[Release] Opentyrian for 3ds (using lib SDL 1.2 )

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by nop90, Mar 4, 2017.

Mar 4, 2017
  1. nop90
    OP

    Member nop90 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,166
    Location:
    Rome
    Country:
    Italy
    MLlFmNa.jpg

    OpenTyrian is a port of the DOS shoot-em-up Tyrian. Jason Emery generously gave the OpenTyrian developers a copy of the Tyrian 2.1 source code, which has since been ported from Turbo Pascal to C. The port uses SDL, making it easily cross-platform.

    Original game was developed by World Tree Games Productions and published in 1995 by Epic MegaGames.

    Tyrian is an arcade-style vertical scrolling shooter. The story is set in 20,031 where you play as Trent Hawkins, a skilled fighter-pilot employed to fight Microsol and save the galaxy.

    --------​
    3DSX Users: Currently, the 3DSX build needs to utilize a large app installed on your 3ds. If you have used any of the similarly large RetroArch emulators or ScummVM 3ds, you have nothing to worry about. The easiest target to use is the Youtube app, so if you have that installed, you're ready to go.

    CIA Users: You will first need a DSP dump on your SD card.
    This is a one-time process and is needed for all homebrew CIAs that use DSP audio.

    The source code of my port is on my github (https://github.com/nop90/Opentyrian-3ds).
    The compiled game (3dsx and CIA format) is released on github (https://github.com/nop90/Opentyrian-3ds/releases).

    Credits:
    The original source is here: https://bitbucket.org/opentyrian/opentyrian/wiki/Home
    This game uses the SDL 1.2 library for 3ds

    Changelog

    Ver. 1.1 (11 March 2017)
    - Removed name input screen for highscores

    Ver. 1.0 (05 March 2017)
    - Fixed game exiting

    Ver. 0.1 (04 March 2017)
    - First reelase in 3dsx and CIA format

    Installation

    In the zip there is a folder with the 3dsx, smdh and the xml (for target title selection) files inside, to be used with a homebrew launcher, and a CIA file to be installed with FBI. All the resources are included in the executable using romfs.

    The game creates a OpenTyrian subfolder inside the 3ds folder if doesn't exist. Here will be stored the gamesave.

    Commands

    -


    Known Bugs

    -

    To Do List

    - Enable 2 players network mode (need to port SDL_Net first)

    Screenshots

    Opentyrian1.png Opentyrian2.png
     
    Last edited by nop90, Mar 11, 2017
    renhei, do0ob, ossay78 and 12 others like this.


  2. SLiV3R

    Member SLiV3R 3DS Friend Code: 0473-9069-2206

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,061
    Country:
    Sweden
    Wow! This is Epic!
     
  3. mazingetter

    Newcomer mazingetter Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Peru
    Great! Now I can play Tyrian no the go! Thank you so much!
     
    SLiV3R likes this.
  4. nop90
    OP

    Member nop90 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,166
    Location:
    Rome
    Country:
    Italy
    The 3dsx version doesn't launch easily; you have to run meritous first, exit the game, and then lunching Opentyrian works.

    The Cia starts without problems. Exiting the game always hungs the system.

    I'm trying to fix everything.
     
    Last edited by nop90, Mar 4, 2017
    SLiV3R likes this.
  5. Flame

    Member Flame Me > You

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,603
    Country:
    i swear you are creating homebrew quicker than i can download.

    thank you.
     
    Last edited by Flame, Mar 4, 2017
  6. nop90
    OP

    Member nop90 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,166
    Location:
    Rome
    Country:
    Italy
    A good sdl lib allow it.

    I'm writing a guide for porting a sdl game to 3ds, with explained all the tricks I learned in the last year. Hope to finish it in a couple of weeks.
     
  7. mazingetter

    Newcomer mazingetter Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Peru
    Got no sound in the game using the CIA versión in a N3ds using latest luma in 11.3
     
  8. Pacheko17

    Member Pacheko17 かっこい男の子

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    Southern Confederation
    Country:
    Brazil
    Holy shit! I was just playing this on my PSP!
     
  9. Cid2mizard

    Member Cid2mizard GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    Maubeuge
    Country:
    France
    Meritous doesn't works too...
     
  10. nop90
    OP

    Member nop90 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,166
    Location:
    Rome
    Country:
    Italy
    Dumped the dspfirm?
     
  11. xxangelxx

    Newcomer xxangelxx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Germany
    3dsx doesn't work
    Meritous black screen, Tyrian red screen
     
  12. SlimPortable

    Member SlimPortable GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    SHMUPS is one of my favorite genres so I'm always up to try one I haven't played before. Great work, thanks for the port!
     
  13. nop90
    OP

    Member nop90 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,166
    Location:
    Rome
    Country:
    Italy
    11.3 seems to be a big problem for 3dsx format.
     
  14. mazingetter

    Newcomer mazingetter Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Peru
    Yes I did
     
  15. nop90
    OP

    Member nop90 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,166
    Location:
    Rome
    Country:
    Italy
    Checked the cia on github and it was an old version with sound broken.

    Please download and install it again, I uploaded the right version.
     
  16. Kubba

    Newcomer Kubba Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    Bro.

    Tyrian is my favorite DOS game.

    Megaprops to you.
     
  17. nop90
    OP

    Member nop90 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,166
    Location:
    Rome
    Country:
    Italy
    Warning, if you installed the wrong version of the game (both cia or 3dsx) after reinstalling the new one you have to delete all config and save files in your 3ds/Operntyrian folder, or your key setting will me messe and the fire button will not work.

    You can always remap the button by hand going to oprions->keyboard, but I think is better to start with a clean configuration.
     
  18. Fatalanus

    Member Fatalanus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    Romania
    You makes me think of all those shareware PC games from the mid 95!! God this is a real time travel machine that you opened up dude! Only for this you have my thanks!!
    Now, I would like to open the black box..

    https://www.classicdosgames.com/game/Shadow_Warrior.html
    The source code is available.

    EDIT: Ah, forget the idea, it's not really clear as it's still sold or something on steam and the goal here is not to catch a big mess with copyright.
     
    Last edited by Fatalanus, Mar 5, 2017
  19. mazingetter

    Newcomer mazingetter Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Peru
    Thanks!
     
  20. SLiV3R

    Member SLiV3R 3DS Friend Code: 0473-9069-2206

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,061
    Country:
    Sweden
    I LOVE YOUR NEW SDL PORTS! :) (And the Roguelikes :D)
     

Share This Page