Send/Take PKM Files To/From Retail Games

Discussion in 'NDS - Tutorials' started by Rydian, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. basher11

    basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Member
    4,385
    128
    Jun 29, 2009
    United States
    thanks rydian! bookmarked!
     


  2. jasterj

    jasterj Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Apr 17, 2010
    United States
  3. Clydefrosch

    Clydefrosch GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    4,024
    1,126
    Jan 2, 2009
    Gambia, The
    is it possible, that this whole thing wont work right, if i use a wifi network with a repeater? like, it has some kind of synchronisation problem that way?

    im sitting on a laptop, thats connected to a wifi router in repeater mode, which itself is connected to a wifi router with dsl connection to the internet


    thats the only thing that might explain how i keep getting all those fail connections...
    it just works very very rarely and randomly, but never for more than one pokemon, whereas things like 500mb.us work flawlessly every time :/

    when I used the original sendpkmn like a year ago, we only had one router...


    ... if anyone happens to stumble over something like http://pokecheck.kraftpaper.org
    without the item removal/premier ribbon thing, that would be really nice
     
  4. Pokemonzmaster18

    Pokemonzmaster18 Member

    Newcomer
    39
    0
    Mar 6, 2011
    United States
    I don't think it's ur dsl connec. Cause I also get that and my I use FIOS
     
  5. Clydefrosch

    Clydefrosch GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    4,024
    1,126
    Jan 2, 2009
    Gambia, The
    no, its not the dsl connection thats causing the trouble, its the extending through two wireless routers...
    it may slow things down a little bit, since the signal first goes to the extender, then back to the actual router, then back to the extender and only then reaches the nds... or something like that... :/
     
  6. Pokemonzmaster18

    Pokemonzmaster18 Member

    Newcomer
    39
    0
    Mar 6, 2011
    United States
    o, ok. Regardless, I was just pointing out the fact that its just not you that this happens to. I didn't know where u were gettin' at lol
     
  7. The Composer

    The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    289
    7
    Sep 13, 2009
    Cote d'Ivoire
    Chile
    This should be sticky.
     
  8. Kezia

    Kezia Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Apr 8, 2011
    United States
    I'm having a problem. After I make a .pkm file in Pokesav, and open the IR-GTS, and I attempt to drag said .pkm file into the command box, it won't allow me to do so.
     
  9. basher11

    basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Member
    4,385
    128
    Jun 29, 2009
    United States
    you have to use pokegen.
     
  10. Kezia

    Kezia Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Apr 8, 2011
    United States
    I tried using pokegen, and the same thing occured. There's a little veto symbol when I try and drag the .pkm file into the command vox, no matter where the .pkm file is located.
     
  11. Rydian
    OP

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member
    27,883
    8,102
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Where is the IR-GTS folder?
     
  12. Kezia

    Kezia Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Apr 8, 2011
    United States
    In the "my documents" folder. I opened it with winRaR, and it looks exactly she same as every picture i've seen, but it just won't let me drag a pkm file into it. Thanks for the help, btw. I appreciate it.
     
  13. Rydian
    OP

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member
    27,883
    8,102
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Take a screenshot of what the folder looks like.
     
  14. Kezia

    Kezia Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Apr 8, 2011
    United States
  15. Rydian
    OP

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member
    27,883
    8,102
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Put the PKM in the same folder?
     
  16. Kezia

    Kezia Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Apr 8, 2011
    United States
    I have put them all in the same folder, and the error still occurs. I even tried dragging the PKM files directly into the Ir-GTS python file that starts up the command box, and no luck.
     
  17. Rydian
    OP

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member
    27,883
    8,102
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Hm, run CMD from the start menu as admin (by typing CMD and pressing CTRL+SHIFT+ENTER), then navigate to the directory this is in and run it?
     
  18. basher11

    basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Member
    4,385
    128
    Jun 29, 2009
    United States
    LOL it says gen 4 pkm aren't supported. i just sent the 3 starters. XD
     
  19. PeterFile

    PeterFile Member

    Newcomer
    35
    0
    Jun 10, 2006
    Does the language matter? Because my Pokemon game (which is an original) is in german.
     
  20. Pokemonzmaster18

    Pokemonzmaster18 Member

    Newcomer
    39
    0
    Mar 6, 2011
    United States
    It's one of the troubleshooting steps

    Go into command prompt, go to the location of the python file and type in

    sendpkm.py (insert file).pkm
    -------------------------------------
    I usually keep them in the same folder