[Tutorial] Converting .3DS to .CIA for Dummies!

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by Queno138, Nov 6, 2014.

Nov 6, 2014
  1. Queno138
    OP

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    edit: I can't emphasize this enough.
    If there are errors, check the guide under T5 first, then learn how to report from there ><


    Converting .3DS/3DZ to .CIA Pictorial

    Hopefully noob friendly!​

    UPDATED! V5.1.4b @ UTC+8 2.45am 24-Nov-14:


    Updated calling routine:​
    Most questions all in front, so that users can doze off after​
    Included the most recent exinjector & rsfgen.py​
    Testing 32-bit compatibility​

    Note: Haven't updated tutorial, but the prompts should be fool proof.​


    Table of contents.
    T1 - Disclaimer​
    T2 - Basics​
    T3 - Requirements​
    _____What you need to know, what programs to have.
    T4 - The Main Tutorial​
    _____Steps 0, 1 & 2.
    T5 - Reference code (and how to report errors)​
    _____Reference code 1 - 5, Faux errors, how to report errors
    T6 - [The not so] Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)​
    _____Is it region free, does .3DZ work, help w/ errors, what not to do
    T7 - User Guides and Credits!!!​
    _____Valiant effort by our community.

    Control+Find the header number (eg: T5 ) to jump to the section!​



    T1 - Disclaimer

    gbaTEMP and I shall not be responsible for your own misdoing and misdeeds.
    Use at your own risk! ;P

    T2 - Basics

    What are .cia files?​
    Basically a somewhat stripped down decrypted version of .3DS files.​
    You can't just rename .3DS > .CIA, you have to carry out a set of slightly complicated steps,​
    which I have tried to get it dummified.​
    Make sure you follow the steps concisely.​

    Now, purpose of this tutorial is to guide users to convert 3DS games (not warez, not dev apps) to .CIA files for installation.​

    Does not matter whether .3DS or .3DZ, and scene roms won't need to add 'header' to go online (GW users should know what's I'm talking about)​


    T3 - Requirements

    First off, these are the requirements:​
    1. Using a 3DS that is FW 4.1-4.5 (also known as FW 4.X)
      I recommend that these users get a Gateway 3DS.
      .
    2. A DS flashcart that works on your 3DS, for loading DS profile exploit
      Supercard DStwo or GW blue card (r4i) works.
      Gateway loader works fine. (cannot link you the link)
      .
    3. Install 2.7 Python. You can find it will a quick Google search.
      Or just download the one for your computer from here:
      https://www.python.org/download/releases/2.7/
      .
      ..
    4. This package.
      Paste it on your desktop, in a folder named "CIA"
      http://filetrip.net/3ds-downloads/utilities/download-quenopack-3ds-to-cia-5-1-4b-f33005.html

      Please the files in the folders they were in.
      The program reads the stuff based on the location!
      I will not provide the 7.x key. To find it, simply search the guy who leaked it. ><
      .
    5. A game backup (rom)
      .
    6. Patience, and not fearful of looking at folders with multiple items!
    Okay, let's get started.



    T4 - The Main Tutorial

    Video Version:It's based on older revisions, but still counts.
    Thanks to TeamNinja for uploading, and DrWhoJan who brought it to our attention!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Step 0: Tools usage and folder placement
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Step 1: Decrypting the Rom
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Step 2: Decrypting + Compiling the .cia!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    "But Queno138, I want to repack another rom, must I unpack again?"
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Installation Success!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Custom rsf guide:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    T5 - Reference Codes (and how to report errors)


    Reference codes has appeared in the batch program, for ease of referencing.

    Genuine Errors
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Faux errors:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Reference code not shown/code persists:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    T6 - [The not so] Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)


    What must I not do?
    Don't go into sysnand and check data management. (content will be deleted)
    Don't forget to back up data when necessary (to prevent losing saves)
    Don't forget to read T5 of my guide regarding errors. (to not plague this thread)
    Don't format 3DS for no reason (I mean, imagine one day you need to upgrade, and can't connect to NNID or something)
    Don't update firmware in CFW (cause it stops working)



    How to install .cia files
    What, you're here without knowing!?
    Basically, get Devmenu or bigbluemenu (can't tell you where)​



    Will I be able to delete them afterwards?
    Devmenu and BBM has options for deleting them.​
    Just don't delete your updates or important warez by mistake.​
    Check the ID against http://3ds.essh.co/



    Does this require FW 4.5 like other exploits
    .....​
    You think?​
    </sarcasm> YES



    Does this work with trimmed roms?
    YES! (link)​



    Does this work with FW 7.X games?
    GW = YES!
    CFW = NO.
    And before you ask, if there were any workarounds​
    (well, besides obviously getting a GW that is so worth it now),​
    I'll be happy to share.​



    Does your tutorial contain "region free and firmware spoofing"?
    YES!



    Does the package support download play?
    YES!




    Does this work with .3DZ?
    YES!
    After all, it's just a file extension. doesn't affect conversion.​



    Does your tutorial contain "user manuals"
    YES!



    I have an existing save on Gateway. Why is it not on the .cia game?
    Imagine the .cia game being like an eshop game.​
    Every game comes with a new save.​



    Are saves brought forward?
    NO.
    Because that's not how the mechanics of conversion works.​
    Gateway makes the redcard 'find and see' the saves, not the homepage apps.​



    What about nand saving/card2?
    NO.
    But ONLY for card2, you can use savefiler or save data transfer tool.​
    If you were already playing your roms as a card2, go ahead and transfer :)



    Why can't I modify to card2 then transfer?
    By making it card2, you broke the header,​
    which the 3DS will check if the save is corrupt before transfer.​
    Based on the chain of events mentioned, it is considered corrupted.​



    Can user manuals be repacked together?
    YES!
    Take note that if using different region game,​
    enable region free.​



    Does this work with VC roms?
    NO (link) or YES? (link)​
    Try it yourself!​



    Does this conversion method work with Dev apps (devmenu and SDK stuff)
    NO!
    However, link to show you how to get them converted: (link)​



    Do I need .rsf files?
    Up to you. The batch program will generate one for you,​
    but if you follow the prompt, you can insert your own.​
    Not all work at the moment.​



    Can I load games above 4.5 on CFW?
    From what I know, some games require firmware spoofing​
    and the FW6/7 games is a big NO



    Where can I find slot0x25KeyX.bin/7.X keys?
    Can't tell you where. But I know who has it (the guy you leaked it, duh)​
    get it, type it in hex using HXD, save as slot0x25KeyX.bin​
    Paste it into your SD card.​



    Why do I see no errors but there is no .cia?
    Most likely you are using express. IF you are noob, just don't.​
    Chances are it's decryption or your key 7 is wrong.​
    Go to section T5, it'll teach you something.​



    It says not enough memory, why? I have x GB ram.
    Well, your computer probably already runs a lot of processes,​
    and packing the rom can take up to 2-3x it's original size.​

    Don't tell me you got 16GB ram.​
    Just go o into safe mode, and launch the .bat there.​
    As long as the folders are still there,​
    you can choose to continue with repacking, without re-depacking.​

    If it still doesn't work,​
    rename _makerom.exe to makerom.exe and try again.​

    I've already added a new makerom to circumnavigate that,​
    but I still recommend keeping your processes low.​



    Help, can't drag and drop on python
    try either option:​
    Warning: Spoilers inside!



    What is the express.bat in your package
    It's a program NOT for noobs.​
    It doesn't ask questions; simply repacks if there are folders,​
    decrypt and unpack if there are xorpads​
    Doesn't prompt, just runs.​
    It has some preset settings.​
    It won't decrypt the whole romfs.bin. Creates its own rsf.​
    Due to it's nature, error prompts might be skipped.​
    So I repeat,​
    It's a program NOT for noobs.​



    Help, my errors aren't resolved!
    Do us a favor and save each other some time.​
    Before showing errors,​
    ensure that:​
    1. you downloaded the lastest package.​
    2. followed the tutorial to the latter​
    3. did not use express​

    If error still occurs:​
    1. What Game you are using​
    2. Inform me if you are using CFW or GW​
    3. Tell me what error you get in game (or if you don't reach there)​
    4. screenshot \exefs, \decrypted, \xorpads, \step 2​
    5. show me the error page on the normal bat​

    this way, easier for me to identify the error.​

    Wondering if you have a faux error?​
    Ctrl Find "T5"​



    T7 - User Guides and Credits!!!


    Palantine and the CFW and CIA guide that (almost) started it all!:​

    gamesquest1; the first ever decrypting guide I could understand:​

    ryanrocks462, which I also cross refer to:​

    Versehell's also very comprehensive guide:​

    Liomajor's first most automatic guide:​

    piratesephiroth's Exinjector!​

    Kyogre123's savedatafiler tutorial​

    relys and the NCCH/SD programs!​

    ground, whom I never spoke to, but I thank your efforts in Exheader research!​

    Vappy's, rsfgen.py!​



    Also to neimod, 3DSguy, 3Dbrew, and many others that slipped my mind!​


    And last but not least,​
    everyone on gbatemp :)



    I'm not reinventing the wheel, I'm merely gathering all information into one.
     


  2. ridiucle

    Newcomer ridiucle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Australia
    thanks hopefully ill be able to get it working
     
    Queno138 likes this.
  3. descac

    Newcomer descac Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    I was waiting for something idiot-proof like this, thank you. I assume the process is the same for VC titles? Does it work with trimmed roms?
     
    Queno138 likes this.
  4. Queno138
    OP

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    I never tried with VC and trimmed roms.
    ><
     
  5. jonthedit

    Member jonthedit GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,691
    Country:
    Bermuda
    Nice job. This should help reduce the spam :)
     
    Queno138 likes this.
  6. Queno138
    OP

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    that's if they bother to search HAHAHAHA
     
    Fpsrussia117 likes this.
  7. ernilos

    Member ernilos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    Spain
    There's somewhere how to repack the RomFS for dummies? ;)
     
  8. LinkmstrYT

    Member LinkmstrYT ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,411
    Location:
    You wanted to see where I live? You stalker...
    Country:
    United States
    Will this work for games, such as, Smash Bros.? I can't really keep up with all the drama with all these college essays I'm working on.
     
  9. Queno138
    OP

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    As in rom editing then repacking?
    I don't know actually, since I've never seen or used those tools until last night :x

    The 'latest' game that I tried and work is Pokemon X.
    Haven't gone further than that ><
     
  10. LinkmstrYT

    Member LinkmstrYT ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,411
    Location:
    You wanted to see where I live? You stalker...
    Country:
    United States
    Ah well, I'll wait and hear about the results for that then. :P
     
  11. VerseHell

    Member VerseHell GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,061
    Country:
    France
    I also made a guide for 3ds to cia conversion if it helps, it automatically add the game manual if there's one and it can delete the decrypted files in the end if you want:

    Download this : http://jheberg.net/captcha/3ds-cia-conversion-tools-7x-encryption-support-v-6/

    1.If you still don't have it install 2.7 Python (not 3.4 or any other version)

    2. Put your rom in the folder, run rom_tool info.bat, enter your rom name without the .3ds extension and edit the rsf file with the right informations.

    3. Drag on drop your rom on the ctrKeyGen.py file, it will gnerate a ncchinfo.bin. Put it on your sd card root.

    4. In the For the 3DS SD card. Open slot0x25KeyX.bin in a HEX editor and replace the 0 with the proper key. (Use Google) Put it and the launcher.dat in you sd card.

    5. Put the sd card back on your console, go to System Settings -> Other Settings -> Profile -> Nintendo DS Profile and wait for the xorpads to be generated. Put the "Main" xorpads in the main folder.


    Then :

    If you want to remove the region lock :

    - Run unpack.bat ((with or without 7.X xorpad) if you have a exfs_7x.xorpad file or not) and enter your rom name without the .3ds extension

    - Follow Gadorach's instructions here : https://gbatemp.net/threads/4-x-only-cia-cfw-complete-guide.373532/page-50#post-5149465 (works with Hex Worshop, just enter 2018 in the search bar)

    - Run makerom.bat, enter the filename you want (without extension).

    Else

    - Just run unpack-makerom.bat ((with or without 7.X xorpad) if you have exfs_7x.xorpad file or not) , enter your rom name without the .3ds extension.


    EDIT : Added 7.X encryption game support. (only on gateway for now)
    EDIT2 : Added the MEX.py file, for the 7.X xorpads.
    EDIT3 : Fixed the exheader xorpad not found problem in the unpack-makerom bat files.
    EDIT4 : Added piratesephiroth ExInjector tool :
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-exinjector-inject-original-exheaders-into-repacked-roms.373839/
     
    Margen67, ov3rkill and Queno138 like this.
  12. Abcdfv

    Member Abcdfv What comes around goes around.

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,384
    Country:
    United States
    It should work for everything, you'll just need to decrypt smash with the 7.x keys. There's a guide somewhere how to use the decrypting program with 7.x keys
     
  13. Queno138
    OP

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    The launcher.dat I provided (which came from Relys) will support 7.x key if you have it in your sd card as slot0x25KeyX.bin

    It was originally part of my tutorial, before I decided to red line it.
     
  14. osm70

    Member osm70 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    739
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Will the games work online?
     
  15. Pitalacta

    Newcomer Pitalacta Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Brazil
    For some reason I can't drag files onto .py scripts, anyone knows how to fix this?
     
  16. LinkmstrYT

    Member LinkmstrYT ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,411
    Location:
    You wanted to see where I live? You stalker...
    Country:
    United States
    I wasn't able to get your tools. D:
     
  17. VerseHell

    Member VerseHell GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,061
    Country:
    France

    I heard that you can install the 7.X encrypted games but they don't work yet. Is it true?
     
  18. intermet

    Member intermet GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    France
    Why don't make an official compatibility list of the games with .rsf file and makerom command line joined ?
     
  19. jonthedit

    Member jonthedit GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,691
    Country:
    Bermuda
    I can confirm a trimmed rom works.
    I used a 288mb version of Super Mario 3DLand, everything went okay! Installed perfectly!
    :)

    This opens up even more space!
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  20. Queno138
    OP

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    Great!!

    It's back up. :)

    What's zat?

    I just compiled and rewrote the .bats so that it links the file location,
    without shifting and renaming again and again.

    no idea what you're saying ><
     
    Margen67 likes this.

Share This Page