Hardware Transfer 3DS Content Between Regions

Heredity

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Well, I'm in what is probably quite a common (yet seemingly unsearchable) position:

When I heard about the region locking on the 3DS' games, I went ahead and bought a 3DS from the United States. I live in Australia, and in the past we've proven to not really get every game on DS. I figured it'd turn out to be the same situation, but without the ability to import games and play them on an Australian/European system. Also, the console was a fair bit cheaper from the States. Later, though, it's become apparent that most games released for the 3DS in the USA have come out here as well. Also, I can't use any of the location-based services (which is a let down) other than Streetpass.

Well, I want to now buy an Australian 3DSXL. However, I have an Ambassador 3DS with the 20 free Ambassador games loaded onto it (as well as some other games purchased from the eShop). I'd rather not lose that.

Is it seriously impossible for me to transfer the content from my US 3DS to an AU 3DSXL? Can't I just take out the SD card and slot it into the 3DSXL (or just transfer it to another SD card via my computer)? I mean, I don't care too much for my Miis, friend codes and the like not being transferred.

CrimzonEyed

Trophies
XP
Country
You can't just transfer it to the new SD card since they are locked to your original 3DS.
The only way to do it is to do a system transfer, and it's impossible to do a system transfer between two different region 3DS.

Reactions: 1 person

chris888222

GBAtemp's Flygon Fan
Trophies
XP
Country
Senegal
System transfer will not work between regions.

And I think all content from a US region (inc saves and stuff) will not work on a PAL console.

Heredity

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
That's quite unfortunate. You would have thought someone had figured out a way to do so by now.