Official Retroarch WiiU (wip.)

Discussion in 'Wii U - Homebrew' started by aliaspider, Nov 6, 2016.

Nov 6, 2016
  1. infidelity

    Member infidelity GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    May I ask what build I should attempt to locate then? version number, etc?
     


  2. xtheman166

    Member xtheman166 *Insert custom title here*

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,745
    Location:
    somewhere in the middle of nowhere
    Country:
    United States
    You just have to try different builds. Or use the ones in the homebrew app store
     
  3. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    18,001
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    You have to try them systematically, I'm afraid.
     
    Last edited by the_randomizer, Jan 3, 2017
  4. pwsincd

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,084
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the nightly builds on the appstore work fine , and havent been updated as there hasnt been anything to update... there may be newer nighlies but nothing has changed... aliaspider hasnt worked on them for a while.
     
    Billy Acuña and VinsCool like this.
  5. infidelity

    Member infidelity GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    Ok i'll obtain the retroarch from the app store.

    So should I do this as well for all of the "cores" too? Stick with the cores from the app store? Cause i'm using the core pack from todays date on GitHub.
     
  6. pwsincd

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,084
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try them , if they work for you then cool . the store will always contain the latest apps "that work" wether there is newer versions or not.
     
  7. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    18,001
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I find that a bit worrisome TBH, about the future of this port, etc. Does that mean what I assume it to mean? No more updates?
     
  8. pwsincd

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,084
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no , you do realise its been xmas right ? and that retroarch kinda runs on lots and lots of platforms.
     
    SlimPortable likes this.
  9. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    18,001
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    And I kinda only have like, two platforms and don't use phones for RetroArch, I realize that it's the holidays. I'm speaking generally; there haven't been updates for the Wii U port for about two weeks or so, that's all I'm saying. As such, there's no need for people to use the 1/2/17 builds.
     
  10. brienj

    Member brienj Trying to avoid getting cancer

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    Once I can figure out the problem with my channels installed on the system menu requiring HBL to be ran at least once before they are ran, they shouldn't require this, I will be working on adding things to Retroarch like multiple controllers. The source code is open and he takes PRs, I can't be the only developer that wants to eventually work on this, or am I?
     
  11. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    18,001
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know what's going on with the RA port anymore,. I know it's the holidays and that's fine, I hope it eventually picks up. I got myself a Wii U Pro I want to try instead of the clunky game pad.


    Edit: I redact
     
    Last edited by the_randomizer, Jan 3, 2017
  12. infidelity

    Member infidelity GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I know ive said this before but, one more question.

    I cant change the buttons within the MAME menu "Input (this game)" I was looking to try out Crusin USA, and I cannot set the ENTER button to my choosing, I cant set any buttons for that matter within that whole menu. I am using the App Store version of both RetroArch & MAME2003. Thanks. :-)
     
  13. sindrik

    Member sindrik GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    United States
    the_randomizer aka mikemeister789 aka Nintendo_nerd85 aka foxwhisperer aka roflcopter777 has been a whiner in every other forum and github I have seen him, it is hardly a surprise to see him being a jerk about not having updates without contributing a thing. do not be surprised if we lose this project too thx to him
    [​IMG]
     
    AzerothArg, niuus and SlimPortable like this.
  14. Radius4

    Member Radius4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    Ecuador
    Dude you do this on every thread every 10 pages or so...
    There is no need to be dramatic about it.
     
  15. MaitreLLD

    Newcomer MaitreLLD Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    France
    Anybody has releases, or versions number, without the problem of DSI error when closing and loading a second game ? The ones on the App store do that but I think that I remember that at some point it was solved (also maybe later ?)
     
    Last edited by MaitreLLD, Jan 3, 2017
  16. seam

    Member seam GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    austin texas
    Country:
    United States
    Ive alreaady posted about this and spoke with the developers. They told me the game will never run on the wiiU so dont waste your time. sorry man.
     
  17. infidelity

    Member infidelity GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    Rats. Well here's hoping Killer Instinct will boot past the blue screen down the road?? *fingers crossed* thanks for the reply!
     
  18. SlimPortable

    Member SlimPortable GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    It's great of you tackling adding multiple controllers to Wii U RetroArch! Can't wait to play 3rd Strike with something other than the gamepad.
     
  19. Vlone

    Newcomer Vlone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Is it Possible PicoDrive will be a core on the wii u's retroarch???
     
  20. huma_dawii

    Member huma_dawii GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    780
    Location:
    Key Largo, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    No official release yet??? :(
     

Share This Page