Softmodded Wii HDD + 2 Microphones

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by whitey012001, Sep 6, 2010.

Sep 6, 2010
    • Newcomer

    whitey012001 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Could anybody tell me if I can attach 2 usb microphones to my wii with a usb hub. As the Hard drive is in the other usb slot.

    If so can you use any usb hub or do you require a particular type?

    Thanks

    Neil
    • Member

    Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Member Since:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Message Count:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    • Member

    mike333 New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Message Count:
    665
    Country:
    Poland
    Using usb 1.1 hub or those without their own power supply is just asking for trouble.
    • Member

    Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Member Since:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Message Count:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    I've used that usb hub (with the RB instruments that is) without problems since the release of RB1, so...

    Plug the HDD directly into the Wii, USB instruments into the hub.

    Edit: That one is USB 2.0, but it doesn't have its own power supply. But yeah, stay away from 1.1 if you can.
    • Newcomer

    whitey012001 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great thanks. I've got an usb 1.1 hub in the drawer, was going to use that but I'll think I'll get a usb 2 one.

    WHat would happen if I used it? Would I damage my Wii?

    Thanks

    Neil
    • Member

    mike333 New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Message Count:
    665
    Country:
    Poland
    If You use powerless hub and attach lots of devices to it (especially 2,5" hhd without it's own power) then You can draw too much power from wii usb port.
    I don't know how wii is designed but just stay away from these scenarios.
    • Member

    Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Member Since:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Message Count:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    You know, as long as you're using the hub for the microphones, I'm sure it'll be fine.
    • Member

    tueidj I R Expert

    Member Since:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,569
    Country:
    Pacific Ocean
    Using a 2.0 hub is pointless, the instruments aren't 2.0 and nearly all games run the ports in 1.1 mode.
    • Member

    Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,686
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    +1 to Mrkinator

    Posted just to confirm it too

    I've used a 1.1 hub with 2 mics before no problems. You wont damage the Wii, so don't worry. [IMG]


    mike333 I know you're trying to help the guy.....
    • Member

    mike333 New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Message Count:
    665
    Country:
    Poland
    Replace "especially" for "for example" - ok now?
    • Member

    bosman New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Message Count:
    216
    Country:
    Australia
    Is there any bluetooth microphones that will connect to the Wii to avoid this silly mess with usb and cables running along the floor..
    • Member

    person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,083
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I doubt it... But maybe a wireless microphone with a USB reciever would work??
    • Member

    flo New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Message Count:
    197
    Country:
    Hungary
    • Newcomer

    Grinto New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Message Count:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I got my second microphone from a Naked Brothers Band game for PS2. GameStop was selling it for four bucks. Works perfectly.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page