[RELEASE] Regionthree: Region Free loader for 3DS/2DS/xl from 9.0~9.4, Sky3DS Users, regionfree!!

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Dartz150, Jan 17, 2015.

  1. weatMod

    Member weatMod GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,841
    Country:
    United States
    still hoping GW surprise is access to twl_firm and can run from sd
     
    Margen67 likes this.


  2. TidusWulf

    Member TidusWulf Real Aloha

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    585
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if this could be re-worked to write a launcher than can inject cheat codes :O
     
    blinkzane likes this.
  3. Februarysn0w

    Member Februarysn0w GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    Somewhere on the earth
    Country:
    Burundi
    I tried this exploit A little while ago. this exploit start up Monster Hunter 4G on my Japanese 3DS lol. but this mean the exploit is works fine to start the game!

    Have fun!

     
    Margen67 and omegart like this.
  4. SLiV3R

    Member SLiV3R 3DS Friend Code: 0473-9069-2206

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,064
    Country:
    Sweden
    Too bad sky3ds can't handle it
     
  5. Sheimi

    Member Sheimi A cute Vixen!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,920
    Country:
    United States
    I think there should be a list of what region games can load the game patches.

    US Mario & Luigi: Dream Team does not detect the JP Patch for example.
     
  6. TUWieZ

    Newcomer TUWieZ Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    Makes sense, tested on OG R4. (for ds phat and lite) Screen went black, had to hold power for several seconds.
     
  7. Generation 16

    Member Generation 16 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    So why doesn't this work with Sky3ds?
     
  8. gamesquest1

    Member gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13,683
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    expects a green button version that loads the game properly even if the region is incorrect so it will work with this :lol:

    im assuming its down to how sky3ds skips games if they arent loaded properly by the homescreen.......but this would also mean you would be blindly choosing your game, maybe someone can try writing one game and see if it catches it......would of been cool if he could of made a ninjhax loader for 4.x-9.2, and just region free for 9.3-9.4
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  9. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,935
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium




    It works perfect :)

    Did everything, wrote only 1 japanese game to my Sky3DS (Hero Bank 2)
    Richt after activating the exploit the game booted up :)

    There is one problem, you can't press the Home button, if you do the game locks up and you have to power off your 3ds or remove the game cart to return
    This can be solved by pressing "Power" first and on the power off screen press "Home", then you retrun to your home screen

    [EDIT]

    You can put multiple roms on the Sky3DS (Japanese / US) But when pressing the Sky3ds button, you will not see any icon on your screen (just watch the led blinking, when it stops it has loaded the next rom, then do the exploit, works flawless :)

    [/EDIT]

    I know you all like pictures as proof:

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Margen67, LurkerA, Gruntzer and 6 others like this.
  10. Multiboy2k

    Member Multiboy2k GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Country:
    United States
    I jus
    I just tried this. This is returning an Error Msg.
    US 3DS XL latest fw using EUR games on Sky3DS. How did you get this to work again?
    I read your instructions and followed. Is there another step missing?
    Thanks!
     
  11. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,935
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium

    Don't know, it works fine for Japanese and US roms. I placed the launcher.dat on the root of the SD cart that goes into your 3DS
    Then wrote with diskwriter some japanese and us roms to the cart, did the exploit like you have to do, after entering the url, you wait a few seconds and the 3ds goes black and boots the game.
    To switch game, you have to press "POWER" when the power off screen pops up, press "HOME" to return to your homescreen and switch game on the sky3ds, wait till the led is out again and do the exploit again

    Works perfect

    [EDIT]
    Before entering your url, you should wipe cookies
     
    Multiboy2k and SLiV3R like this.
  12. gamesquest1

    Member gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13,683
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you plan on having more than one out of region rom, it would probably be fore the best if you write like a little list of what games are in which order, so you dont have to blindly guess how many times to press the button :)
     
  13. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,935
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yupz, you should write it down.

    Not that i need it, i don't play japanese games (i don't understand) and i really don't know what games are US only? is there a list on gbatemp of 3DS games not released in Europe, only in USA

    BUT it could be handy if 3DS translation projects pop-up for Japanese games!!!
     
  14. Duo8

    Member Duo8 I don't like video games

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3,403
    Country:
    Vietnam
    What was the thing with sky3ds rom switching again?
     
  15. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,935
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    For Other region games: It doesn't show any icon in the 3DS menu, so when you press the sky3ds button, you don't know to what game it has switched, you also have to keep an eye on the led blinking to see when your next game is loaded before doing the exploit!
     
  16. gamesquest1

    Member gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13,683
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    game translation hacks wouldn't work afaik, this is more of a bypass of region than a fully fledged hacked game loader.....would need someone clever than me to say if that would be possible, but from what i have read this is more of a trick that just bypasses region checking, all signature checks would still need to be present and correct as they are checked by arm9, whereas region is checked by the homescreen itself in arm11 (feel free to correct me if im wrong on any details)
     
  17. Plasma Shadow

    Member Plasma Shadow GBAtemp's Artificial Lifeform

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,531
    Location:
    I have no fucking idea.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Protip: when playing a game through this method, do not click the HOME button - causes the 3DS to crash.
     
  18. Multiboy2k

    Member Multiboy2k GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Country:
    United States
    omg it worked!
    Now playing MH4 on my US 3ds XL!
    Thanks alot Djoen!

    Wow, Sky3DS for the win. Period.
     
    SLiV3R and DjoeN like this.
  19. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,935
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Looking at a list of games, it seems it's not worth for US/EU releases, most come out in europe a bit later or vica versa, it only seems good for people who want to play japanese games :P

    List_of_Nintendo_3DS_games

    [EDIT]

    Ow, maybe my youngest kid can now play Lalaloopsy - Carnival of friends, seems that one isn't released in Europe :)
     
  20. gamesquest1

    Member gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13,683
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lets be honest gateway deserves praise for this more than sky3ds does.......smealum and gateway are the people who made it possible, but yeah sky3ds is starting to not look all that bad thanks to other people work :P could still do with a price drop

    more than 10 games= made by someone else, copied by sky3ds
    region free = made by someone else....i say give it a few days and they will be announcing it as their own feature
     
    _eyCaRambA_, ll0rT and Ericss like this.

Share This Page