StellaDS V1.2 (DSi Entry)

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by alekmaul, May 20, 2011.

May 20, 2011

StellaDS V1.2 (DSi Entry) by alekmaul at 5:28 AM (21,781 Views / 0 Likes) 66 replies

  1. israelg

    Newcomer israelg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Israel
    Hi, Please port StellaDS also to SuperCard Two (Like the 7800) for improving speed since
    they are still many good games that run very slow (Pitfall, Chopper command, Hero, Space Invaders Etc.)

    Very nice work...

    Thanks...

    I.G
     


  2. alekmaul
    OP

    Member alekmaul GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Blois
    Country:
    France
    Can't do that sorry, because Stella uses C++ and DSTWO sdk is not compatible with C++ ...
    Tried to port another emu (z26) but it's too slow on DSTWO (around 30 fps ...)
    So, no, we will not have a special version for DSTWO
     
  3. israelg

    Newcomer israelg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Israel
    So do you it is possible running games like Pitfall, Chopper command and Hero in full speed ?

    Maybe using frame skipping technique ?

    Lowering the audio quality ? (no audio will be very sad but it also an option)

    What do you think ?

    Thanks

    I.G
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,478
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    well this project does indeed run in ds-mode it is geared towards the ievo and dsi-mode. there is a noticeable speed increase when using it in dsi-mode. is it perfect? - no, some games (pitfall II) still run at an unplayable speed even in dsi-mode.

    as alek already said a speed increase would be difficult although he will look into it.

    -another world
     
  5. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It would be possible to change all the C++ code to be C compliant though. However it would take a lot of work and it's just a matter of finding someone willing to do this.
     
  6. alekmaul
    OP

    Member alekmaul GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Blois
    Country:
    France
    OK, new version available, see first post for comments about this version.
    Will now try to fix games with problems (like starpath or some bin files ...)
    If an admin can change the title of the thread ...
     
  7. israelg

    Newcomer israelg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Israel
    Great !!! I will test this later...!
     
  8. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,478
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i fixed the thread it now says v1.1.

    did you figure out why the .a26 files are cut off (cropped) when the .bin are not?

    cheers,
    -another world
     
  9. alekmaul
    OP

    Member alekmaul GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Blois
    Country:
    France
    what do you mean exactly with "cut off" ?
    Is it the pb with screen aspect that is not nice (like we saw in previous post on this thread) ?
    If so, it's perhaps a pb with pal/ntsc settings that are not correct in this version.
    Will try to fix it for the next one.
     
  10. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,478
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    yeah, that is what i was talking about.

    -another world
     
  11. inacito

    Newcomer inacito Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Spain
    Tested new version, paddle emulation seems a bit strange. Breakout works fine, but Night Rider is unplayable, goes to the left all times.
    And the "cut off" effect cuts off at the right side too, I've tried Video Olympics and in the one player games you do not see your paddle. Also it's awkward to go left and right when the movement is up and down [​IMG]

    Hope you can fix it all, thanks for this great emulator.

    BTW, have you seen my post about savestates in the SC2 A7800 thread?
     
  12. alekmaul
    OP

    Member alekmaul GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Blois
    Country:
    France
    ok, will try to find the pb with Night Rider.
    Fix pb with height when switching between pal ntsc
     
  13. israelg

    Newcomer israelg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Israel
    Report:

    Very nice update:

    Kaboom is playable with the new paddle support...!
    Difficulty is very nice feature, tested with space invaders...

    How can I display FPS with this new version ?

    Still waiting for the performance improvements...

    Thanks!

    I.G
     
  14. NortenoDelSur

    Newcomer NortenoDelSur Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Mexico
    Maybe a DSTWO version?? [​IMG]
    It would be great!! [​IMG]
     
  15. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    lern2read

    ffs
     
  16. alekmaul
    OP

    Member alekmaul GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Blois
    Country:
    France
    ** UPDATE **
    New version added, see the first post for log of changes
     
  17. israelg

    Newcomer israelg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Israel
    Thanks for the FPS...

    I will test the new version later and give you some FPS numbers for slow games...

    Any performance improvements ?

    I.G
     
  18. israelg

    Newcomer israelg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Israel
    H.E.R.O. - 27 FPS
    Kaboom! - 35 FPS
    Pitfall - 30
    Space Invaders -38
    Pac Man - 40
    Phoenix 50
    Chopper Command - 30
    Defender - 48
    Demon Attack - 45
    Laser Blast - 35

    I think that 35 and above FPS is playable lower than this heart the game-play...

    What about frame skipping ? I think that even one frame skip will help the lower FPS games...?

    Thanks

    I.G
     
  19. israelg

    Newcomer israelg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Israel
  20. alekmaul
    OP

    Member alekmaul GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Blois
    Country:
    France
    What do you mean with this last reply ?

    If it's that I read your reply about frame skipping, the answer is Yes. But it's not really easy to do such thing with Stella emulator.
    I will try to find a method to optimze again the emulator, but I need more time , sorry about that.
     

Share This Page