Update My WiiU Safe? (This Round)

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Homebrew' started by TestNtune, Dec 29, 2012.

Dec 29, 2012
    • Newcomer

    TestNtune New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Message Count:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    First let me thank all the men and women who spend countless hours working on these projects so we can all reap the benefits. Anyhooo, I spent lots of time reading posts and instructions and so forth. I installed HB channel and I am running my beloved Wiiflow and 500gb usb HDD. I bought my WiiU on launch day and I have never had it connected to the internet before. I wanted to know if its safe to get online and update my WiiU to the latest FW and so forth. I plan to run it offline all the time except when I update, after finding out if it's safe of course.


    • Member

    mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    Updating is perfectly fine right now.
    • Newcomer

    lampjese New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Message Count:
    84
    Location:
    Schoorl
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Think worst thing that would happen that you need to do it all over again.
    Please share your findings on what happend.
    • Newcomer

    TestNtune New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Message Count:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    It worked just fine. Thank u
    Last edited by TestNtune, Dec 30, 2012
    • Newcomer

    MrBePPe New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Message Count:
    3
    Country:
    Italy
    The update have simply and completely erased what have u done on vWii? or what else?
    lampjese likes this.
    • Newcomer

    TestNtune New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Message Count:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    No, no. It didnt change anything I had done. I should mention that I ejected my sd card and usb HDD throughout the whole update process. I always leave my sd card ejected until I start VWii anyways. Dont want WiiU mode detecting anything. Also I deleted my internet conncetion after I was finished. Dont want any automatic downloads right now.
    MrBePPe likes this.
    • Member

    Ray Lewis New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Message Count:
    1,257
    Country:
    United States
    set up internet connection to your router, THEN block access to internet using MAC FILTERING options. Wii gives Mac address in some options I believe. I keep the Wii U unplugged for now BUT should I turn it on, it connects to router, but cannot get internet access. AFAIK, it won't look for other connections that are open (might be wrong).
    • Member

    Ray Lewis New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Message Count:
    1,257
    Country:
    United States
    Excited for what is ahead. Like for 360, whenever a new dash came out, "Update spy" and public postings would say what was improved/changed (if anything). Wii had same idea working. Curious to see what each of the updates use. I traded an RGH 360 Slim for my Wii U and the guy said he took FIRST update and so since then, I've kept it offline. No games yet anyway. Hacked vWii using SmashStack, HCB set up, and have Wiiflow and it finds games but the WiiFlow logo stays on screen when I try to launch games. WFBS drive taken straight off my Wii. So I left it there for now, let development go on before doing anything else. I think this site has great information that is current in the Wii U scene. Still setting up favorites for that, and RSS feeds;-)
    • Newcomer

    MrBePPe New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Message Count:
    3
    Country:
    Italy
    U mean that HBC, cIOS and other stuff are still installed and workin?? after update??
    Seems that Nintendo dont care about modding vWii... at least in that second sysupdate... bah..
    • Newcomer

    TestNtune New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Message Count:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, everything was still good. I played some new super mario bros. and mario all stars, mario 3 for a couple hours after. I never had any problems modding except in the beginning when I was following instructions after smash stack and hbc. You have to do the bluedump program version 3 but the link leads to version 4. Well ver. 4 wont work. You have to google for version 3 yourself. But regardless, i'm a little off topic, fact is, i was able to do all the updates after modding without loosing anything. That may change with the next official patch or update from N. Best thing to do is stay offline and watch the forums till you know its safe to update. Been doing this for years on different platforms and its always the same, don't jump the gun.....do your research.....read.....read......read. Good Luck. And Thx again to the coders.
    Last edited by TestNtune, Dec 31, 2012
    MrBePPe likes this.
    • Newcomer

    lampjese New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Message Count:
    84
    Location:
    Schoorl
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Good that it did not affect anything.
    • Member

    hundshamer New Member

    Member Since:
    May 22, 2009
    Message Count:
    912
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    My question is does it block the hacks themselves, such as Indianapwns, Bathaxx, ect.? I just got a new WiiU and want to install the HBC, but want to be sure I can, even after update. Can you see if the option you chose to install the HBC still works?
    • Newcomer

    lampjese New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Message Count:
    84
    Location:
    Schoorl
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Its not a new update and nobody is having problems in that way yet, it is save to update.
    • Member

    Obveron New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Message Count:
    166
    Country:
    Canada
    If you router supports URL blacklists (or static routing), you could block the Nintendo addresses that push updates. Then perhaps, you could keep online gaming working but avoid new updates. Of course, if the online gaming servers are the same as the update servers, this would not work.
    • Member

    Taleweaver Storywriter

    Member Since:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,205
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    (note: the below is also aimed at others with similar questions)
    Erm...it helps to remember the version history and the date.

    WiiU's so far ship with the basic firmware (1.0.0, IIRC). Then there was the huge day 1 update, putting it to 2.0.0 (which allows to actually use things like the vwii). Shortly afterward, there was a minor update (2.1.0), which did some stability tweaks.

    While it was known that many disc exploits for the wii did work for basic homebrew, things that could actually be considered hacking of the vwii (basically: a HBC channel and cIOS for the thing) were only released after the release of 2.1.0.


    So please don't draw conclusions just yet. mysticwaterfall mentioned "Updating is perfectly fine right now.". Chances are very high future updates will at least meddle with the HBC or cIOS to some degree.


    @hundshammer: the interesting part is that those exploits were never truly patched to begin with (even smash stack was only dealt with in a half-assed way). I have no idea why not, but with each of them being available for years, it's impossible that nintendo didn't knew about it. So my guess is that they simply cannot fix it without at least potentially causing problems elsewhere. And that would mean at least the exploits will remain available, no matter what nintendo does (well...unless they seriously change their policy on the wiiu being backwards compatible).
    • Member

    pwsincd Garage Flower

    Member Since:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,740
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    a Launch day american WiiU and never seen the internet but had already a vWii ... strange ..
    • Newcomer

    TestNtune New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Message Count:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Yes actually I was actually thinking the same thing in the back of my mind reading all the posts last week. I stood in line at Wallyworld for 2 hours waiting for midnight launch day and got the last of 5 black WiiU's. I never opened it until Christmas. First boot it already had vWii, netflix, and Hulu. It did not have the taskbar or tvii. Those were added after updating online.
    • Member

    pwsincd Garage Flower

    Member Since:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,740
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It had a place marker for the vwii and the other channels , but they wouldnt have worked until you updated . There for your softmod is ok as you have already updated to the latest version.
    • Member

    julialy Ehh, I'm so lazy.

    Member Since:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, Vii is blocked if WiiU system software finds new update for System software
    • Member

    driverdis Searching for Pandora

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    526
    Country:
    United States
    this is true and would explain how people got into vWii on 1.0.2 also.
    People who setup their Wii U and never connected it to the Internet can start vWii on 1.0.2 as the Wii U had no clue there was a firmware update at all.

Share This Page