R4DS Firmware?

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Another World, Jul 18, 2009.

Jul 18, 2009

R4DS Firmware? by Another World at 4:33 AM (21,739 Views / 0 Likes) 72 Comments

    • Former Staff

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,306
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    [IMG] R4DS Firmware?
    Did Ya' Know Fridays
    [IMG]

    In an effort to do something a bit different, I bring you "Did Ya' Know Fridays." I will attempt (hopefully with out fail) to give the GBATemp community a bit of info that might not be so well known. All info will be Homebrew, Scene, GBATemp related. If you have some news, info, or tips that you would like to see posted on the front page PM them to me. I'll work the best bits of info into the Friday rotation!

    For the 1st installment, Did Ya' Know that the original R4DS is still supported? The team behind the R4I (I.L.S.) has been porting their firmware to the R4DS. I have done some minor testing and a few newer ROMs work great along with DSPack and NesDS. Hopefully this is good news for those who forgot about their original R4DS or those who dislike YSMenu.

    The firmware appears to behave the same as the legendary 1.18 official firmware. It looks, feels, and acts like the original. The only issue I had was that themes had to be placed in the _system_/themes/theme01 folder and activated by pushing "select." I can recall that with the official firmware I could put my main theme in the _system_ folder root, but this firmware does not respond that way.

    At any rate, if you have a dusty R4 kicking about you now lack an excuse for not using it.



    [IMG] Download v1.23
    [IMG] R4I Homepage
    [IMG] LinFoxDomain Firmware Hosting
    [IMG] Discuss


    • Member

    zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY

    Member Since:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,192
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Australia
    I'll add to that bit of info about the R4DS firmware, the newest so far is 1.23 which was released on the 5/07/09
    • Member

    Jei Translator and romhacker wannabe

    Member Since:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Message Count:
    819
    Location:
    Zillions of pixels far away~
    Country:
    Brazil
    Downloading it just in case, because my actual 1.18 has no issues running the games I've been currently playing.
    • Member

    TraumaHoundNDS New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Message Count:
    355
    Location:
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    While I no longer have my original R4DS (thanks to some sticky-fingered kid at my daughter's camp last summer) one had to drop themes in folders theme01-theme12.

    Some of the clones have you drop the theme files into the system folder itself but then you only can use 1 theme at a time. Other clones allow for the 12 theme folders but you can't manually cycle through them, instead it auto-cycles at the start of a new month (based on the DS' system settings.)

    ...or was that what you were already saying and I just misunderstood you?
    • Member

    Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Message Count:
    1,941
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Did ya know this is based on open source software. which in turn should mean this firmware would have to be open source, but we all know the chinese dont respect copyrights.
    • Member

    jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Member Since:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Message Count:
    2,827
    Country:
    Philippines
    i have an excuse to not use my r4

    my ds is dead
    • Former Staff

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,306
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    @TraumaHoundNDS: from what i remember, and i should just test this, i could drop the main skin in the _system_ folder of 1.18 and it would show up. with this firmware i had to put the skin in _system_/themes/theme01 and then use the select button to make use of it. i only want to use 1 skin at a time and not "themes" but it seem this firmware does not have the same default behavior of the 1.18 official.

    does that make sense?

    -another world
    • Newcomer

    RetroVortex New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Message Count:
    57
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does this have support for saves over 512kb?

    If not, then I'll stick with my modified 1.18(that plays daigasso band brothers dx), and YSMENU...
    • Newcomer

    dimsum Kurtis New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Message Count:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Nice, but does it fix the cheat engine? For ex. will cheats appear for each game?
    • Member

    TheDestroyer GBAtemp's Official Keyblade Masterâ„¢

    Member Since:
    May 5, 2009
    Message Count:
    587
    Location:
    My Destroyed Village
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think so.. I tried it but my 512 KB save games doesn't recognize by it..
    • Member

    zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY

    Member Since:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,192
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Australia
    Yea it does it gives u unlimited cheat space, but im pretty sure YSmenu does that also?
    • Newcomer

    dimsum Kurtis New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Message Count:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah but blacklight cheats dont work on ysmenu i blieve
    • Member

    Fun_Zephyr New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Message Count:
    302
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    @Another World - If you place the 4 relevant files in the _system_ folder then that is the skin used but to have multiple skins you need the setup of _system_\Themes\Themes01 etc etc. I have the original disc that came with Firmware 1.11 and that is how it is setup. My current 1.18 also has it setup _system_\Themes\Theme01 through to theme12 (not that I use the R4 any more)

    Unless my interpretation of what they say is wrong in their manual but the above works for me for 1.11 through 1.18 - meaning the _system_\Themes\Theme01 through to theme12

    An extract from the Manual off the orginal CD:

    7) Switch of the Skins

    If the skin does not exist in the directory of _system_ in TF/microSD, it automatically uses the Skin from formal Beta Edition;
    There are 4 pictures at the directory "system/_system": logo.bmp ? icons.bmp ? bckgrd_1.bm and bckgrd_2.bmp. They are the background of the R4 operation interface; they can be changed to fit your style.
    logo.bmp - Background of the Top Screen of R 4' s startup.
    icons.bmp -- Background of the Bottom Screen of R 4' s Startup.
    bckgrd_1.bmp -- Background of the Top Screen of R 4' s Explorer.
    bckgrd_2.bmp -- Background of the Bottom Screen of R 4' s Explorer.

    Note:
    Do not change the picture's name;
    Make sure the picture is .bmp format, 8-bit/24-bit;
    Make sure the picture is 253*192 pixels.
    After finishing process on the pictures, copy the "_system" folder to the root directory of the CF card.
    If the Skin exists in the directory of _system_ in TF/microSD, it automatically enters multi Skins mode.
    The Skins in multi Skins mode can be switched manually and automatically, it is automatically switched with the Skins by months.
    The method of the Skin switch is: Click "SELECT" key in main menu, it switches between twelve manual modes and one auto mode, the chart is showed as below (It automatically skips if the Skin does not exist in the directory of themes):

    If the users would like the switches of multi Skins while playing, they only need create the directory of themes in the directory of _system_.
    For the method of adding more Skins, please view "DIY Manual of R4DS Skins"

    [IMG]
    • Member

    dsjoes New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    looks good but crashed on me so i will try again tonight
    • Member

    kobykaan New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Message Count:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ^^ beat me too it but IT'S ALWAYS BEEN LIKE THAT afaik with official R4 cards [IMG]
    • Member

    TraumaHoundNDS New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Message Count:
    355
    Location:
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    So it would have an either/or ability but now it can't? Hmm, didn't remember that (though I filled up my 12 folders pretty quick when I first got my R4DS a couple years back.)

    At any rate, cool to know some work is going into keeping the actual R4's on life support. Thanks for the update.
    • Newcomer

    datroubler New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Message Count:
    25
    Country:
    Germany
    in german i like to say "leck mich fett" but in english i say: holy shit it works with my M3 Simply!!!!

    edit:

    softreset is working, also Moonshell 1.71
    I already tried the Game Contra 4 Succesfully
    • Newcomer

    StuKeeler New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Message Count:
    60
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As mentioned this is/was correct for the R4 firmware.

    It is almost the same for the new R4 firmware but they seem to have removed the ability to have a permanent single theme and defaults as the rotating 12 month/12 folder themes.

    I use the same theme all the time so I just created 12 duplicates of the same theme as "theme01" - "theme12"!
    • Newcomer

    amanda New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Message Count:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    do you know what is the relations between the original r4ds and the r4li ?


    as many players know there are more than 20 kinds flash cards for ndsl or ndsi in the market, but yes , right , the r4li the same factory with original www.r4ds.com, why they don't put the official upgarde firmware on www.r4ds.com ?

    because the www.r4ds.com can't be opened ,Smart person will find it will jump to www.r4ds.cn while click the www.r4ds.com , but the R4DS Update didn't be updated since a year before on www.r4ds.cn .

    base on the needs from vast agents ,the original r4ds factory register a new address www.r4li.com to open a link for r4ds. so that the buyer can download the data from it ,can play a new game.

    if who interest in r4li or original r4ds for ndsl and ndsi . www.gamezway.com is good website i conside you can find a good price over there..


    • Member

    shakirmoledina Legend

    Member Since:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Message Count:
    6,584
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    i never knew it was "official"... i will try it out cuz i heard star wars also works with this one... (1.21 or something) thanks AW and i was also confused as to why there is a difference with the themes but i guess there isn't

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page