Hacking Some beginner questions before buying a Wii U

Aglaophotis

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Hello, I'm planning to buy a Wii U for hacking/homebrew purposes but since I'm completely new to this console (only hacked my 3DS recently and installed A9LH+Luma), I got a few questions.

Here's what I want to be able to do with the Wii U:

- playing old console games like NES, SNES, N64 (either through VC injections or Retroarch, depends on what runs better), maybe some Sega Master System/Mega Drive stuff too

- playing Gamecube, Wii and Wii U backups

I looked into different hacking methods but to be honest, I'm a bit lost here. With the 3DS it was easier.. there was just one recent and preferred method including one definitive guide. But for the Wii U there seem to be different ways which are all listed in the sticky threads like Haxchi, Brazillian method etc.
Can you guys point me to the most recent and preferred method, or explain the cons and pros to me?

Some other questions I have:

1. I've noticed there are two versions of the console, with 8 and 32 GB internal storage. Is it worth getting the 32 GB one or is it a waste of money? What games can you load from there?

2. From what I understand, games are usually loaded from either a USB drive or SD card. Which one is preferred? Can I use just one storage for all games? I read different statements on that, some people even using 3 different drives.. or combinations of SD and USB, which seems a bit confusing and inconvenient to me.

3. Which controller is recommended? I don't really care much for the Wii U gamepad as I just want a classic console experience with a regular controller. From what I've seen the only regular one is the Wii U Pro Controller. Will it work with everything I listed above?
Or would it make more sense to get something like this for all the older consoles: http://www.raphnet-tech.com/products/ns64gc_to_wiimote/index.php ?