Hacking "Service unavailable in country/region" error when logging in on Vita TV

silver_arcus

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi!

I am new to all this so my apologies if the question I am asking seems rather basic!

I have an Asian PS Vita running 3.55 firmware (using a memory card attached to a US PSN account) and recently acquired an Asian Vita TV running 3.15 firmware.

I was trying to get my Vita TV to read said memory card but it refuses to do so and I read somewhere that I need to first log in to my US PSN account on the Vita TV first in order for it to read it. I tried doing this by entering the Vita TV's safe mode and restoring system data so that I can log in and also bypass the annoying system update nag that would force me to update (which I don't want to).

Unfortunately, when I tried to log in, I got the error stating that "the service is not available in your country/region". I have never encountered this problem before when logging into my US PSN account on my Vita so this was rather puzzling for me. I then tried logging into my EU account instead; the same error occurred. Finally, I tried logging into my Asian account and this time I got a different error - "To use PSN with this account, you must provide additional information. Complete the initial setup and then link your account with the Vita TV system".

I am completely stumped and have no idea what else should I do to try and get my Vita TV logged in to any account, much less my US account and read my memory card. Since my US account is my main one with all my save files and games on it, I did really like to be able to use it interchangeably with my Vita and Vita TV.

If anyone can help me out with this issue, I would be really grateful!