The Definitive vWii Hacking Guide!

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by CJB100, May 9, 2016.

  1. xxgugu123xx

    xxgugu123xx Member

    Newcomer
    41
    4
    Jul 25, 2016
    Brazil
    Just a question I have. My Wii U is completely ok. But back when I was installing the cios 249, 250 and 251, I think, there was some bars, and all then went Green. The problem is, I installed the cios without any Internet connection. Even then, when there was a message "downloading...", the bars went green. Again, everything is working well, but maybe there is something I should do about this? Thanks.
     
  2. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,572
    8,919
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    please, post the EXACT message you get. the message is the solution to your problem.
    sorry, the loader has only short message capability, so I wrote the solution instead of both the problem and how to fix it.
    Every words in that message is important.

    That's probably due to the way it works on vWii. This is normal.

    Full story:
    The cIOS installer normally works like this :
    get the original IOS offline (read WAD file found on SD card's root) or internet (get the title from Nintendo Update Server), then it patches the original IOS in memory and install the result in the slot you chose.

    As vWii had a new layer of encryption than the Wii, and the system menu seems to be very picky with re-packed wads, IOS couldn't get downloaded from NUS.
    The first hacking method involved dumping your own IOS to WAD using the "do not fake-sign" option to get a proper IOS with good encryption, then put on SD, then use the installer with the offline mode. That was additional user's input prone to errors that we (helpers and developers) had to focus on and provide support to many people just for dumping, or even using windows explorer to understand what "root" is, how to rename file, how to display file extension on computers, help users who followed bad guides and downloaded pack of wrong and illegal WAD files, help users who used a Wii wad file instead of vWii, the ones who patched their wad's tmd instead of making good-signed dump, etc.
    that was a lot of time consuming events for Helpers while this step could be automated to prevent user's error (and for helper's joy!).


    But, seeing the vWii had all the needed IOS already available on the console, and everybody had all the same setup (console were all shipped with the same setup, nobody needed the internet to get missing IOS), Fix94 modified the cIOS installer 2.2 internet mode to directly read the original IOS data from the NAND as if it was "downloading it". it's downloading from NAND instead of NUS to memory, then patching, then installing the result. It now ensure the IOS is the correct one, good signed, no more user's error. (unless they followed a Wii guide with illegal wad files and replaced all their IOS first. not our fault trying to educated people to use proper tools instead of illegal guides)

    cIOS installer 2.2mod is getting the original IOS directly from the console, no more manual dump and wad to SD required.
    I don't know if it can be used on Wii (never tested it) but not everybody has the same setup, getting IOS from nintendo ensure it's getting the same and latest IOS version.
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Sep 2, 2017
  3. jjh76

    jjh76 Member

    Newcomer
    28
    2
    Jul 30, 2017
    United States
    USBGX says "Error: to run GameCube games with Nintendont you need to set your 'Main GameCube Path' to an USB fat32 partition."

    Running Nintendont directly, it originally said "No FAT device found, or missing usb:/games dir" before kicking me back to the loader. However, after copying the games folder to my sd and selecting the sd when starting I was able to start a couple games. I then went into Nintendont's settings and had it update itself. Still get the same message from USBGX but now when I try when I try the usb option from nintendont it says "WARNING: USB FAT device could not be opened." Attempting to exit Nintendont then causes my wiiu to freeze on stack dump screen forcing me to unplug the power cord.

    The drive I'm using is a 500gb WD My Book with and external power supply. I've tried it with ustealth both on and off with the same result. Before putting my games on it I did reformat it with bootice using the instructions in the guide. I think this drive is probably over ten years old and it's been a while since I've actually used it for anything.
     
  4. tri_fin

    tri_fin GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    154
    21
    Feb 7, 2016
    Hi,

    Thanks for the great guide. I am in the process of getting my wiiU sorted.

    I have run into a problem when trying to install USBLoaderGX as a channel in my vWii. Yet Another Wad Manager Mod crashes when I select the folder containing my WADs from the SD card.

    Having a look round my setup I have noticed that the Homebrew Channel appears to be 1.1.2. How can I update this? Should it not be on 1.4? I am wondering if this may be causing the problem with YAWMM. I hacked my vWii using Smash Stack ages ago.

    Thank you.
     
  5. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,814
    698
    Oct 10, 2009
    United States
    I hacked my vWii using smash stack as well. I just recently used YAWMM, and I encountered no issues. maybe wait for @Cyan to respond. I'm not sure what could be causing that issue. it's best to use the default options with YAWMM. I'm playing wii u at this very moment, but I'm not in the virtual wii to check my homebrew channel version. it should be using ios 58 I believe though.
     
  6. tri_fin

    tri_fin GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    154
    21
    Feb 7, 2016
    Thanks.

    And yes, I am on ios58 v25.32
     
  7. Robertuxo
    This message by Robertuxo has been removed from public view by Cyan, Sep 3, 2017, Reason: offtopic, multiple post in different threads.
    Sep 3, 2017
  8. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,572
    8,919
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    So, your message doesn't involve complicated things. it looks like it's just a problem of partition format.
    it's either not FAT32 (NTFS ? ext ? exFAT would not be listed in the loader so I don't think you used ExFAT), or either you have multiple HDD connected at the same time (but USBLoader wouldn't warn the same error)?
    I think it's NTFS instead of FAT32. (or maybe FAT16 or FAT12 but that's unlikely)

    if you go to Settings > HDD settings > clic on the first option to scroll between all found and mounted partition, it will tell you if it's FAT or NTFS or something else.
    or put your HDD to your computer and check the partition preferences to read the format.

    The drive's age is not a problem, as long as it contains a partition table (bootice should have created one) and a FAT32 partition, it will work.
    based on the error, it's really the partition format which is wrong. (and nintendont also confirms it as it can't find a FAT partition)

    Just to remove other possibilities, do you have only that HDD connected, or more than one HDD at the same time?


    That's the latest released version, that's all good.
    Maybe the "open source" version is higher, but I don't use it. I'm even using 1.1.0 and it works fine.

    The HBC version doesn't affect homebrew compatibility.
    if YAWMM crashed when accessing a folder, that folder probably contains a bad wad, or your SD card is bad (corrupted, maybe), did you try to put the WAD into a different folder ? on SD root or elsewhere?
    Which version did you use? try this one (latest manager ever released, best version).


    @Robertuxo
    initial answer
    Subject moved to that thread
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Sep 3, 2017
    tri_fin likes this.
  9. tri_fin

    tri_fin GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    154
    21
    Feb 7, 2016
    Thanks, I will check.
     
  10. jjh76

    jjh76 Member

    Newcomer
    28
    2
    Jul 30, 2017
    United States
    You are correct sir.

    When I used bootice on the drive the first time I was certain that I put it on fat32, but somehow it still ended up as ntfs. I reformatted it again and now the gc games will load and play from it just fine.

    But then I get a hard crash and freeze when I hit the home button:

    20170903_231919.jpg
     
  11. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,572
    8,919
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Home button when you are inside USBLoaderGX?
    any particular location in the loader, or everywhere?

    I didn't get a report for this error before. you are still using 1262, right?
     
  12. jjh76

    jjh76 Member

    Newcomer
    28
    2
    Jul 30, 2017
    United States
    The crash is when hitting the home button when a gamecube game is running.

    Nintendont is 4.451, usbgx was on 1260, but after updating to 1262 still end up having to unplug the power cord when exiting nintendont. Don't think the problem is with usbgx though as the crash still happens if I load nintendont directly from the HBC.
     
    Last edited by jjh76, Sep 4, 2017
  13. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,572
    8,919
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    ah ok, then it's a nintendont bug, USBLoaderGX is no longer in memory.
    like you noticed, it happen also when launching nintendont directly from hbc.
    try a previous build of nintendont, maybe that issue is only in the latest release. You can read nintendont thread to see if other users already reported that bug.
     
  14. jjh76

    jjh76 Member

    Newcomer
    28
    2
    Jul 30, 2017
    United States
    Is there a way to set it up to go directly into USBGX when switching to vWii mode from the tile on wiiu menu?
     
  15. maraxion

    maraxion Member

    Newcomer
    36
    2
    Mar 13, 2016
    Norway
    Hi guys.
    I have used my modded Wii-u for only U games for a while but wanted to play some wii titles. But im having big problems with freezes.
    Im using "USB loader gx, slot 249 d2x cios v10 beta52, base 56". I can start the program and in most cases also start the game, but it wil freeze whery fast and I need a hard reset. It might also freeze in the usb loader gx settings menu while altering settings. Also while testing cfg loader it froze while doing alterations.

    I can load gamecube games with usb loader gx, it only seem to affect my wii games, and as stated some general work.
    Im a bit puzzled by this.
     
  16. racertj5

    racertj5 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    68
    7
    Jan 26, 2017
    United States
    Sounds like a hard drive issue. Is your drive externally powered? If not you need a y cable
     
  17. maraxion

    maraxion Member

    Newcomer
    36
    2
    Mar 13, 2016
    Norway
    Cyan or anyone else please help, iv tried most things and have no clue.

    As stated above iv had freezing of my Wii games. They wil start normaly but then shortly freeze the wii. Sometimes it can even freeze in the loader.
    Iv now connected the HDD to my old wii and Wii u and similare situations occur on both machines. In therefore think its HDD releated, but im open to trying anything!
    The HDD is a WD blue 640gb. I copied all my files from a smaller HDD a few month back and then dident play any wii games, just checked that they started.... :( But its the same enclosure as the old HDD had. The gamecube games on the same HDD work great.

    To remedy the situations iv tried the following:
    Copy out all files, reformat drive and copy back
    Checking all files in wii backup manager, both MD5 and sha-1 hash(no errors)
    USB cable works on another drive, and works 100% in windows
    Changed enclosure for HDD, same thing.



    Any ideas, im at a loss... Can there be some software on the drive making problems, or other things?
     
    Last edited by maraxion, Sep 11, 2017
  18. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,572
    8,919
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    yes.
    you need to install the USBLoaderGX vWii forwarder on vWii, and the USBloaderGX WiiU forwarder on WiiU.
    the WiiU forwarder will launch vWii by autobooting the vWii forwarder which on its turn will launch the loader.


    @maraxion
    let's split your issue :
    - it freeze while playing
    - it freeze while inside the loader

    These can be two different problem, or the same one.
    do you have freeze issue when inside the loader without the HDD plugged ?
    did you try another HDD? if it's a drive issue, why you don't use another one ?
     
  19. maraxion

    maraxion Member

    Newcomer
    36
    2
    Mar 13, 2016
    Norway
    Hi Cyan, and thank you for responding.
    The loaders itself ar on the HDD so havent had a chance to test withouth, but offcource I can try copying them to a sd card.
    Your idea as you say with another hdd is good. I just think its strange since the HDD is slightly used and that gamecube games work perfectly of it. So I really dident belive it was the HDD itself, and that a WD blue 640 should be ok.
    I wil look into your advice and rip out a hdd from a laptop and get back to you with test results.
    Again, thanks!
     
  20. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,572
    8,919
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    that's just a little confusing.
    if it's freezing in the loader, it could be an HDD issue, but you say that it works fine with other homebrew.
    so if it's not a HDD issue, it shouldn't freeze inside the loader.
    it could freeze while playing, because of a cIOS issue or a sleep timer value of the HDD.
    well, it could be a sleep timer issue inside the loader too.

    if it's seagate or Western digital, the drives come with their own program which can change the sleep timer value. set it to never go to sleep.
     
    maraxion likes this.
  21. maraxion

    maraxion Member

    Newcomer
    36
    2
    Mar 13, 2016
    Norway
    Hm thats not a bad idea Cyan. I was wondering about that because even if the HDD worked wel in windows, it took some time before it initialited. It mighe just be that sleep timer giving me a headache. Problem is its a normal Wd 640, not an enclosure from WD, so unsure if there is a program for that aswel.
    Il look into this for sure and also another HDD. Thanks for the help, il tell you how it goes!

    Edit:
    Hm, seems the programs for sleep is for the externals. Also there are some windows programs but those have to be active on the computer so hinder it from sleeping. Cannot see how I can get my WD 640 to stop sleeping in the wii. So Il try another HDD to check.
     
    Last edited by maraxion, Sep 11, 2017