Unbrick my O3DS with ntrboothax

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Niks, Oct 12, 2017.

  1. Niks
    OP

    Niks Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Oct 12, 2017
    France
    Hi,

    My O3DS has this kind of brick:


    So I will try to unbrick it with ntrboothax.

    But I've got some questions:
    Considering there's no home menu at all, until which step should I follow the 3ds guide?

    I've got no Nand backup so I think I must do a CTRtransfer.

    But can someone tell me when in 3ds guide I'm supposed to follow the CTRtransfer steps?

    For know I'm waiting to return to my parents house to use my old boss to flash my r4i gold RTS.
    So I'll certainly keep you aware of my progress, and will ask some advices when I'll be stuck.

    Thanks
     
  2. Kubas_inko

    Kubas_inko 3DS Hardmoder

    Member
    1,001
    256
    Feb 3, 2017
    Czech Republic
    Here is CTRTransfer guide
     
  3. Niks
    OP

    Niks Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Oct 12, 2017
    France
    Thanks I know it, but it presupposed to install some other stuff before.
    Stuff that I don't know if it can be installed without the home menu.
     
  4. satan89

    satan89 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    388
    132
    Jan 30, 2014
    India
    Limbo
    Follow the guide from the start. The ntrbooxhax doesn't require any home menu to be installed. When you get to the part that you get a black screen on pressing the power button, the guide will ask you to follow CTR transfer and you do that. Hopefully it'll work once you do that.
    Safeb9sinstaller and godmode9 (I think any boot.firm) boots before the home menu launches, so you should be good if it boots into godmode9 successfully.
     
  5. Majickhat55

    Majickhat55 The Red Woman

    Member
    4,486
    2,236
    Mar 28, 2016
    United States
    Asshai
    In it's current state the only thing you can do is use NTRBooT to install CFW then perform a CTRNAND transfer after. You can't install anything until you can get to the homemenu. All you can do is troubleshoot with Godmode9.

    Have you tried to boot into recovery mode? If you can try to update the console.
     
  6. Niks
    OP

    Niks Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Oct 12, 2017
    France
    Yes I've made an update but I've still the black screen.
     
  7. Majickhat55

    Majickhat55 The Red Woman

    Member
    4,486
    2,236
    Mar 28, 2016
    United States
    Asshai
    How did you brick it?
     
  8. Niks
    OP

    Niks Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Oct 12, 2017
    France
    Don't know. I bought it on eBay .
    It was supposed to have a problem with speaker ribbon, I've changed it but it was bricked too...
     
  9. Majickhat55

    Majickhat55 The Red Woman

    Member
    4,486
    2,236
    Mar 28, 2016
    United States
    Asshai
    Have you checked the camera cables? I've seen this exact issue twice now from eBay bought consoles. I tried to find the thread but I couldn't..... Sigh
     
  10. Niks
    OP

    Niks Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Oct 12, 2017
    France
    I've read that.
    Sadly I've cut it during speaker ribbon replacement.
    But it still boot, and screens can display update, or calibration menu, so I don't think it is the problem.
     
  11. Majickhat55

    Majickhat55 The Red Woman

    Member
    4,486
    2,236
    Mar 28, 2016
    United States
    Asshai
    Well with the other camera ribbon cables the screen WOULD display during recovery, in sleep and when init from the bootrom. That's the only reason I suggested it, because it 100% does what yours is doing when it's broken.

    Either way, without a working ribbon cable for the camera your console is never going to boot to the homemenu. Nothing you do software wise is going to fix it. You absolutely need to replace that cable.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    EDIT: Found the thread https://gbatemp.net/threads/partial-brick-need-help-no-video-has-audio.484465/
     
    Last edited by Majickhat55, Oct 12, 2017
  12. Niks
    OP

    Niks Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Oct 12, 2017
    France
    I've got another 3ds that doesn't boot due to a missing inductor (waiting for replacement spare part)
    I will try to put the camera from this one.
    Edit:
    In this thread the guy said he has removed camera and it boot.
    That's what I did too.
     
    Last edited by Niks, Oct 12, 2017
  13. Niks
    OP

    Niks Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Oct 12, 2017
    France
  14. Niks
    OP

    Niks Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Oct 12, 2017
    France
    Because I don't like to read a thread with the same exact problem and not found a solution inside :D

    Here is how I solved my problem:

    I've followed the 3ds guide, and I've made a CTR transfer with gm9.
    But I've had an error during reboot (not my picture, but the same error):
    [​IMG]


    I've tried to make another CTR transfer with gm9 but still no success.
    So I've found an old thread saying we could make a CTR transfer by using Decrypt9 https://github.com/d0k3/Decrypt9WIP

    I've not found a good guide to use decrypt9, so I've just tried these things by reading some threads:
    - I've put the decrypt9.firm in luma payload folder and created a files9 folder to the sd card root.
    - I've copied the .bin and the .sha of the CTR transfer image to the files9 folder.
    - Then I've booted to the decrypt9.firm and ask for an Auto CTRNand transfer.

    And it worked!


    Conclusion:
    - If your 3ds is bricked, and if a gm9 CTRtransfer does not work, try to use decrypt9.
    - An O3DS can work without cameras :)