[Tutorial] a9lh Boot Animations

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by cots, Jun 14, 2016.

Jun 14, 2016

[Tutorial] a9lh Boot Animations by cots at 3:33 AM (7,010 Views / 6 Likes) 63 replies

  1. Redferne

    Member Redferne GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    447
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I tried again without the aspect ratio fix and it works fine beside of course the aspect ratio being broken.
    I guess the "fix" doesn't work as I think.
    I replaced set res=400:240 with set res=-1:240

    Edit: So i finally managed to get the result I wanted.
    I replace line 86 with those two:
    Code:
        IF %s%==-t ffmpeg -y -i %input% -vf fps=%fps%,scale="'if(gt(a,5/3),400,-2)':'if(gt(a,5/3),-2,240)'",pad=400:240:'if(gt(a,5/3),0,trunc((400-240*a)/2))':'if(gt(a,5/3),trunc((240-400/a)/2),0)':black,transpose=1 -pix_fmt bgr24 output.rgb
        IF %s%==-b ffmpeg -y -i %input% -vf fps=%fps%,scale="'if(gt(a,4/3),320,-2)':'if(gt(a,4/3),-2,240)'",pad=320:240:'if(gt(a,4/3),0,trunc((320-240*a)/2))':'if(gt(a,4/3),trunc((240-320/a)/2),0)':black,transpose=1 -pix_fmt bgr24 output.rgb
    That way the input will be resized while keeping its aspect ratio and black bars will be added on left/right or up/down depending on what's missing to fit 400x240 if the animation is for the top screen or 320x240 if the animation is for bottom screen.
    I had to remove the flag parameter because I couldn't figured how to put it back :)

    I added my modified makeanim.bat
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Redferne, Jun 17, 2016


  2. Redferne

    Member Redferne GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    447
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I modified the batch again for people who don't want to keep the aspect ratio. You now have the choice.
    I fixed the static image part. It will launch the proper part of the batch if you answered no to "Is this an animation?"
     

    Attached Files:

    cots likes this.
  3. Xanthe

    Member Xanthe Sith

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Messages:
    746
    Country:
    United States
    I can make you one, if you'd like.
    [​IMG]

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    For anyone interested in having an OLD 3DS boot animation picture, here you go:
    [​IMG]
     
    cots likes this.
  4. Skyshadow101

    Member Skyshadow101 The Sky Is The Limit!

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    852
    Location:
    The Underground
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I have a question, If I wanna store animations on my sdcard, how would I switch a9lh to a bigger sd? Do I just move all the files to the bigger one? Or do I have to do something specific with it?
     
  5. hudhair

    Member hudhair GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to do this: "ffmpeg -framerate 1/5 -i hyrule-grass.gif -c:v libx264 -r 30 -pix_fmt yuv420p output.mp4"
    it gave me the error "hyrule-grass.gif: No such file or directory" Any ideas?
     
  6. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
    make sure you're executing the command in the same directory as the file itself
     
  7. hudhair

    Member hudhair GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Country:
    United States
    I have it in the anim9 folder. I just open up cmd and execute the command and it gives me that error.
     
  8. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
    rename it grass.gif and try it with that name
     
  9. hudhair

    Member hudhair GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    633
    Country:
    United States
    still gives me the same error.
     
  10. cots
    OP

    Member cots GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    United States
    After you open up the CMD prompt you have to change the directory to "c:\anim9" by doing this.

    Code:
    cd\anim9
    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    To move to a bigger sd card all you have to do is copy all of the files from your smaller one to the larger one.
     
  11. Pecrow

    Member Pecrow GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,137
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a place to share these boot animations that anyone is aware of?
     
  12. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
    Pecrow and cots like this.
  13. Pecrow

    Member Pecrow GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,137
    Country:
    United States
  14. Redferne

    Member Redferne GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    447
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    By the way @Docmudkipz , do you intent to add the modifications I made to the batch?
     
  15. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
    I've been thinking about it and just read over what you changed. As of current the entire script was rewritten so I can make room for it if I do

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Why was the lanczos flag removed?
     
  16. Redferne

    Member Redferne GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    447
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I couldn't find a way to re-add it at the time :)

    And I also couldn't find out what it does :shy:
     
  17. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
    It's a scaling filter, though It doesn't seem to work with if it keeps the aspect ratio in that way
     
  18. Redferne

    Member Redferne GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    447
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah I see. Indeed it might not be necessary with the keep ratio line.
     
  19. Docmudkipz

    Member Docmudkipz Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Staring at my computer case's window
    Country:
    United States
    I've got version of the script, one for keeping AR now using what you edited to the batch script and one that worked like the original unedited scripts. Honestly, there may be some quality loss without the use of lanczos as that itself gave a big boost in quality when zes suggested it
     
  20. Redferne

    Member Redferne GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    447
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could merge both scripts like I did so you don't have to maintain both.
    For the quality loss, I don't know. I haven't see much of a difference on the files I used but they were gif so... :)
     

Share This Page