The annoyance of doing a System Transfer when trying to softmod a Friend's 3DS thru DSiware method

Discussion in '3DS - Nintendo Network' started by Kaneco, Dec 20, 2016.

  1. Kaneco
    OP

    Kaneco GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    100
    12
    Mar 14, 2009
    United States
    You know what I realized after doing a System Transfer? That it transfer all the NNIDs ever used on the previous console. Had 1 active ID on the Transfer, and 1 inactive from a previous Nand/Format & it passed both of them to the transferred system, even if I replaced both of those IDs with a Friend's.

    I noticed when trying to log/re-register the IDs to the old 3DS, they both give me the notification that both the IDs are linked to another 3DS, even the one that wasn't actively logged into during transfer.

    So I'm going to have to call Nintendo to unlink both of my NNIDs from my friend's 3DS.

    Wonder where this information is stored on the 3DS...for inactive NNID so they don't transfer every single NNID the 3DS has gotten involved with. For example, let's just say I made 6 NNIDs on one 3DS, if I do a System Transfer with one of them being active at the current time of transfer it will transfer all 6!

    I find it very dumb if that's true. The other way I see this is made possible, is that no information is stored on the 3DS except for the '1' active NNID & when the 3DS connects to the servers as a prerequisite for Transfer, at that very moment it reassigns all NNIDs on 'file' associated with the Source system to transfer over to the new 'Target' 3DS as a bundle!

    How asinine is that, if true!? Just makes more hard work for Nintendo... well it's no surprise if it's Nintendo, they aren't known for making very practical networking infrastructures... :unsure:
     
  2. fodder

    fodder STARMAN

    Member
    803
    287
    Aug 3, 2014
    United States
    Only 1 NNID is stored on the 3DS, which is the active one. (afaik)

    They simply flag the account has being linked to a system on their servers. (via serial number and probably device ID)
     
    Last edited by fodder, Dec 20, 2016
  3. munchy_cool

    munchy_cool GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    632
    170
    Dec 15, 2016
    United States
  4. Kaneco
    OP

    Kaneco GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    100
    12
    Mar 14, 2009
    United States
    Yes, that is true... but! I can now confirm that my suspicions have been proven thanks to call I made to Nintendo to re-link back all my NNIDs that transferred over, both active and inactives ones, all in '1' System Transfer.

    If you have 'any' underlying NNIDs inactive, registered to the Source 3DS that you're transferring from... All NNIDs that are & have been linked to that Source 3DS will transfer over to the Target 3DS regardless of them being 'inactive' or 'active' and no matter how many NNIDs were linked to that Source 3DS server side, on their server database.

    It's very annoying if you are working with 'one' source 3DS to softmod a friend's 3DS... Because you would have to call to transfer back all NNIDs, not just the 'active' one during the transfer.

    If only linking & unlinking accounts was as simple as going into a setting to turn on/off on the actual console that connects to the servers & accepts the command, just like PSN & XBLA. It's so backwards how they've implemented System/Device+Account Association, too many hoops to jump through.