Softmodded Wii HDD + 2 Microphones

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by whitey012001, Sep 6, 2010.

Sep 6, 2010
  1. whitey012001

    Newcomer whitey012001 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Could anybody tell me if I can attach 2 usb microphones to my wii with a usb hub. As the Hard drive is in the other usb slot.

    If so can you use any usb hub or do you require a particular type?

    Thanks

    Neil
     
  2. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
  3. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    677
    Country:
    Poland
    Using usb 1.1 hub or those without their own power supply is just asking for trouble.
     
  4. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    I've used that usb hub (with the RB instruments that is) without problems since the release of RB1, so...

    Plug the HDD directly into the Wii, USB instruments into the hub.

    Edit: That one is USB 2.0, but it doesn't have its own power supply. But yeah, stay away from 1.1 if you can.
     
  5. whitey012001

    Newcomer whitey012001 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great thanks. I've got an usb 1.1 hub in the drawer, was going to use that but I'll think I'll get a usb 2 one.

    WHat would happen if I used it? Would I damage my Wii?

    Thanks

    Neil
     
  6. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    677
    Country:
    Poland
    If You use powerless hub and attach lots of devices to it (especially 2,5" hhd without it's own power) then You can draw too much power from wii usb port.
    I don't know how wii is designed but just stay away from these scenarios.
     
  7. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    You know, as long as you're using the hub for the microphones, I'm sure it'll be fine.
     
  8. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Using a 2.0 hub is pointless, the instruments aren't 2.0 and nearly all games run the ports in 1.1 mode.
     
  9. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    +1 to Mrkinator

    Posted just to confirm it too

    I've used a 1.1 hub with 2 mics before no problems. You wont damage the Wii, so don't worry. [​IMG]


    mike333 I know you're trying to help the guy.....
     
  10. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    677
    Country:
    Poland
    Replace "especially" for "for example" - ok now?
     
  11. bosman

    Member bosman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    Australia
    Is there any bluetooth microphones that will connect to the Wii to avoid this silly mess with usb and cables running along the floor..
     
  12. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,088
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I doubt it... But maybe a wireless microphone with a USB reciever would work??
     
  13. flo

    Member flo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    207
    Country:
    Hungary
  14. Grinto

    Newcomer Grinto Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I got my second microphone from a Naked Brothers Band game for PS2. GameStop was selling it for four bucks. Works perfectly.
     

Share This Page