Send/Take PKM Files To/From Retail Games

Discussion in 'NDS - Tutorials & FAQs' started by Rydian, Mar 26, 2011.

Mar 26, 2011
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Send/Take PKM Files To/From Retail Games

    A PKM file is a copy of a pokemon's data. You can get these files online, or rip them out of a save file yourself.
    Using the tools here you can send a PKM file to an actual game on your 3/DS/i, or get one out of your real game.

    This guide will NOT cover editing the PKM files, there's entire forums out there for doing that.
    This guide needs admin rights on your computer, and a wireless network.

    1. Intro
    2. Procedure
    3. Tools, Resources
    4. Troubleshooting
    Last edited by Rydian, Feb 9, 2013
    1 people like this.


    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    1. Intro
    2. Procedures
    3. Tools, Resources
    4. Troubleshooting

    WARNING! Spoilers inside!




    WARNING! Spoilers inside!

    WARNING! Spoilers inside!

    WARNING! Spoilers inside!
    Last edited by Rydian, Feb 9, 2013
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Last edited by Rydian, Feb 9, 2013
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    1. Intro
    2. Procedure
    3. Tools, Resources
    4. Troubleshooting

    WARNING! Spoilers inside!
    Last edited by Rydian, Feb 9, 2013
    • Newcomer

    Pokemonzmaster18 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Message Count:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    just replying so I could be subscribed to this topic, prob gonna post a youtube video to prove it works (good idea or no? (needs opinion)
    • Newcomer

    Udoma New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Message Count:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I have an error that I've been trying to fix for the past several days now.... Everything runs great, and I get inside the 'GTS', but get stuck on "Checking GTS's status", and get a communication error message shortly afterward. My ir-gts says that I connect, but never moves on to sending the .pkm. Any ideas?
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Security software?
    • Newcomer

    Udoma New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Message Count:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Sweet, you're online!

    No Security software on, I made sure to disable it all before I started. And I'm fairly certain that ports 80 and 53 are open.
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    As the troubleshooter says, security softwares tend to not fully disable, and will still fuck with network stuff until uninstalled (AVG was the big offender for the last version IIRC).
    • Newcomer

    Udoma New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Message Count:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    That's the thing though... the only security software I run is through Windows, and I've got it all shut down. Unless I'm missing something and perhaps I hadn't fully uninstalled something.

    I used SendPKM last year, and I remember having trouble getting it setup. trouble is, I can't remember what the problem was... I vaguely remember it was something to do with my router, but I'm at a loss trying to remember what exactly.

    Could it be that ports 80 or 53 aren't open? I run the program pkmsendportcheck and it says they are open, but canyouseeme.org gets a timeout everytime I check port 80.
    • Newcomer

    Pokemonzmaster18 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Message Count:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    Is Skype or Steam up, if so u need to quit the program entirely

    EDIT: With this python script, it won't even come up if ports 53 or 80 aren't open
    • Member

    AlanJohn Fuck you and a happy new year! :3

    Member Since:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Message Count:
    3,310
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Why won't you try this?? It works with Black/White and you can upload your own .pkm file.
    • Newcomer

    Udoma New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Message Count:
    5
    Country:
    United States

    First time I've seen this, I'll give it a try, thanks!
    • Newcomer

    Udoma New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Message Count:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Well, the link you provided worked just fine so I'll stick with that for now.

    Still would love to figure out what the problem is when I try to do this from my own PC
    • Member

    Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp's Official Glaceon™ That little pansexual

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    10,371
    Location:
    Not sure
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Oi~ As if there isn't enough people with fake pokemon on the GTS! >.
    • Member

    AlanJohn Fuck you and a happy new year! :3

    Member Since:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Message Count:
    3,310
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    • Member

    Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp's Official Glaceon™ That little pansexual

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    10,371
    Location:
    Not sure
    Country:
    Antarctica
    • Newcomer

    Pokemonzmaster18 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Message Count:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    o_0, that reminds me what error # did u get?
    • Member

    Clydefrosch New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,121
    Country:
    Germany
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    This lets you take PKM files from games, too.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page