The Definitive vWii Hacking Guide!

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by CJB100, May 9, 2016.

May 9, 2016

The Definitive vWii Hacking Guide! by CJB100 at 3:12 AM (190,577 Views / 36 Likes) 947 replies

  1. gaga24

    Newcomer gaga24 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Sure, Wuphax method is available.

    https://github.com/FlimFlam69/WiiUTutorial/wiki/7:-vWii-Modding

    Its not hard to find older SD card or miscoSD with adapter will work also. 2GB is safety limit, no one say that 4GB od 8GB will not work. You just need to find one that is compatible.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Why dou you need tutorial for Wiflow. If you have homebrew, dowload latest and put it in your app folder.
    Find, on this site, vwii wiflow forwarder and you are good to go.
    Important thing is, use vWii forwarder and not the olede ones for Wii.
     


  2. killmister2

    Newcomer killmister2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, there is another method without any Wii game required. Also, any SD size will do, just need to be FAT32 ofc (see my post just above):
     
  3. Classicgamer

    Member Classicgamer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    484
    Country:
    United States

    Well my goal is to play my backups. I have an HDD already setup for Wii U use and it's functioning normally. Haxchi is also installed for the Wii U side of things.

    I have followed this definitive vWii hacking guide to the T so I have back-up of everything and I have nintendon't functioning normally for my gamecube games.

    Wii backups is where it gets interesting for me. I'd like to boot them off the SD card. As far as I know I can only use Wiiflow and CFG. I started trying to figure out Wiiflow but I'm failing apparently. I boot Wiiflow from the vWii HBC and it boots and shows my games, including a small window showing the title and music. However, upon selecting a game to boot after a period of time , approx. 10 seconds, the vWii home menu pops up instead.

    At this point I'm wondering how I proceed... Is there a patched ios I need? an ios I'm missing?

    Wii backups were put on sd card using wiibackupmanager.

    Update: having scoured the site you linked apparently I have to put some ios in. didn't I put lower versions of the same ios's in using the guide of this thread? can I just over write them?

    Update 2: Having ensured i have installed "cIOS Installation" of 7: vWii Modding section and took the risk and patched ios 80 i still have the same condition occurring. Perhaps my Wiiflow app is the problem? Is there a reliable source to download and alternate copy of it?

    Update 3: Having found 4.2.1 stable wiiflow the same thing occurs. was using wiibackupmanager for the follower wfsd the right thing to do?

    Update 4: Solved! the beta53 version is not sd friendly and reverting to beta 52 resolved the issue.
     
    Last edited by Classicgamer, Mar 2, 2017
  4. colking

    Newcomer colking Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks! :)
     
  5. ShangTsung

    Newcomer ShangTsung Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Russia
    Hi everyone! Does softmode of vWii allow to launch game discs of different regions for Wii? If yes, what programm I need to install for that purpose (besides Homebrew channel)?
    I have Wii U (NTSC-U region) and also I have some original game discs for Wii (PAL and NTSC-J regions). Can I launch them after softmoding vWii?
     
  6. recgame77

    Newcomer recgame77 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Cameroon
  7. tefo17

    Newcomer tefo17 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hey! Sorry for being newbie, but I'm like hours searching for a fix to my problem and didn't found it.

    I started to hack my vWii today. I installed the Homebrew Channel, then the cIOS and the IOS 236, then the USb Loader GX. Well, I downloaded a game to test and put in the Usb hard disk. When I start the loader, it says that the HDD was not detected. Well, I changed the Loader IOS to 58 and the USb was recognized, but when I start the game, it goes to a black screen then shows the vWii Menu again. What can I do?
     
  8. misterdarvus

    Member misterdarvus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I want to change my HDD from 500 GB Toshiba to 4TB Seagate Backup + Hub. I intend to format the Seagate with Bootice and then copy the files from Toshiba to Seagate.

    After I format Seagate with Bootice (Fat32, 4096 sectors, MBR partition), Bootice said it was succesfull, but my Windows (7) tried to format my Seagate. Apparently the stock formatter said my Seagate is 1,6 TB now, I tried to format it but it failed because it said it was write protected. I also tried using cmd to remove the read only but my Seagate still innacessible.

    How do I recover my Seagate? Does anyone using this particular Seagate here? If I can't use my Seagate on my Wii U then I will return it but first I need to recover it.

    (Edit) Okay apparently MBR partition only support up to 2 TB, now can I make one partition for vWii and other partition for anything else? I use USBLoader GX and use Nintendon't regulary
     
    Last edited by misterdarvus, Mar 14, 2017
  9. AdamvsMaximvs

    Newcomer AdamvsMaximvs Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    Quick question;

    I've got my WiiU set up with Mocha, Wii U HBC, etc, and an external powered USB HDD. I get that my current SD card (128GB) probably won't work for vWii. Will I need a separate hard drive for my vWii backups, or can it use the same HDD I'm using for the Wii U? I gave the first post a couple reads, but either I missed it or it wasn't clear on that part.
     
  10. killmister2

    Newcomer killmister2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Canada
    Wii U HDD can't be used for vWii.
     
    AdamvsMaximvs likes this.
  11. AdamvsMaximvs

    Newcomer AdamvsMaximvs Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    I suspected as much, but didn't see anything in the original. Looks like a few pages back that's mentioned. Thanks killmister2.

    Looks like I'll be grabbing another hdd or going the SD route with wuphax.
     
  12. marchrius

    Member marchrius GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    Italy
    I don't know what's going on but in xenoblade wii VC if I press the stick all the way FORWARD on the wii U gamepad it actually registers as all the way BACK input. Basically I can run forward but as soon as I push the stick all the way up, Shulk starts going backward. This never happened and doesn't happen with any other game in wii U mode.

    ok someone else had this problem:

    https://www.reddit.com/r/Xenoblade_...enoblade_chronicles_vc_north_america_gamepad/

    great, LOL. I can still play with the wii remote but COME ON. Nintendo should have fixed that. Ridiculous
     
    Last edited by marchrius, Mar 15, 2017
  13. Biovirulent

    Member Biovirulent GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, I did everything said for the Hard drive formatting and such to use USB Loader GX, but FAT32 doesn't work with files over 4GB.
    Why FAT32 and not NTFS?
     
  14. Maha

    Newcomer Maha Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Is it still not possible to use original gamecube controller to play wii games on vwii ?
     
  15. RickyEarl

    Newcomer RickyEarl Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    Vanuatu
    Since you can't put WiiU and vWii games on the same HDD, where can I put the Wii/GC games if I hack the vWii on my hacked WiiU? SD card the only option?
     
  16. gaga24

    Newcomer gaga24 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    In my case 500GB hdd for Wii U games, 128GB usb stick for wii games and 64GB sd card for Gamecube games.
     
  17. Kladde

    Newcomer Kladde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Sweden
    It's this still the only option to play wii games on wiiu?
     
  18. killmister2

    Newcomer killmister2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, if you don't own the original game discs
     
  19. RickyEarl

    Newcomer RickyEarl Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    Vanuatu
    So you can have a USB stick? I thought I read that you couldn't have 2 HDDs (one for hacked WiiU and one for hacked vWii), so I assumed that meant no stick either.
     
  20. killmister2

    Newcomer killmister2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Canada
    You can have 2 HDD: a Native formatted Wii U, and a FAT32 for vWii. It's just that the Wii U will ask you every single time to format the FAT32 drive to Wii U format, so you just have to hide it with Ustealth.
     

Share This Page