Settings Editor GUI

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by JoostinOnline, Oct 1, 2011.

Oct 1, 2011

Settings Editor GUI by JoostinOnline at 5:14 AM (12,922 Views / 3 Likes) 147 Comments

    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,284
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    [IMG]
    By JoostinOnline and stfour


    Things you can change:
    • Screen resolution
    • Aspect ratio
    • Sensor bar position
    • Sound mode
    • Wii remote rumble
    • Screen burn-in reduction
    • Shutdown mode
    • Wii remote sensitivity
    • Wii Connect 24
    • Internet Settings (boot directly into them)
    Note: You cannot change a setting unless you have changed it at least once in the System Settings.

    You can also use custom themes and fonts. There is an example included in the download. If you don't have one on your SD/USB, it will try and use the one from postLoader.

    To use a custom font, place "font.ttf" in your SE_theme folder.
    Screenshots
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!

    How to use present.cfg
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!

    Downloads:
    http://tinyurl.com/SettingsEditorGUI
    Please link back to hacksden for downloads instead of hosting it yourself. It ensures that people will always receive the latest version.
    Changelog:
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!

    Known Issues
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!

    Credits
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!

    Donations
    While donations are very much appreciated, don't do it because you feel that's the only way to get future releases.
    [IMG]
    Last edited by JoostinOnline, Mar 28, 2014
    MassiveRican, filfat and Snowmanne like this.


    • Member

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Member Since:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,540
    Country:
    United States
    You are full of surprises. Perhaps you should post a link and people can test it for you.
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,284
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    People are always telling me I'm full of stuff, but you are the first to say "surprises." It's refreshing. [IMG]

    I'm not posting the link now because I can't say for sure if it is stable. I've tested it myself (only had time to do so twice) and it worked, but I just got my first report back and the user said he got code dumps everytime.
    • Member

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Member Since:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,540
    Country:
    United States
    You can PM me, I will test this weekend. I'll let you know how it goes.
    • Member

    Taleweaver Storywriter

    Member Since:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,316
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hooray!!! [IMG]


    Well...as for testing: I'll volunteer if you want someone for Uneek + DI (yes, and I'll make sure to provide feedback more often than I did on progressiveswitch). For now, I'll pass for the real nand. It'll take too much time taking safety measures.
    (plus I barely recall what I HAVE on my real nand).
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,284
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, cool. I'll send you the link.
    • Member

    Category Trainee Romhacker

    Member Since:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Message Count:
    214
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PM me too if you need another tester.

    Seems like this app could be a perfect companion to postloader - especially if you could implement wifi setting changes.
    • Member

    Taleweaver Storywriter

    Member Since:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,316
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Well...I tested it out (uneek +DI 4.3E), and it seems to work just the way it should. [IMG]

    -Screen resolution
    Switches nicely between progressive and interlaced.Note: it may be different in Europe, but on the wii the settings are named "60 Hz (480i)" (interlaced) and "EDTV / HDTV (480p)" (progressive).
    I also have an option "50Hz (576i)", but I'm not sure if my tv can even handle that.

    -Aspect ratio
    Widescreen and fullscreen. No surprises. Maybe adding "(16:9)" and "(4:3)" to the options makes things more clear, but that's a detail.

    -Sensor bar:
    Top and bottom. You can't make things more clear than that.

    -Sound mode
    Options surround, mono and stereo...switches just fine. [IMG]

    -Rumble:
    Disabled or enabled. I admit I thought this was a "per wiimote" option, but apparently it isn't. Maybe "Wiimote rumble" would be more clear, but then again...just WHAT ELSE could rumble? [IMG]

    -burn-in reduction:
    Disabled or enabled. Switches nicely.

    -Power off:
    I like the name "Shutdown mode" (as mentioned in this thread) more, but even so...you can't miss much. The setting works, which is what matters

    -Remote sensitivity:
    this one got me searching through the menu a fair bit. I never knew there WAS such a setting. But as it turns out, this is actually the sensor bar sensitivity (of course, the effect is the same).
    This one got a very minor bug. If you change the setting through the system menu and then start SettingsEditor, it shows a bit of garbage on this setting ("²C ²CL ²CI " and so on...it's almost a chemical formula [IMG] ). It goes away if you select the setting. As such, it's not so easy to say if it notes the earlier made changes in the system menu. But the effect still works, so it's no biggy. [IMG]



    That's all I can say about it. Very nice work. [IMG]
    • Member

    OriginalHamster New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,826
    Country:
    Chile
    Oh, i thought that you can change the screen resolution, for example forcing it to show only 480 instead full screen with over 720.
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,284
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I made it for people who use postLoader instead of the System Menu. Unfortunately, I see little hope of adding that as it would be very complicated.

    At this point I don't need another tester, but I will soon. Thanks.
    • Member

    bnm81002 New Member

    Member Since:
    May 22, 2008
    Message Count:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry but what is ProgressiveSwitch? thanks
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,284
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.hacksden.com/showthread.php/295...ogressiveSwitch
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,284
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Things are moving along, and after I get some test results back this should be ready for release. Thanks to stfour, it now has a much easier GUI and the crashing bug should be fixed. He is now listed as co-author on this.
    • Member

    XFlak Considering Wii-tirement...

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    9,094
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    sweet! I'm loving the collaboration! Keep it up guys!
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,284
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    He strong-armed me into it with his helpfulness. [IMG]
    • Member

    stfour New Member

    Member Since:
    May 24, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,591
    Country:
    Italy
    Happy to read that ! Go joostin go ! [IMG]
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,284
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I need some people to test the latest beta. If it works without issue, I'll make an official release.
    • Member

    Taleweaver Storywriter

    Member Since:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,316
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    The latest beta is that beta5 you sent me, right? In that case, you already have my feedback.

    Also...I've been afk a couple days and now with this changed beta I can't find my recent messages anymore (yet). Did you said anything recently?
    (sorry to mention it like this, but I'm still getting used to the new looks around here).
    • Member

    Category Trainee Romhacker

    Member Since:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Message Count:
    214
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm still interested in testing, just drop me a PM
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,284
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Latest beta is from yesterday. I haven't sent it to anybody yet. I think that I fixed all the problems you reported, but I haven't had all of my PM's restored so I can't be sure. I was going to wait until yours was restored, but patience has never been my strong suit, lol. I'll send you a pm.

    Will do. :D

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page