The Definitive vWii Hacking Guide!

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by CJB100, May 9, 2016.

May 9, 2016

The Definitive vWii Hacking Guide! by CJB100 at 3:12 AM (190,968 Views / 36 Likes) 947 replies

  1. toonliger

    Newcomer toonliger Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Just to confirm there is no way to use the same HDD in which I have my Wii U games installed and the games for the vWii? I feel that buying another HDD for vWii is kinda unnecessary..

    If there is a way can someone tell me the noob way to set it up?
     


  2. angelbless45

    Newcomer angelbless45 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Bolivia
    I dont think there is a way yet. Sorry.
     
  3. godreborn

    Member godreborn GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,636
    Country:
    United States
    this is the hdd enclosures that I use:http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sabrent-USB...543697?hash=item3ac2471d91:g:abgAAOSwrXdXJ3mp I have generic versions for 6 out of 8 of my hdds. I have 12 hdds in total. I have one that's the sabrent hdd enclosure. it's for 3.5" hdds which is what wd elements was using until a couple years ago. a few years ago, wd elements changed to 2.5" hdds. elements is my favorite hdd, so I only buy them. I've just left them in their enclosures. they're not self-powered anymore, but that shouldn't matter if u take them out of the enclosure. anyway, the sabrent enclosure has given me no issues. it contains leds on the front of the enclosure so that u'll know when it's reading the hdd (red) or idle (blue). it also contains a near-silent fan. though, I did buy a second one from walmart which was had a very noisy fan. I just use it for storage though, so it's not plugged in. my wii u hdd has a toggle switch dongle: https://www.amazon.com/USB-OFF-SWITCH-extension-cord/dp/B00RC1R69S

    hope that helps.

    edit: btw, the item u linked to has several unnecessary ports. though, I did buy an hdmi splitter for two devices (one each) in order to eliminate hdcp. I think it's my cable box and pstv that required it considering all 10 of my hdmi devices is plugged into two 5-port selectors. u shouldn't/don't need one like that unless ur splitting the connection. u could probably select a different "device" to turn the drive on and off. it should work, but u should use one of my suggestions, so that it's an on/off switch for one device.
     
    Last edited by godreborn, Jan 10, 2017
  4. HikariWS

    Newcomer HikariWS Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hello guys! I bought my Wii U a week ago and am reading how to hack it. I'm already using Loadiine with homebrew/gx2 launcher to run Wii U games from a 59GB SD.

    Now I see I need vWii to run Wii and GC games. But the process is way more complex than Loadiine and I don't feel ready yet to do the install. Could somebody answer a few questions plz?

    1) Loadiine's homebrew/gx2 keeps its changes to RAM only, so when I reboot my Wii U it's brand new again. As I can see, vWii requires changing Wii U's ROM, am I right?

    2) I see that, for Wii U, running backup games from SD is much easier than from USB. But in this tutorial there's some work to make games run from USB HD. Is it possible to run Wii and GC games from SD, and therefore make the install process easier, and also not require buying an HD and a Y USB cabe?

    3) Or am I wrong and USB is optional and this tutorial allows Wii and GC games from SD too?

    I love how Loadiine's homebrew/gx2 routes saves into SD, making it easy to backup them. I won't play a lot of games at the same time, so my SD's 59GB is more than enough for a few Wii U, Wii and GC games.
     
  5. comput3rus3r

    Member comput3rus3r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    407
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome guide everything worked flawlessly. Btw i did use usb flash drive but i formatted it just like you said to format the hdd. Works great.
     
  6. JorgeSalgado

    Member JorgeSalgado GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Hello! Could someone help me?

    I'm trying to install d2x on my vwii but no matter how many times I do it, it doesn't show up on the credits page of the USB Loader GX. Is it still suppose to show up there? Everytime I start a game, I get a black screen and I'm kicked back to the Homebrew Channel. I assume there's a connection between both but I'm not 100% sure.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  7. comput3rus3r

    Member comput3rus3r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    407
    Country:
    United States
    Vwii needs to be on a separate sd/usb than the wiiu stuff. Mine worksperfectly using 2 sd cards and 2 usb flash drives. And you need a third sd card thats 2gb or less and its not sdhc or sdxc just for the initial vwii setup..
     
  8. MaitreLLD

    Member MaitreLLD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    France
    - USB Loader GX can't run Wii games from SD but Wiiflow can.
    - Nintendont can also run from SD.
    But bear in mind that the Wii U SDHC reading times are awful and you might have bigger loading times. For NGC it should be fine though because there's "not much" to load.

    Using Wiiflow / Nintendont on the vWii and Loadiine GX2 on the Wii U is currently the only way to have the 3 type of games on a same support, as of right now, there's no way to have Wii U games on a hard drive that is not Wii U formatted.
     
    Last edited by MaitreLLD, Jan 13, 2017
  9. JorgeSalgado

    Member JorgeSalgado GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Hey, everyone!
    This is a photo of the credits tab on my USB LoaderGX. Is it correct?
    [​IMG]
     
  10. hunikel

    Newcomer hunikel Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Morocco
    hey man , I read your post and i m in the middle of the same problem, i cant restore my miichannel... someone send you his wuphaxBackup.app... can you send me a link in private plz?
     
    Last edited by hunikel, Jan 15, 2017
  11. GATWYAY3.2

    Newcomer GATWYAY3.2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    any chance emulators will one day work with Gamecube controllers ? or should i just buy a pro controller
     
  12. GBA rocks

    Member GBA rocks GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    Ireland
    Not sure if vWii hacking is more effort than it's worth for me when my wiiU arrives..
    - can I use the same 128GB SD both for wiiU stuff (installing games to usb hdd) and vWii stuff (wii/ngc games in WiiFlow, roms, etc.)?
    - can I leave the Wii U formatted hdd always connected or vWii would prompt me to format?
    - I have no intention to use a second usb hdd for vWii
    - I have Smash but wrong region so I guess I should use wuphax?
    - I'd be mad if I brick/ruin vWii and be prevented from using wiiU eShop VC Wii titles
    - I have a real bc Wii for Wii/gc stuff anyway

    Basically, since it's in there, can I use my 128GB SD for something vWii related without getting into too many headaches? Maybe just Nintendont via USB Loader GX or via WiiFlow? (again, no usb hdd dedicated to vWii, so I'd have some limits for wii games)
     
  13. britain4

    Newcomer britain4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  14. GBA rocks

    Member GBA rocks GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    Ireland
    I see thanks, yes I'm going to populate the 2 back USBs with a Y cable for a bus powered HDD velcroed on top of the wiiU (if it doesn't get too hot) dedicated only to WiiU content, I'm not going to use another hdd for vWii, whatever I can do on the SD is enough (the real Wii is modded already and has its own hdd connected at all times).

    So basically I can do this
    1) internal 8GB white wiiU NAND: CBHC DS title, HBC and other homebrews
    2) usb HDD: all things wiiU, including Wii eShop titles
    3) 128GB SD: "hidden gems" Wii titles missing from the WiiU eShop (with WiiFlow), GC games (with WiiFlow or USB Loader GX), other Wii native stuff; leave 30GB free at all times to be able to "carry" even the biggest WiiU games from PC to WUP installer; no other ways of using the SD for the WiiU, just vWii

    No switching HDDs and no nag screens, I hope.

    Yes I have NTSC Smash Brawl, NTSC Wii and soon PAL WiiU.
     
  15. britain4

    Newcomer britain4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is exactly the same setup I have and it works perfectly with no nag screens. Wii games and GCN games run fine from the SD card - although it is a class 10 and I haven't tried anything slower.

    I just use Wiiflow Mastermod for everything which has added Nintendont support and also supports Wii games from the SD card which USB loader GX doesn't for some reason.
     
    GBA rocks likes this.
  16. GBA rocks

    Member GBA rocks GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    Ireland
    Great, just what I was hoping for.
    Wiiflow for everything vWii it is (I assume mastermod ="masterpiece pack by Abz"? I haven't followed the Wii board for a while)

    Pretty nice all-in-one nintendo machine with everything from NES to WiiU, with both HDMI and analog outputs. I could even velcro a smash4 GC-port adapter and use a Wavebird for Nintendont (now if only the 2 front USB ports were on the back..). For the SNES I have the wiimote addon replica joypad from Club Nintendo. Time to grab a nes classic mini joypad for NES VC fidelity..
     
    Last edited by GBA rocks, Jan 18, 2017
  17. britain4

    Newcomer britain4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes and yes.

    Yeah that's why I picked one up (I did have a Wii before but found a good deal so thought I would bring myself into 2012 lol). I love it so far!

    I use a Classic controller (not Pro) it's almost as if it was designed for GameCube games as well as all the other stuff it's obviously compatible with.
     
  18. Psygnosis

    Newcomer Psygnosis Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi all can I ask some noob questions?
    1. it's safe to vWii hack through wuphax without haxchi but insteat with the old method? (I know haxchi rocks but I have to charge my card to buy the game and now I can't, in the next month for sure)
    2. can I use wiimote+nunchuck as controller? or a compatibile xbox wireless receiver?
    3. what is the best usb loader nowdays? I used to play with cfg loaders at wii's time. (i need to load either from usb or sd)
    thank you in advance
     
  19. ZeroX504

    Newcomer ZeroX504 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Quick question, I looked everywhere but I couldn't find any information on this, Can vWii be restored back to stock? I'm just curious to see if there's a way to do it.
     
  20. gaga24

    Newcomer gaga24 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    I complete vwii hack with succsess. Everything works just fine. I use cios 52 for 249, 250, 251. Can i now run setup again and overwrite 52 with 53alt if i need to? Is this ok to do?
     

Share This Page