $5130. Can the same be applied (translated of course) to the nesDS source?


    /Nitendo
     
  12. nitendo

    Newcomer nitendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Sweden
    Seems as if the MAIN problem with nesDS and MMC5 games is that nesDS only support a maximum of 256kb PRG ROM and CHR.

    Zelda - Legend of link needs 1MB of each.
    ROM City Rampage need 512 PRG ROM.

    Two cool hacks that most likely will remain unplayable on nesDS.

    I have been in contact with Huiminghao - who has neither the interest nor the skill to develop nesDS further....sad but true.

    /d-ace
     
  13. huiminghao
    OP

    Member huiminghao GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    China
    Zelda runs well on the latest build.
    ROM City Rampage, not a public/free rom, no way to test it.
     
  14. nitendo

    Newcomer nitendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Sweden

    Holy Crap - you did it!

    Then you did have an interest and the skill to develop nesDS further - I stand corrected.

    Thanks a bunch!

    P.S. Try to google the words "zippyshare" and "4520531" - who knows what will happen... D.S

    /d-ace
     
  15. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,262
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    i'm getting a lot of guru errors with the latest build on my DStwo.
    this one happened when using an on-the-fly .ips patch before trying to boot the game Recca
    pc:02008DD8 addr:03000000
     
  16. nitendo

    Newcomer nitendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Sweden
    Recca is MMC3 - are you saying this game used to work but now it doesn't?

    Because the latest build should only address MMC5 (as far as I know).

    /d-ace
     
  17. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,262
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    yes, but recca was just an example.
    maybe its just at my end, but for me the on-the-fly patching isnt working in general with this latest build.
    reverting to 1.3a and all works.

    i dont really mind, i can use my gcw or ouya to play the legend of link hack.
     
  18. nitendo

    Newcomer nitendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Sweden
    Tested some games - with the latest build.

    MMC5 - sprites are FINE, background tiles are garbled:
    Rom City Rampage

    MMC5 - MINOR garbled gfx, otherwise fine:
    Metal Slader Glory


    MMC5 - MAJOR garbled gfx, otherwise fine (I pretty much don't care):
    L'Emperur
    Gemfire
    Laser Invasion
    Nobunaga's Ambition II
    Romance of the Three Kingdoms
    Uncharted Waters


    MMC5 - Does NOT work at all (I couldn't care less :-):
    Bandit Kings of Ancient China


    Still Works FINE:
    Summer Carnival '92 - Recca.nes

    VatoLoco: What on-the-fly ips-patching are you talking about? (And did you use the correct ARM version when compiling the source)?

    /d-ace
     
  19. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,262
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    i didnt compile it, i grabbed the nesDS_latest.tar.gz from here.

    on-the-fly patching is one of the cool features of nesDS
     
  20. nitendo

    Newcomer nitendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Sweden
    Tested some more and a little deeper than before and YES the latest build crashes some games under certain circumstances (for example: Castlevania, Mapper2).

    huiminghao: Is there any possibility to limit the updates you made to ONLY have effect for MMC5 roms?

    Preferably, the reason why other previously functioning games suddenly fails, should be resolved. BUT if this takes to long or is not in your interest of doing - How about just limit the changes to effect MMC5 games - they worked poorly (or not at all) in previous versions anyway.

    /d-ace
     

Share This Page