TempGBA: NDSGBA revival

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Nebuleon, Feb 18, 2013.

?

Do GBA games make your nono parts happy?

Yes 313 vote(s) 96.0%
No 13 vote(s) 4.0%
Feb 18, 2013

TempGBA: NDSGBA revival by Nebuleon at 8:49 PM (171,891 Views / 19 Likes) 1,178 Comments

    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Translation gates were removes on purpose.


    • Member

    Nebuleon MAH BOI/GURL

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    899
    Country:
    Canada
    • Translation gates should be gone, because they're unneeded in TempGBA as of beta 10.
    • AMZE and AMAE appear to be different versions of the same game, but I'm not sure.
    • The (J) games may need feedback from a Japanese user, but in general the one in TempGBA should take precedence and be merged into v 1.3 because it's derived from the Kai game_config.txt, which has presumably received feedback for those games.
    • Merge (E) and (U) from v 1.3 into TempGBA.
    • Member

    Aeter A walking contradiction

    Member Since:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Message Count:
    877
    Location:
    The lands of nether
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Figured out the problem of Super Mario Advanced. AMAE is the EU version and AMZE is the US version.
    Now I do wonder if both games could use the same fix though.
    I've added both since SMA4 uses the exact same fix on US and EU version and they are bound the have the same issues, so it'll fix the same issues too I hope.

    I've merged all the games now.
    I found out that the new game_config doesn't have any similarities between my newly merged game_config and seems have a lot fixes for EU and specific EU country games like (S) for Spanish games and such, so I've added those to the current list as none of the games seem to occur in my merged one.

    Here's the all new and shiny game_config.
    I'll post it in the game_config thread too and ask if I can update it to filetrip as being v1.4.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Aeter, May 3, 2013
    Am-rA and Nebuleon like this.
    • Newcomer

    Am-rA New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Message Count:
    6
    Country:
    Spain

    Thanks for your work and bring mine bit to this wonderful emulator
    Nebuleon're a crack
    • Member

    nl255 New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Message Count:
    1,452
    Country:
    I have noticed that the emulator often corrupts itself and the only way to fix it is to delete the system directory and recopy the emulator over which means losing all of my custom configuration options (otherwise it will just hang at LOADING...). Also, this happened as well.

    More than one SUPER~01.RTS entry in folder \TEMPGBA\SAVES.
    Renamed to SUPER~01.RT0.
    More than one SUPER~01.RTS entry in folder \TEMPGBA\SAVES.
    Renamed to SUPER~01.RT0.

    Update: Creating a save state in Super Mario World and then exiting corrupts the emulator.
    Last edited by nl255, May 4, 2013
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I was having the loading issues and RTS-file stuff issues before. Backed up, formatted with the SD formatter, hasn't happened again.
    • Member

    nl255 New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Message Count:
    1,452
    Country:
    I am doing that now, too bad it takes over an hour to do as writing 16GB worth of 0x00's (or is it 0xff) over a USB 2.0 connection takes a while. Is it really necessary to do the full overwrite erase format?
    Last edited by nl255, May 4, 2013
    • Member

    Nebuleon MAH BOI/GURL

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    899
    Country:
    Canada
    You don't need to go through the erase process, just the size adjustment. Erasing is more of a security thing, or a bad sector check thing.
    • Member

    RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Member Since:
    May 15, 2008
    Message Count:
    6,142
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Metroid Zero Mission seems to freeze when I set the CPU frequency to [5] 396MHz, but is okay on [4] 384MHZ, it seems that the overclock isn't stable.
    What processor is inside the Supercard DStwo actually? I think it is a MIPS from what I have gathered, but what frequency is it?
    • Member

    nl255 New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Message Count:
    1,452
    Country:
    Well the format (with size adjustment off) worked but save states are still showing as messed up on chkdsk despite working fine (no more emulator lockups on boot). Though copying them elsewhere in Windows is impossible as the short filenames are all messed up.

    Update - Format size adjustment on doesn't help either. Perhaps a 16GB Class 2 card is too slow for tempgba?
    Last edited by nl255, May 4, 2013
    • Member

    Coto Challenge Taken.

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,088
    Country:
    Chile
    iirc it's 0x00, and writing on chips, requires erasing every block in there, degradation occurs, but if you do it now, you'll fix up a big trouble later.

    stored data would be (filesize[on bytes]/clustersize[on bytes]) = n blocks [each one unique]. then every block, say 32KB a piece (32*1024) = 32768 bytes / 16 [bytes, from 0 to F] = 2048 lines of 16 "0x00's" or, 0x800 a piece of 32KB block.

    but writing is handled differently on flash than hdd's, more here:

    http://www.zdnet.com/blog/storage/five-things-you-never-knew-about-flash-drives/147
    • Member

    Nebuleon MAH BOI/GURL

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    899
    Country:
    Canada
    It's an Ingenic JZ4740, using the MIPS32 r1 instruction set, whose nominal frequency is 360 MHz.
    • Member

    nl255 New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Message Count:
    1,452
    Country:
    Well the only way to know for sure would be to reverse engineer the SD Formatter which is well beyond my skills.
    • Member

    Nebuleon MAH BOI/GURL

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    899
    Country:
    Canada
    a) I completely glossed over your post for some reason, and that is indeed interesting... but very odd. I don't think I did anything that made that much of a difference in a game, and I doubt that proof-of-concept ROM uses my improvements in any way. What was NDSGBA's problem with this ROM, and how well does TempGBA beta 13 fix it?

    b) It is very possible that your particular Supercard overheats and freezes, or lacks power due to your Supercard's power circuit or your DS's power circuit, at 396 MHz. If that's the case, then your Supercard is rather bad, because 396 MHz is a mere 10% overclock. It was added in an early BAGSFC/CATSFC build because it was relatively stable, but I guess not.

    CATSFC uses 396 MHz as its default CPU frequency; can you test some SNES games on it and look for freezing?
    • Member

    RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Member Since:
    May 15, 2008
    Message Count:
    6,142
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Curious stuff, the GCW Zero sports an Ingenic JZ4770 1GHz processor, and I believe the Dingoo A320 also features an Ingenic processor of the same line.
    It must be pretty popular among Hong Kong manufacturers.

    a) The proof of concept rom as I recall was reconstructed by reverse-engineering the Genesis rom itself, so whatever operations it performs may be very unusual compared to other commercial games, but still capable of running perfectly on authentic hardware (I have tested with Slot-2 devices)
    The basic problem was that NDSGBA could not run it very fast at all, it may've been around 15fps.
    As it happens, gpSP on the GP2X Caanoo actually runs it even worse, even overclocked from 533MHz to 800MHz. The Caanoo is an ARM device though.
    All of the slowdown seems to be tied to the audio processing though, if you let the title theme play out, the game runs faster when no audio is processed.
    It would be worth testing NDSGBA and TempGBA with audio disabled.

    b)To be honest I am having a hard time identifying the fault with my DSTwo, if it is the 32gb microSD I WAS using, 8gb microSD I'm currently using, possibly the DSi slot, if it can tolerate an overclock or not, etc.
    I will give CATSFC a shot and see if I experience freezing at 396MHz, to my recollection it doesn't though.
    • Member

    Nebuleon MAH BOI/GURL

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    899
    Country:
    Canada
    TempGBA beta 14 is available, incorporating a fix for filesystem corruption by BassAceGold. It should handle Short File Names (SFN) and Long File Names (LFN) more correctly and prevent duplicate aliases (two files named MARIO~01.RTS, for example).

    There is only this in beta 14. It is pretty important. Please test it.
    • Member

    nl255 New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Message Count:
    1,452
    Country:
    It seems to work fine now though I only did a limited test (two save states with mario world). I will test more later.
    • Member

    Canadacdn New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Message Count:
    102
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If anyone cares, I re-wrote a bunch of stuff on that emulator compatibility wiki page. Most of the information on there was very outdated and written for NDSGBA which is shitty and obsolete. Make sure you guys update the tables as you play!
    Last edited by Canadacdn, May 5, 2013
    • Member

    keine New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Message Count:
    349
    Country:
    United States
    Tested Metroid Fusion and it runs much better than the original supercard GBA Emulator. It gets up close to 60fps I believe. The feel of it is lots lots better when you remove frameskip. Metroid is a very fluid game when played on original hardware. Final Fantasy VI however is only doing about 20fps/60fps which makes movement sluggish. Yet the emulation is spot on. Beta13
    Last edited by keine, May 6, 2013
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Er, which one? I made a new page for this one since yeah a lot of the old info didn't apply anymore.
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/TempGBA_Compatibility

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page