[Tutorial] a9lh Boot Animations

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by cots, Jun 14, 2016.

Jun 14, 2016

[Tutorial] a9lh Boot Animations by cots at 3:33 AM (7,185 Views / 6 Likes) 65 replies

  1. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
    Whether I merge them or not will be later down the line, keeping AR wasn't asked for by many people anyway.
     


  2. CottonCandyPrince

    Newcomer CottonCandyPrince Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible to have a sound clip play along with the animation?
     
  3. Redferne

    Member Redferne GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    456
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No.
     
  4. Damon_girl

    Member Damon_girl GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    United States
    I want boot animations but I have the no screeninit version. How do I change it to screeninit?
     
  5. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
    If you're using the current a9lh versions I believe you just have to rename it arm9loaderhax_si.bin or something along those lines
     
  6. Damon_girl

    Member Damon_girl GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    United States
    Oh okay. I am using the latest version since I just got A9LH a few weeks ago.
     
  7. Redferne

    Member Redferne GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    456
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probably because people already resized the video/gif when they cut it.
     
  8. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    8,234
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    How do i get a ba9comp.exe? o_o
     
  9. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
    You have to compile it yourself or find someone who has. Either way, most of the time it won't be useful
     
  10. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    8,234
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know how to do that. Why isn't it just a program already?:mellow:
    And why won't it be useful, isn't the purpose of it is to be useful?
     
  11. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
    The payload wont work correctly unless the compressor achieves a 50% compression ratio which tends to be really rare. And you could always ask @Wolfvak for a copy of the executable, I'd give it to you myself but I dont have my dev environment completely set up to compile it for you.
     
  12. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    8,234
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Is okay, someone already sent me one. :D
    I just wish i didn't have to bother anyone for it. I just wonder why it wasn't already made.

    So the compresson thing is random huh, is that why you said is rare to achieven a 50% rate?
     
  13. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
    Its not random more than it depends on the content of what's being compressed. Something like my Doom animation may hit 50% or higher ratio while others that are a lot more busy will likely average out at 10-30%
     
  14. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    8,234
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    So it basically dependant on the file provided. Is there a way to improve or maybe a guide for suggestion on optimizations? So far the program has only the clue for 400X240 resolution, and between 1-30 FPS as possible clues. So if there anything else i should know, that be nice. :D
     
  15. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
    Its not worth sacrificing your quality just to compress, at that point its just a lose-lose situation. Just go with the rule of thumb that you should be matching the FPS of the source file with what you're telling the script to use as the FPS. Don't be afraid to try compressing it and if it doesn't work then its not worth compressing at all.
     
  16. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    8,234
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, thanks for the advice. I guess, is not always worth it to have 89MB animations :P
     
  17. Dtwenty

    Newcomer Dtwenty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Andalucia
    Country:
    Spain
    Hello. I have a Problem with gif imagen when i try to made the boot. the .bat program say

    "Ffmpeg" is not recognized as an internal or external command, program or batch file. The system can not find the specified archive.
    Do you want this to be compressed with ban9comp? [Y,N]?.

    how can i fix this?
     
  18. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
    https://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds/ Install that and restart
     
  19. Dtwenty

    Newcomer Dtwenty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Andalucia
    Country:
    Spain
    Hello, gif error:

    "Ffmpeg" is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    program or batch file.
    The system can not find the specified archive.
    Do you want this to be compressed with ban9comp? [Y,N]?

    How can i fix it?
     
  20. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
     

Share This Page