PSP Retro Emulators

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by wrettcaughn, Apr 30, 2010.

Apr 30, 2010

PSP Retro Emulators by wrettcaughn at 10:11 PM (110,151 Views / 4 Likes) 462 replies

  1. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried systematically disabling your plugins?
     


  2. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, I'll get back to you on that one.
     
  3. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, it worked. Thanks Xist!
     
  4. Storm101

    Newcomer Storm101 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    Anybody have experience with Banjo-Kazooie: Grunty's Revenge for GBA? It always crashes on gpSPkai, but it seems to work on gpSP-J. I just want to know if maybe it starts having problems later into the game.
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,426
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Emulation_on_PSP

    someone went through and reorganized the article. i added a few missing things, fixed the placement of the virtual boy, and then alpha-ordered the article. some sections were left blank, i added content when i could and removed the rest until a later date. i'm assuming the updater will come back to make final adjustments.

    -another world
     
    Boriar and 431unknown like this.
  6. nukeboy95

    Member nukeboy95 Leave luck to heaven.

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    not sure
    Country:
    United States
    is there a way to play Mario paint on Snes9xTYLmecm??
     
  7. Bortz

    Global Moderator Bortz This is now a spider-man thread

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,323
    Location:
    USSR
    Country:
    United States
    I use this thread all the time. PSP master race.
     
    EZ-Megaman likes this.
  8. blaisedinsd

    Member blaisedinsd GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    882
    Country:
    United States
    I am trying the SNES9x emulator and I placed some of my snes roms in the rom folder but they don't show up for me to select them. Do they have to be have a certain extension to show up?

    It reports an error with the memory stick. There should be no problem with it, it's brand new official that I bought with the system at Target and formatted in the PSP and everything else reads fine.
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Try hitting triangle a few times to go back to the root, then navigate to the ROMs folder yourself.
     
  10. blaisedinsd

    Member blaisedinsd GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    882
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I tried that. I can navigate to the rom folder but nothing shows up there. When I hook it up to the computer all the roms show up fine.
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    They're not zipped or anything, are they?
     
  12. blaisedinsd

    Member blaisedinsd GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    882
    Country:
    United States
    So even when deleting all the Roms the emulator still was reporting some Emory stick error so I tried another emulator and had the same issue of them not showing up.

    I figured out I have to change the rom to .smc file extensions and then they show up and work. I am kind of disappointed with the quality of the snes emulation though. I expected more coming from dstwo emulators and its really not significantly better.
     
  13. Count Duckula

    Member Count Duckula .

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Country:
    Australia
    Unfortunately it takes more power than the PSP has to emulate a lot of SNES games well. SuperGnes on android runs things like starfox/stunt race fx/yoshi's island full speed on my htc one, I believe there was slowdown on my older SGS2 with the same emu however. Speedhacks might help but can introduce timing issues etc.
     
  14. blaisedinsd

    Member blaisedinsd GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    882
    Country:
    United States
    Is SNES emulation on a PS2 better?
     
  15. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Most definitely not. The actual "homebrew" that is worth using on the PS2 is woefully limited.
     
    Count Duckula likes this.
  16. blaisedinsd

    Member blaisedinsd GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    882
    Country:
    United States
    Really? I was thinking of setting it up to play ps2 games over the network, I heard this works pretty good. I have had zero success doing ps2 emulation on my computers so I was thinking this may be the best solution for me to be able to play ps2 backups
     
  17. Metoroid0

    Member Metoroid0 No more panic attacks Ridley!

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    K-2L
    Country:
    Japan
    What is THE best SNES emulator for PSP to date? i want to download one and play Donkey Kong :D
     
  18. johnny-sasaki

    Newcomer johnny-sasaki Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm using UO gpSP Kai 3.4 Test 3 Build 152(downloaded here at gbatemp) but I can't play Mortal Kombat Tournament Edition and Double Dragon Advance,I only get a white screen.I tried lots of different configurations on the emulator menu and no results.Are those two games pretty much unplayable on PSP?No way to play them?so far,I managed to play lots of other GBA games except those two.
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You could try the other emulator linked in the article.
     
  20. johnny-sasaki

    Newcomer johnny-sasaki Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Brazil
    I tried all the emulators on the wikia,and both Mortal Kombat Tournament Edition and Double Dragon Advance are still the only ones that don't run.Everything else I tested,worked fine.Is there any AT ALL to play them on the PSP?
     

Share This Page