Share a tech tip with the person before you.

Discussion in 'Computer Tutorials' started by FAST6191, Nov 21, 2013.

1. FAST6191
    OP

FAST6191 Techromancer

pip Reporter
    Nov 21, 2005
    Basic idea. Share a little tech tip with the person before you, preferably something not completely obscure and more general or related to what we do around here. Even if it is somewhat obvious to you it might not be to others, many of us around here are self taught which can lead to some interesting gaps.

Notepad++ (the code it comes from is also used in Geany in linux and co). Arguably the premier open source windows text editor replacement (it is available as an option on https://ninite.com/ ).
    The tip
    Column select.
    Hold alt and click and drag.
    When combined with fixed width text it is so useful for a lot of things, especially ones where you have to do repeated actions, basic database ish work (trim columns from data, add things in the middle) and can not be bothered to fiddle with regular expressions.

DrakeLyon, boomario and Cartmanuk like this.

2. Foxi4

Foxi4 On the hunt...

pip Reporter
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    When you want to pretend that you are taking notes in IT class using MSWord while you're actully doing f*ck-all, type =rand(X,Y) where X is the number of paragraphs and Y is the number of sentence repeitions and hit Enter. The function will type random text from a built-in article.

Xenon Hacks, nxwing, boomario and 4 others like this.
  3. Cartmanuk

Cartmanuk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Nov 20, 2010
    On the Insert tab, the galleries include items that are designed to coordinate with the overall look of your document. You can use these galleries to insert tables, headers, footers, lists, cover pages, and other document building blocks. When you create pictures,

Foxi4 likes this.
  4. jonthedit

jonthedit GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

May 30, 2011
    Bangladesh