[Tutorial] Edit the HomeMenu

Discussion in '3DS - ROM Hacking, Translations and Utilities' started by Asia81, Apr 28, 2016.

Apr 28, 2016

[Tutorial] Edit the HomeMenu by Asia81 at 9:29 PM (73,699 Views / 54 Likes) 1,137 replies

  1. chronoss

    Member chronoss GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,493
    Country:
    Congo, Republic of the
    Someone can help me to download the HomeMenu for 10.4 fw ?

    3DNUS freeze when i want to download it :(

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Avenir is good but this font has no icon :(
     


  2. yacepi15

    Member yacepi15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    838
    Country:
    Spain
    My question is: Can i recover that emuNAND as-is? I already did a manual transfer from the bricked emuNAND to a NAND backup but redownloading anything is a shame.
     
  3. SomeGamer

    Member SomeGamer GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    5,650
    Country:
    Bermuda
    Do you have an emuNAND backup?
     
  4. yacepi15

    Member yacepi15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    838
    Country:
    Spain
    Nope. Yes, i was very stupid. But i already did the manual transfer,so,i only must recover my tickets. (I cant without redownloading the CIA or cancelling the download on CIAngel?)
     
    chronoss likes this.
  5. chronoss

    Member chronoss GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,493
    Country:
    Congo, Republic of the
    If you haven't a backup for your emunand, you can't do anything:(
     
  6. yacepi15

    Member yacepi15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    838
    Country:
    Spain
    Okay,thanks. But i already have all my things after the tedious transfer :D
     
  7. yacepi15

    Member yacepi15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    838
    Country:
    Spain
    For anyone who wants to recover their tickets from a bricked emuNAND / console after a manual transfer:

    1. Extract the ticket.db from the bricked unit.
    2. Download this tool and use it with your ticket.db : https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-gentickets.423652/
    3. It will generate a "Enctitlekeys.bin",put it in the FunKeyCia directory
    4. Use this command in the funkeycia directory:
    Code:
    funkeycia.py -keyfile -ticketsonly -all
    5. You will have all your tickets on a folder. Install them with FBIv2.
    6. Profit!
     
    Last edited by yacepi15, May 14, 2016
    chronoss likes this.
  8. Robotxm

    Newcomer Robotxm Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    China
    Is it possible to edit any System Title in this way?
    I'm considering translating my 3DS System.:lol:
     
  9. tomx86

    Member tomx86 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Country:
    Poland
    Yes, because I'm doing a translation to, but some System Titles .msbt files, are packed in "message_EU_LZ.bin", and some in "EU_English.LZ", and I'm having problems with them, and also I want to translate the System Banners, and the "COMMON1.png" in L4 format can't be imported by Ohana and EFE, so good luck!:yay:
     
  10. Robotxm

    Newcomer Robotxm Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    China
    Sorry to reply by mistake.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —


    Thx a lot.
    There's an official Simplified Chinese version of 3DS called iQue 3DS(iQue is a agent of Nintendo in China mainland). So I'd like to try replacing the Japanese resource with the Chinese version.:D
    BTW, is there any way to replace the input method?
     
    Last edited by Robotxm, May 14, 2016
  11. tomx86

    Member tomx86 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Country:
    Poland
    If you mean by installing is by FBI, no there isn't.
     
  12. Robotxm

    Newcomer Robotxm Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    China
    I means that can we replace some files in the nand to change the input method?
     
  13. MasterLel

    Member MasterLel You have an error in your SQL syntax;

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,240
    Country:
    France
    You mean replacing the japanese typing method with Pinyin (and also the chinese dictionary) ? If so, I don't know if it's possible. Try to swap the keyboard titles and the firm/native_firm
     
  14. tomx86

    Member tomx86 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Country:
    Poland
    I don't know, but that is a good question, Polish also have a different typing method (ąćęłńóśżź).
     
  15. MasterLel

    Member MasterLel You have an error in your SQL syntax;

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,240
    Country:
    France
    Not the same. You Polish use a normal latin alphabet with polish diacritics, and Chineses uses pinyin, which is not an alphabet but a typing method to transcript latin into hanzi, for exemple you type zhong and you get 中 , 种, 重, 钟, 众 etc... pinyin is pretty cool
     
  16. tomx86

    Member tomx86 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Country:
    Poland
    OH, that is really cool indeed.
     
  17. yacepi15

    Member yacepi15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    838
    Country:
    Spain
    FBI says: already installed. How to proceed?
     
  18. Temarile

    Member Temarile (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧ A9LH ✧゚・: *ヽ(◕ヮ◕ヽ)

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,125
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Welp. I bricked my n3ds twice today. I modificed the menu_msbt_LZ.bin and installed it. It worked but the text was all messed up because I had inserted too much text in one line and the upper title wasn't showing. I decided to try and fix it, followed the tutorial again, tried installing the new HomeMenu_edited.cia but then it wouldn't boot anymore. Restored my backup using A9LH, tried to install it again, bricked again, backup restored again. I still have the original home menu in the backup so that's no issue now. I think I went wrong with installing two HomeMenu_edited.cia in a row. I think I should've restored the original home menu and then install the edited. I'm so happy I set up A9LH :D I think I'll mess around with it again tomorrow :)
     
  19. tomx86

    Member tomx86 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Country:
    Poland
    First make a backup, and then go to "Delete Title" (Press R twice), find the Title ID: you want to install and delete it, then go back to install CIA, and it should install now.
     
    Last edited by tomx86, May 15, 2016
  20. tomx86

    Member tomx86 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Country:
    Poland
    Sadly that's the only way for now, and if you try to Delete HomeMenu_edited.cia first, and then try installing a clean HomeMenu.cia it will give you an error at the end, and the console will be bricked, after rebooting.
     

Share This Page