[tut] upgrading your 360 hard drive for cheap

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Tutorials' started by nukeboy95, Jun 27, 2013.

Jun 27, 2013
  1. nukeboy95
    OP

    Member nukeboy95 Leave luck to heaven.

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,273
    Location:
    not sure
    Country:
    United States
    Do you want a 320GB HDD?
    Don't have that much cash?
    Well I'll show you how to upgrade your HDD for a fraction of the price.

    What you will need:

    • Have read the Q&A at the bottom
    • 360 HDD shell (phat 360 only - you can just stick the HDD into slims)
    • A compatible HDD (see list below)
    • T6 and T10 torx screw driver
    • The correct hddss.bin, (120GB HDD get a 120GB hddss.bin or for 320GB+ HDD get the 320GB hddss.bin. I can not post the files of the hddss.bin due to the rules.)
    • A USB flash drive (anything over 1GB will do)
    • A computer with SATA ports
    • MS DOS boot image (I can't post it do to the rules)
    • Hddhackr
    • Hp flasher
    List of working HDD


    Step One: The Files

    Open up HP Format Tool and select your flash drive.
    Under "file system" select "FAT32".
    Click on "create a DOS start up disk".
    Select your DOS boot image and press start.
    Put hddhackr and your hddss.bin file on your newly formatted flash drive..
    Step Two: Opening Your Case (Phat Only)

    There are four T6 torx screws near each corner (one is hidden under the MS seal).
    After removing them, pull the case apart into two pieces.
    There are now four T10 torx screws on the metal enclosure to remove.
    Once they are removed, slide the metal off.
    Unplug the SATA plug and slide the HDD out.

    Step Three: Plugs


    Open your computer and unplug every HDD that is in your computer.
    Plug in your USB drive and the HDD you are going to flash.

    Step Four: The Flashing


    Boot your computer and load the flash drive with DOS on it.
    In ms-dos type "hddhackr".
    A bunch of numbers and drives will be listed, type the number of your hdd (mine was 5).
    You will be asked if you want to dump, flash, or restore.
    We want flash so type "F".
    Next type the name of your hddss.bin.
    If it asks you to name a backup file just put "UNDO".
    Now you will be asked "Do you want to flash to create xbox360 compatible firmware?"
    Type "Y".
    If it says "And do you also want to create partition 0/2/3", type "Y" again.
    Your drive will be flashed.

    Step Five: About Done

    After flashing it remove your newly flashed HDD.
    Reassemble your HDD and put it in your 360.
    On your 360 go to your settings and then your storage to check if it worked.
    If it is corrupted, just format it with your 360.

    Q&A


    How do I transfer my saves?
    Put them on a USB flash drive before starting the tutorial.

    What is that undo.bun it made on my flash drive?
    The undo.bin is a bin file to restore you drive back to normal.


    I have a slim how do I put the HDD in?
    Just stick it in like so
    [​IMG]
    Will this void my 360's warranty?
    It will not void the console's warranty.

    I get an error after typing the name of my hddss.bin file.
    You did not type the name correctly (don't forget about capitalized letters i.e ".BIN").


    This is my first tutorial
    More pics are coming as soon as I can find my torx set
    Thank you Nathan Drake and Isaac for proof reading!
     
    Margen67, Attila13 and DinohScene like this.


  2. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,704
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Also something to mention. If you own a X360USB Pro, you can flash drives straight in Windows. No need for a bootable USB flash drive, compatible SATA ports, etc.
     
    Margen67 and nukeboy95 like this.
  3. sanoblue

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    WD3200BEVT - 320GB Did this hack on a old drive i had laying around.... but it makes the system so slow.... any ideas?
     
  4. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,505
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    4200 RPM drive.
     
  5. Tortitamal

    Newcomer Tortitamal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Mexico
    Will doing this ban you from xbox live?
     
  6. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,505
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No.
    Only thing you lose is your Xbox emulator.
    You'll need to dump your Xbox emulator from your drive or download one from the Web and inject it in your newly hacked HDD.
     
  7. Tortitamal

    Newcomer Tortitamal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Mexico
    Xbox emulator? Is it the needed stuff (which i guess installs to the hdd) to play xbox games on xbox 360? Sorry I never have played an original xbox game on my 360.

    Anyways I guess is time I look for a 360 hdd case then.
     
  8. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,505
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you want to play old xbox games then yes.
    Otherwise, nope you dun need it.
     
  9. masbass

    Newcomer masbass Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    Hi all, saw that the latest dash now supports 500GB drives, does that change anything in the above list of compatible HDs? Are there any new models to be added? Do we still need to look for those above or can any 2.5" SATA work?
     
  10. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,505
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    500 GB WD Scorpio Blue ones are supported.
    As well as you need to inject the 500 GB HDDSS.
     
    masbass likes this.
  11. masbass

    Newcomer masbass Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    Ah poo, and I have a Hitachi 500GB 2.5" SATA lying around. Would be nice to use that one instead of buying another. Oh well, thanks.
     
  12. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,505
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    RGH boxes don't need a security sector in the drive so you won't need HDDhackr to upgrade HDD's
    RGH boxes will take any generic 2.5 inch HDDs ;]
     
    masbass likes this.
  13. masbass

    Newcomer masbass Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    I'll go for the R-JTAG as I have a Phat Falcon with the latest dash installed, so no RGH method for me :-/
    Anyway, I found one for only 35$ (the black version Scorpio too!) that was on sale at a shop downtown so I'm all set and waiting for the CR4 to ship.
     
  14. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,505
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    R-JTAG is phased out, good luck finding one.

    Aye neat.
    However, you didn't had to get a WD drive.
    RGH/JTAG boxed take any brand, any size 2.5 inch harddisk.
     
    masbass likes this.
  15. masbass

    Newcomer masbass Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    Hang on. I have a Falcon phat with the latest dash on it (2.0.16767.0) and from what I read on the net, the only way to mod it is using R-JTAG. Is it possible to apply other hacks (JTAG, RGH1/2) on it???
     
  16. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,505
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Nope, R-JTAG or CR4.
    Other methods have long been patched.
     
    masbass likes this.
  17. masbass

    Newcomer masbass Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    ok thnx, better clear it up before soldering :-)
     
  18. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,505
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you can get an R-JTAG chip, you could take it.
    I'd personally wait for the CR4.

    Less soldering points ;]
     
    masbass likes this.
  19. masbass

    Newcomer masbass Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    That's what I'll do, pre-ordered one CR4 as it's the latest option available and will most possibly get more support in the future. ;)
     
  20. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,505
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    TX said that the CR4 would be their final chip.
    I hope they keep to their word.
     
    masbass likes this.

Share This Page