[Tutorial] How To: Dump 3DS Carts to CIA, 3DS to CIA, Dump Private Headers & DS Carts

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by Temptress Cerise, Jun 29, 2016.

  1. sks316

    Member sks316 J O Y C O N B O Y Z

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    680
    Location:
    That one place
    Country:
    United States
    So, if I play my just dumped version of Mario Kart 7, I won't get banned online?
     


  2. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,100
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    That's correct.
     
  3. sks316

    Member sks316 J O Y C O N B O Y Z

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    680
    Location:
    That one place
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, just tried it and it works. Great guide!
     
  4. Xabring

    Member Xabring GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Somewhere, Earth.
    Country:
    Mexico
    I have a question. Does the CIA I dump from a my 3DS work on someone's else 3DS with this method (both have hourglass by the way)?
     
  5. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,100
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. They'll work.
     
    Xabring likes this.
  6. Xabring

    Member Xabring GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Somewhere, Earth.
    Country:
    Mexico
    :blink:Thanks for the quick answer!B-) I though it only worked on the 3DS that dumped them! glad to know!
     
  7. duboisbrian

    Member duboisbrian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    Canada
    where does hourglass save a private header in your tutorial is says it saves it along the lines "ProductID-private.bin"
    i have dumped it and it says success but no where on my sd card to i have a file like that ??

    im guessing the tutorial is outdated ? when i dump it shows my the "cart id" and "unique id"
    which is essentially all i need (for sky3ds+)

    but still your tutorial says it should output a .bin file i have have searched every inch of the sd card and there is no private.bin file or anything named that
    is hourglass updated to not output a .bin file anymore ?
    (if that's the case, may want to update your tutorial)
     
    Last edited by duboisbrian, Mar 11, 2017
  8. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,100
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    Did you check your files9 folder? Did you check the hourglass9 log file as well?

    I guess I could relook at the guide and see what needs updating//clarifying.
     
  9. duboisbrian

    Member duboisbrian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    Canada
    yes i checked files 9 folder along with EVERY inch of the sd card
    as well why would a .bin file be in a log file ??

    im simply saying that dumping via hourglass on my 3ds it gives and shows me my cart id and unique id which i believe is all you need

    im simply saying you may want to check the tutorial because NO where on my sd card was a private.... .bin file
     
  10. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,100
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    I am not asking you to check the log file for a bin file. I am asking you to check the log file to see what happened and what it says. The log file will always have that information.
     
  11. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,100
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the double post.

    Checked//Updated the guide. There seems to be no errors with it. Have added a new section for people who want to create .CIA files from already installed content//games.

    Tested it and built//installed them just fine.

    If a section isn't working, it's best to update to the latest version of Hourglass9//Decrypt9WIP and to try again. As well as check your files9 folder and to check your .log file to see what's going on.
     
  12. matlock

    Newcomer matlock Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry noob alert.
    I've just gone thru the install of HB /FBI etc. (3DS guide) and all worked well.
    I've managed to convert 2 game carts to CIA and installed ok, however my first question is how do I transfer the save data from the cart to the installed game?
    2nd question I used a brand new 32gb sd card to do the install, how do I copy/move the installed copy of super smash bros 2 plus save data I have on my original sd card?

    I've used JK's utility to transfer save data.

    Just got to work out to copy SSB from one sd to my new Sd card?
     
    Last edited by matlock, Mar 16, 2017
  13. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,100
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    If it's an already installed game, then you'd have to create a .CIA from it, as detailed in the post. As for the save data of said game, use JKSM.

    If the Nintendo 3DS/ID1/ID2 match though, you could just drag and drop it onto the new SD Card. If they don't. Then not sure you can.
     
  14. matlock

    Newcomer matlock Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    What would I have to drag and drop?
     
  15. Kokumotsu

    Newcomer Kokumotsu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Brandon, Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    i was wondering the NDS flashcart section for Decrypt9WIP
    what exactly does NTRCARDHAX do for Ak2i.
    i have an AK2i and this is making me really curious to try it out, do this enable the 3ds to boot the card again?
     
  16. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,100
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure what you are asking for.

    But if your looking to get your AK2i working again. Look into: http://gbatemp.net/threads/twl-slot-1-launcher-first-custom-dsiware-app.414501/
     
  17. Kokumotsu

    Newcomer Kokumotsu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Brandon, Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
  18. Ph33rm3

    Newcomer Ph33rm3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Is the same thing attainable with Godmode9? Do I need these other tools to dump my carts?
     
  19. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,100
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    Some of it is. Though I've never really looked at the documentation // release notes of GodMode9 to see how much. But dumping carts (3DS/NDS), headers, converting .3ds to .cia, should all be covered by GodMode9.

    3DS.Guide does have a section for that now: https://3ds.guide/godmode9-usage

    That's why I never added//updated my guide. Since, that already has a section on it already.
     
    Last edited by Temptress Cerise, May 15, 2017
  20. Micku

    Newcomer Micku Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    i'm having a problem with luma/hourglass9 controls, can't navigate the menu, if i press A, it instantly goes back, same if i press Down (as if i were pressing B) every button triggers the B action, pls help
     

Share This Page