[Tutorial] how to check your firmware version on ds/ds lite

Discussion in 'NDS - Tutorials' started by Spongebobplace, Jan 7, 2017.

  1. Spongebobplace
    OP

    Newcomer Spongebobplace Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    What will you need
    1.a DS/DS lite
    2.a DS/GBA game

    Instructions
    Step 1: put in gba or ds card into ds
    Step 2: turn on ds (hold down start while powering on if you have auto mode)
    Step 3: load up pictochat and go into any chat room
    Step 4: take gba or ds card out while in pictochat
    Step 5: done

    Versions
    v1: Pictochat freezes
    v2: two greyish blue screens
    v3: two dark green screens
    v4: two golden yellow screens
    v5: two magenta screens
    v6: two dark blue screens
    v7: DS system does not crash


    credit to: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_DS_homebrew
     
    Last edited by Spongebobplace, Jan 7, 2017
    NoNAND, DeoNaught, Seriel and 5 others like this.


  2. Alex4U

    Member Alex4U 99.9% Trash

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    853
    Location:
    D.F, with Snivy and Braixen <3
    Country:
    Mexico
    Cool! My DS Lite Zelda have v5 (most DS Lites have this fimware)
    By the way, is there any differences between any fimware versions? Like more fps,, or something like that?

    Also, you need to extract DS(i) Game when you're in PictoChat, i extracted my GBA game and doesn't worked.
    never mind, worked with GBA game.
     
    Last edited by Alex4U, Jan 7, 2017
  3. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,371
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Two questions.
    1. How did you figure this out? got some data or source information to confirm this finding?
    2. How does this not just... damage the system in question, or the game tused to test? It wasn't until the DSi that it was even able to be possible to unplug the DS cart without turning off the system.
     
  4. Alex4U

    Member Alex4U 99.9% Trash

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    853
    Location:
    D.F, with Snivy and Braixen <3
    Country:
    Mexico
    1.-https://www.acidmods.com/forum/index.php?topic=15112.0
    2.- Game & console doesn't damage, because the console doesn't have access in GBA/DS game while you're in PictoChat.
    edit: any game (except R4/ GBA Flashcard) works, i tested with Pokémon White Version (JP) and Sonic Advace 3 (usa) and worked too.
     
    Last edited by Alex4U, Jan 7, 2017
  5. Mikemk

    Member Mikemk GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,423
    Country:
    United States
    I wasn't aware the DS had different firmware versions.

    Why does it?
     
  6. Alex4U

    Member Alex4U 99.9% Trash

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    853
    Location:
    D.F, with Snivy and Braixen <3
    Country:
    Mexico
    it's like Nintendo 3DS fimwares.
    im currently researching, but i can't find any differences beetween fimwares...
    Maybe is more fastest, supports more ds games, or something like that? i don't know... i CAN'T FIND ANY INFORMATION!!!!!1
     
  7. caitsith2

    Member caitsith2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    a secret location 93 million miles from the sun
    Country:
    Canada
    IIRC, v1/v2 was able to do a passme over wifi, and v3 and later fixed that bug. What had happened, is that the earlier versions had in fact done the signature check on the transmitted binary, but went ahead and used the header of the download play offer packet rather than the header of the actual transmitted download play binary to jump to entry point.

    Also, v5 IIRC introduced screen brightness adjustments, when it sees the appropriate power management chip on the system.

    That is all I know in regards of that.


    (Passme was the means of running homebrew using a GBA based compact flash reader cartridge.
     
    Ryccardo, zfreeman and Alex4U like this.
  8. THEELEMENTKH

    Member THEELEMENTKH A stupid weeaboo

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Satan's secret party
    Country:
    Spain
    Ok, now I know I have a v5 Black DS Lite, thank you!
     
  9. Spongebobplace
    OP

    Newcomer Spongebobplace Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    personally i have a blue ds phat with v4
     
  10. Ryccardo

    Member Ryccardo WiiUaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,059
    Location:
    Imola
    Country:
    Italy
    All original DSes which came with V5 out of the factory (OP's test is unreliable if you ever installed a cfw) have the DS Lite regulator, and can indeed be upgraded to ajustable brightness with FlashMe!

    https://filetrip.net/dl?dXSdaMSv9x
     
  11. Arck

    Member Arck GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    563
    Country:
    Japan
    That nice, people can finally put their DS firmware into their sign.
     
    Seriel likes this.
  12. Flashed

    Member Flashed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Madrid
    Country:
    Spain
    Thanks I have a v5 white DS Lite!
     
  13. Jack Daniels

    Member Jack Daniels GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    South-Holland
    Country:
    Netherlands
  14. Ryccardo

    Member Ryccardo WiiUaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,059
    Location:
    Imola
    Country:
    Italy
  15. Jack Daniels

    Member Jack Daniels GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    South-Holland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    thanks now the list is complete...
     
  16. Jayro

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD and Mini Windows 10 Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,177
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, and what exactly is the significance of this? And what's required to use FlashMe, and what can FlashMe to?

    I have a v5 (two magenta screens) DS Lite, cobalt blue and black.
     
  17. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,333
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Flashme protects against bricks and lets you boot a GBA card in NDS mode without a Passcard.

    Edit: this info has been known for years and is nothing new.
     
  18. Jayro

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD and Mini Windows 10 Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,177
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    Are there any perks to booting GBA cards in DS mode?
     
  19. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,333
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You can run NDS code from the GBA card.
    And backup NDS games to the GBA card.

    Edit: and you can recover a bricked DS (if FlashMe is installed) with a GBA card.
     
  20. Ryccardo

    Member Ryccardo WiiUaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,059
    Location:
    Imola
    Country:
    Italy
    To install it, just a flashcard and a metal tool (especially on a Lite, it may be easier to remove the back cover and firmly tape the battery in place, to avoid hitting the VRs)

    Features of Flashme:
    On a V5+-from-the-factory original DS, unlock adjustable brightness
    On original DS and early Lites, brick protection (later Lites should have it in hardware) (to actually recover from the brick you'll need a flashcard running flashme.nds as early as possible, for example on an original R4 you convert it to _ds_menu.dat)
    Free Passme if you have a slot-2 flashcard
    Skipping the boot animation, depending on the version you choose (power button to rom selection in less than 3 seconds on my original R4 with YSmenu)
    Unsigned applications via download play (run homebrew with WifiMe if you reeeeally are bored + your friend with a DSOne isn't forced to turn off cheats when he wants to stream a game to your console) ;)
     

Share This Page