RRoD quick fix?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Bobbyloujo, Dec 1, 2012.

Dec 1, 2012

RRoD quick fix? by Bobbyloujo at 1:16 AM (472 Views / 0 Likes) 10 Comments

    • Member

    Bobbyloujo I am a millipede, I am amazing.

    Member Since:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    605
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    My beloved Xbox just RRoD'd on me. It already e74'd before and the problems are back. Fortunately, it's still under warranty from the last time it was fixed. Unfortunately, I was on the very last boss in FF13-2!!! The game was saved onto the Xbox's little bit of internal memory. Silly me, I thought the system would work just after having it repaired :dry: Now I know to save everything to the hard drive instead. But anywho... I'm going to send it in but before I do I would like to at least get that save game off there and onto my HDD. Are there any good quick fixes that will work without voiding the warranty? I only need it to work long enough to retrieve the save. I already tried squeezing it to no avail.
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,631
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    You can try and "towel" trick it.

    Just wrap a towel around the 360 and let it overheat again.
    This may work but I'm not sure about it...
    • Member

    Bobbyloujo I am a millipede, I am amazing.

    Member Since:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    605
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I noticed something else. I get 3 rings but the fans don't even start. Nothing happens except for the blinking rings. I'm pretty sure this means that I can't overheat because nothing in it is actually running.
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,631
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    What's the secondary error code?

    My first suspicion is that the CPU is dead.
    Only way to fix it is to send it to MS.
    Or get a new one but since you're covered the sending it to MS is a better option ;p

    Just make sure you say to then that you have a saved game on your internal NAND
    • Member

    Bobbyloujo I am a millipede, I am amazing.

    Member Since:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    605
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I believe it is 0001 but I may not have done it right. I turned on the console, held sync and eject. All four lights flashed rapidly. I continued to hold sync nonstop and pressed eject again. 4 rapid lights again. Pressed eject again, 4 rapid lights again. I did it again and got 1 light. Again and I got all 4 lights but they were blinking slower.
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,631
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    0001 is a power supply issue....

    I highly doubt that that's the problem tho.
    • Member

    Joe88 [λ̨̞̪͖̫̤̪̫̩̻̯̯̤͚̣͍̠̅͌ͧ͑ͤͫͧ͐̎̆̅̎́̀̚̕͟]

    Member Since:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Message Count:
    9,922
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    imo just include an message in the box saying you have irreplaceable data on the internal memory, rather then doing something that might cause the warranty to void
    • Member

    Bobbyloujo I am a millipede, I am amazing.

    Member Since:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    605
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I'm kinda wondering about this. It almost makes sense. When I sent it in before I didn't send in the AC adapter so it's still the old one. The only thing that turns on is the lights almost as if nothing else is getting power. Then again, the light on the adapter is orange just like it should be. It turns green for about a second after hitting the power button and then goes back to orange. I've never seen the light on the adapter turn red. I don't know... I could try picking up a new adapter at GameStop after work tomorrow but I don't really want to blow $30 on a power adapter if it isn't going to work.

    I might end up doing this. I'm worried that M$ won't be very considerate of it and just erase it anyway though.
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,631
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    You can also bring your 360 to Gamestop and ask if they can test it for you?

    Other then that you should then send it in.
    • Member

    Bobbyloujo I am a millipede, I am amazing.

    Member Since:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    605
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Took it into GameStop today. They tested it with a different power adapter and worked. It really was only the power adapter :) Anyway, I bought the last AC adapter they had that matched my Xbox. Hope it lasts.
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,631
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Lets hope that yep.

    I'm glad it wasn't a odd hardware problem in your 360 itself ;]

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page