Official [Source Release] ReiNand CFW

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Reisyukaku, Aug 5, 2015.

Aug 5, 2015
  1. CrimsonMaple

    Member CrimsonMaple EXPLOSION!!~

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Hiding from the Axis Cult.
    Country:
    United States
    Update to ReiNand v5.1 its on the github site.
     
    tomman321 likes this.


  2. tomman321

    Newcomer tomman321 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    That fixed it, thank you!! :D
     
    CrimsonMaple likes this.
  3. Nazosan

    Member Nazosan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    It's been starting to feel like Luma3DS is slowing down to me, so I thought I'd look at alternatives to see what's alive and lo and behold, ReiNand is still very alive and kicking (or at least was more recently.) Perhaps it's time I came back to it. I do have one question though: I'm on a N3DS now (I was on a 2DS -- aka O3DS -- before) and I'm wondering if we can control whether or not it forces clock + L2 on bootup with ReiNand? Usually I actually want this off, but it would be nice if I could select it for maybe one or two games. (Maybe. Usually it seems to do more harm than good to me. I usually keep it off, but I like that Luma3DS lets me change it without having to edit a text file on my computer or something to switch back and forth.)

    Also, I've had a bit of an oddity here. I booted the latest ReiNand release (5.1 at this time) and found a few games missing. I couldn't say what they have in common except that some of them were installed very very recently. (Perhaps after I did the 11.2 update or maybe 11.1? I think 11.2, but I couldn't specifically say.) When I booted to LumaCFW they showed up as new software and I had to unwrap, but once I went back to ReiNand they were still gone. Two of them were the undub of Tales of the Abyss and (I guess now an older version of) the Dragon Quest VIII undub + orchestra + uncensor version (if there's a newer version I don't want to update because the game has some sort of save checking that invalidates saves on a different version it seems and I'd have to start over. Ugh.) Those are modified versions of games, but, on the other hand, most of the rest are unmodified. As a matter of fact, most of the rest came from the FreeShop (and before you judge me, I lost all the stuff I bought when I tried to go to a N3DS originally but found out that the XL is too large and heavy and actually hurts my hands, so had to wipe it. Nintendo lets you transfer from O3DS to N3DS but they won't allow you to go back even if you have no N3DS content. Lovely. I presume this is because it essentially transfers the actual NAND and replaces a bunch of system titles or something, but I have no clue why it wouldn't just replace them going back the other way if so.) Those from the FreeShop are not only unmodified, but have official signing and all, so even should show up without a CFW at all if I understand correctly. This makes it particularly strange since the CIAs installed via FBI may be one thing, but those should show up as basically "official."

    I guess I should stick with Luma3DS for now, but I'm curious why those aren't showing up at all. I even rebooted back to LumaCFW (I use an A9LH version of the CtrBootManager, so can go back and forth quickly and easily) and they reappeared then I rebooted back to ReiNand and they disappeared again, so it seems to do it every time with the same titles even. Maybe Nintendo added some new thing that the system does when installing?
     
    Last edited by Nazosan, Apr 6, 2017
  4. CrimsonMaple

    Member CrimsonMaple EXPLOSION!!~

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Hiding from the Axis Cult.
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for telling me about this. Its strange. I'll have to look into it. Maybe it's your FW version. Mind telling me what it is? Can you launch the titles in ReiNand from FBI? Does that make them appear on the homemenu? Try 5.0 if you aren't on 11.3 and tell me if the titles show up.
     
  5. Nazosan

    Member Nazosan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    I went ahead and updated to 11.3 before even trying this since everything is supposed to be working with 11.3 -- or at least so I thought. FBI does not show the missing titles within the titles list.

    I may actually have something of note here. I completely forgot until just now, but I do have an emuNAND. I don't use it since I'm on A9LH. I set it up with the theory that if Nintendo ever finds a way to start breaking things for A9LH users and I've already updated, I could use it as an emergency backup method to be able to run more or less everything until it's fixed (and maybe even be able to do things like install system titles or whatever as needed.) Well, that was the theory anyway. There's an oddity here though. When ReiNand boots, if I go to system settings I see "Rei 11.3.0-36U." I think it is booting the emuNAND however because it definitely takes a lot longer to load. So much longer that there's just no room for doubt that it's not booting sysNAND. So probably what I need here is a way to force it to boot sysNAND and I've forgotten how to make it do so by default if it can. Perhaps if I can do this those titles will work.

    Still, the emuNAND isn't that old. I've forgotten what version I had on there. Obviously not 11.3. I feel like it was 11.0 before they started making changes to break downgrading (though obviously I don't need to use emuNAND for downgrading, I just figured that they were making it very clear they were extremely aware of A9LH and taking action.) While it may be theoretically possible for Dragon Quest VIII to require a newer firmware version than whatever the emuNAND is, Tales of the Abyss far predates whatever I setup this emuNAND with (it's one of the earliest 3DS games even. The Japanese original only requires 1.0, but even the US/EU version only requires 2.1... This is an undub, but if they touched the firmware requirements at all it would have been to remove the requirement and I don't see why they'd even bother with that considering that it would even work fine for 4.x users as-is.) So whatever the emuNAND truly is, it should still work with this one. I didn't look up the other titles, but I really doubt most require much.

    I'd really rather not have to remove the emuNAND. It's not just that theoretical but probably wildly unnecessary backup mechanism though. It's also because it takes so incredibly long to move data from/to the memory card (in a card reader -- nevermind WiFi.) I do wonder if it's showing an issue like this if that might still be a sign of something that should be looked further into anyway.
     
  6. CrimsonMaple

    Member CrimsonMaple EXPLOSION!!~

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Hiding from the Axis Cult.
    Country:
    United States
    Hate to break it to you but your plot is flawed. If they brick sysnand you are out of luck. Can't even use Emunand. And yes. Reinand will force boot emunand. I have made a version that will only boot sysnand, but I can't compile it since I don't have access to my desktop. Hold start when reinand boots and that will boot sysnand. Best solution is to backup your SD and reformat it. If you want security I think there is a way to have the dsi ware downgrade method installed to the DS profile settings which can restore a nand. However you shouldn't worry because when using a CFW, generally there is something called Firm Protection which stops ninty from nuking arm9loaderhax with an update.
     
  7. Nazosan

    Member Nazosan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    How would Nintendo stop A9LH from booting an emuNAND? Remember, this isn't MenuHax/etc. Wouldn't they have to take steps that would likely break a lot of sysNANDs that don't have any sort of hacks whatsoever across potentially millions of systems? Anyway, for whatever reason it ends up taking hours to actually move data from and then again when moving back to the card. I presume it just has way too many ultra-tiny files instead of a handful of large files. Either way, it means I can't use my 3DS for a very very long time and it's a royal hassle. Plus I need the space on my PC which takes moving things around, etc etc. So even if we assume the idea has no value whatsoever (and I'll admit that regardless of whether they can render it completely unbootable or not via an update it may not necessarily make any difference whatsoever to have an emuNAND -- for example, if they overwrite A9LH itself or something of the sort that's pretty final) I'm not sure if it's worth the time and hassle. I'll just use Luma3DS for now. I'm not in any big rush to switch back to ReiNand and can do it any time anyway since basically all I have to do is flip around the entries in CTRBootManager's configuration file to switch permanently.

    Anyway, if I hold start while booting it does show those missing titles it seems. So at least whatever it is is related to this. I just noticed at least one other I installed within the same sort of timeframe as the others though, so it's odd that this one wasn't disappearing all this time. I'm not sure what to make of that as the time when I installed them was the only thing I could think of them having in common. (My menus aren't as organized as they should be. Some things like this particular one end up further down as a really low priority and I didn't even notice it wasn't missing until now that I was really looking around.)
     
    Last edited by Nazosan, Apr 7, 2017
  8. CrimsonMaple

    Member CrimsonMaple EXPLOSION!!~

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Hiding from the Axis Cult.
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't know what you were referring to at first. You can just make a nand backup before updating. If it breaks compatibility with a CFW then just restore the old fw with D9 or GodMode9. However I'm not gonna fight over this anymore.
    In the meantime I'll look into adding a way to setup autoboot sysnand without a menu. (Probably hold select on boot to toggle Autoboot sysnand and a config file.)
     
  9. Nazosan

    Member Nazosan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    A config file would be ideal. Then it lays the groundwork for some other stuff you may want to control this way in the future (clock + L2 maybe?) Though a bypass via shortcut button is probably necessary so the user doesn't have to hook it up to a PC if they have problems just to change which way it boots one time.

    I'll probably eliminate the emuNAND someday, it's just that it's much more of a complete and utter hassle than it rightly should be.
     
  10. CrimsonMaple

    Member CrimsonMaple EXPLOSION!!~

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Hiding from the Axis Cult.
    Country:
    United States
    Not gonna add native Clock+L2. ReiNand is minimalistic, and that could easily be done with NTR. Its just more code to add to a system I would rather keep as slim as possible.
     
  11. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBATemp's Official Waifu™ Furry trash

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17,198
    Location:
    Between insane and insecure
    Country:
    Antarctica
    11.4 has been released and it appears to add a new NATIVE_FIRM. So chances are ReiNAND will need an update as well.
     
    CrimsonMaple likes this.
  12. JerryShaw

    Newcomer JerryShaw Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    China
    Just checked, can boot on Ver5.1, but cannot go any further.
     
    CrimsonMaple likes this.
  13. CrimsonMaple

    Member CrimsonMaple EXPLOSION!!~

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Hiding from the Axis Cult.
    Country:
    United States
    Hopefully shouldn't be a pain since Rei fixed his mess of keys. Just need to grab the firm, encrypt and test.
     
  14. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBATemp's Official Waifu™ Furry trash

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17,198
    Location:
    Between insane and insecure
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Reboot patches have also been broken again according to my sources
     
  15. CrimsonMaple

    Member CrimsonMaple EXPLOSION!!~

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Hiding from the Axis Cult.
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, all cfw were hit on that one.
     
  16. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBATemp's Official Waifu™ Furry trash

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17,198
    Location:
    Between insane and insecure
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Big shock, Nintendo found something that worked and are exploiting the hell out of it. Lol
     
    Gray_Jack likes this.
  17. CrimsonMaple

    Member CrimsonMaple EXPLOSION!!~

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Hiding from the Axis Cult.
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, I might just setup ctrnand loading if this keeps up.
     
    daxtsu and Crystal the Glaceon like this.
  18. CrimsonMaple

    Member CrimsonMaple EXPLOSION!!~

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Hiding from the Axis Cult.
    Country:
    United States
    Updated firmware.bin is up on github. Go grab it and put it in /rei for 11.4 support. Unsure if it works on o3ds so yell at me if it doesn't. Imma go pass out now.

    (Edit): doesn't work on o3ds please hold off for a bit. N3ds is just fine however.
    (EDIT 2): this should work for o3ds. Rei hasn't pushed it. If some brave soul is willing to test, go right ahead.
     
    Last edited by CrimsonMaple, Apr 11, 2017 - Reason: Added functioning FW binary
    peteruk likes this.
  19. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBATemp's Official Waifu™ Furry trash

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17,198
    Location:
    Between insane and insecure
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Does not work on old3DS, not sure about new3DS because I am holding off on updating it
     
  20. CrimsonMaple

    Member CrimsonMaple EXPLOSION!!~

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Hiding from the Axis Cult.
    Country:
    United States
    New3ds does work, I have personally tested. I was unsure of old3ds. I'll fix this when I can.
     

Share This Page