QUICK/NEWBIE QUESTIONS here!

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by OSW, May 17, 2009.

May 17, 2009

QUICK/NEWBIE QUESTIONS here! by OSW at 3:39 PM (283,943 Views / 3 Likes) 2,987 replies

  1. Jaldon

    Newcomer Jaldon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Canada
    How can I change (extract?) a Gamecube game.iso to two folders root and sys with files like opening.bnr, apploader.iso, etc. inside them

    I'm not sure what the latter format is called so I'm having a REALLY hard time searching. Sorry if this is in the wrong thread.

    Also is there a tool I can use to recursively unzip folders and then convert the isos in them to that format?
     


  2. banjo2

    Member banjo2 A troll by night and a temper by day

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/619/ This tool may be of use to you. There is a setting in the options that you will want to turn off, but I can't remember what it was. Something like title.db. Your computer will probably think it's a virus.
     
    Last edited by banjo2, Jan 6, 2017
  3. GreyWolf

    Member GreyWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    You want to dump the disc as files? DMToolBox that comes with DIOS MIOS can do that.
     
  4. uncle-motong

    Newcomer uncle-motong Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, so I'm trying to load codes off of my SD card in USBLoaderGX, but the default path is usb1:/codes and I can't seem to change that to sd:/codes (though I can explore the other files on the USB), any help?
     
  5. Suitcasemcgee

    Newcomer Suitcasemcgee Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Could you please help? I just started using usbloader and when i tried using Super Mario Galaxy it worked perfectly at first then during a cut scene the game froze. And it freezes at the same spot every time I play causing me to never progress.

    Please help me, sincerely:
    Suitcasemcgee
     
  6. GreyWolf

    Member GreyWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    Bad rip? What's with the bold text and which USB loader?
     
  7. Suitcasemcgee

    Newcomer Suitcasemcgee Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    well im using USB loader GX
    you may not understand but i have a video showing whats happening

    also bold so you can see better
     
  8. GreyWolf

    Member GreyWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't matter. If the game is already running then the loader has nothing to do with it as the Wii is a single user system and the loader is not present anymore. Check the game image with Wiimm's ISO Tools or Dolphin and see if the game partition on the disc is corrupt. If you're concerned about the cIOS you can post a SysCheck report (use that version and post it in spoiler tags). You also didn't say which loader you're using or what kind of storage drive the game is on. It could be the HDD going to sleep or just a bad disc.
     
    Last edited by GreyWolf, Jan 26, 2017
  9. Falligrecht

    Newcomer Falligrecht Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Germany
    Since neek2o doesn't support priiloader anymore: Is there a way for blocking updates when booting n2o?



    Edit:
    OK, I have finally found about that secret neek2o configuration menu, using (2) and multiple times (+).
     
    Last edited by Falligrecht, Feb 8, 2017
  10. Nogges

    Newcomer Nogges Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My Wii recognizes the hdd. No problems there. I can play games from my harddisk. But whenever I try to install a game with USB loader GX from a (original) disc, I get the error-message: "disc is not a wii or gamecube disc, please insert a wii disc of gamecube disc". I get this message with every disc I tried (all original games, not copies). The discs just work fine on the wii disc channel, to play them like normal. But installing them with USB loader GX doesn't seem to work.
    Anyone recognizes this issue? I can't find anything on this issue. And is there an easy fix?
     
  11. banjo2

    Member banjo2 A troll by night and a temper by day

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Try another tool such as CleanRip and see if you get the same results. Though I rip all my games through CFG USB Loader, and play them with WiiFlow. Though if you are specifically talking about using USBLGX to rip your games, then i'm not sure about that.
     
  12. Bullvine

    Newcomer Bullvine Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    My apologies if this has been asked before. After a week of searching, it seems I cannot find an answer anywhere.

    How does one use a custom banner in Wiiflow? At this point, I've tried many different possible solutions and none seem to work. With USB Loader GX, it is a relatively straight forward process: replace the cached banner with the custom banner and it works just fine. However, when I tried this with Wiiflow, the original banner continues to load.

    Any help?
     
  13. socialbacon

    Newcomer socialbacon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Canada
    It's hard to search for and find the answer, and I'm sure it's been asked many times, but here goes:

    What is the maximum external hard drive partition size that can be used to load GCN (Nintendont), WII (USB Loader GX), and roms (emulators), and whatever else, formatted to fat32?

    I want to purchase a WD My Passport or something like it. What is the max size the Wii can read?
     
    Last edited by socialbacon, Feb 15, 2017
  14. ca032769

    Member ca032769 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    Country:
    United States

    The Wii does not limit the size of HDD that can be used. The drive just needs to be properly formatted to work with the programs you want to use.

    I was using a WD My Book 4TB but have moved up to using a WD My Book 8TB formatted as MBR FAT32. I use CFG USB Loader, USB Loader GX & Nintendont to play most items. Working with Wii, GameCube & WW/VC. I have not messed with emulated NAND yet, but it should work.
     
  15. socialbacon

    Newcomer socialbacon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Canada
    Thank you for your reply. Is your drive partitioned at all? I've read in a few different places that FAT32 must be formatted into 2TB or smaller partitions. Is your 8TB My Book only one partition? I'd prefer to not have to partition my drive, it makes things way easier.
     
  16. John_Ice

    Member John_Ice GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Here we go! Mama mia!
    Country:
    United States
    You can partition your drive without problem, the important thing is the first partition which have to be Primary, MBR and FAT32. I'm using 2 partition, the first one is FAT32 and the second one is NTFS.
     
  17. NoSoul81

    Member NoSoul81 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    435
    Country:
    United States
    Last edited by NoSoul81, Feb 20, 2017
  18. ca032769

    Member ca032769 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the late reply, was busy for the Presidents Day Holiday. I'm using ONE 8TB MBR FAT32 partition on my WD 8TB MyBook.

    A previous link to a condensed version of how I did it: http://gbatemp.net/threads/usb-loader-gx.149922/page-1132#post-6662953
     
    socialbacon likes this.
  19. socialbacon

    Newcomer socialbacon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Canada
  20. Thad Boyd

    Newcomer Thad Boyd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    1611 Uranus Ave
    Country:
    United States
    So does this discussion mean that USB 3.0 drives are working okay for people now, as long as they're partitioned MBR/formatted FAT32?

    Because I've got an old USB 2.0 enclosure that frequently won't mount and makes me do the disconnect/reconnect/power-cycle dance, and I'm thinking of replacing it, but it's getting harder and harder to find a USB 2.0 drive anymore. (USB 2.0 enclosures, on the other hand, are easy enough to find, but I don't know which ones are reliable with a Wii.)
     
    Last edited by Thad Boyd, Feb 26, 2017

Share This Page