PS3 upgrade from CFW 3.55 KMEAW to 4.30 Rogero - Questions

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by madridi4ever, Dec 17, 2012.

Dec 17, 2012
    • Member

    madridi4ever Card Collector

    Member Since:
    May 9, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,106
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    Hey guys,

    I'm about to attemp the upgrade from CFW 3.55 to CFW 4.30, but I have some questions:

    - What's the deal with CEX/DEX and whatever other acronyms there are? All I know is that my PS3 model is slim (CECH-2504B)

    - Should I install the PUP directly? or are there steps I should follow? I assume the steps are for those who need to downgrade their PS3s and deal with dehashing and stuff? or is there something that I have to enable before (or even after) installation, such as enabling QA flags or LV1 checks or something

    - If I attempt the upgrade, will I lose all content on the HDD? Save games, all games I have dumped, and trophies. Would I lose any of these? I really don't want to redump all of these again!

    - Anything else I should be aware of?

    Any help would be great!

    Thanks :)
  1. geishroy
    This message by geishroy has been removed from public view by raulpica, Dec 17, 2012, Reason: Rude -rp.
    Dec 17, 2012
    • Member

    madridi4ever Card Collector

    Member Since:
    May 9, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,106
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    There is no need to be rude. I'm in search of some information, that's all. Rogero step by step guides exists and I'm fully aware of that. But that's not what I'm after. From what I read, some steps are only required for downgrading (which in my case, does not apply to me) such as dehashing. It does not hurt to get some input from the community. You never know if someone had discovered a bug along the way, or those "unrequired steps" are still preferable.

    Remember that one wrong step might actually brick your console, and then people will go: you should have asked before you attempted to do anything.

    I'm not a complete noob, I've just been away from the PS3 scene for a while.
    I'm fully aware you can play all games on 3.55 by patching them (and that's how I played my copy of FFXIII-2), but the better solution is just to have a clean rip of the game

    That also doesn't answer the 3rd bullet point I had asked about

    Thank you for the link, but there is no need for the attitude. If "google it" was the answer to everything, then there wouldn't be any need for these forums besides the news section.
    • Member

    leic7 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Message Count:
    257
    Country:
    Canada
    User 'Sandbug' from this forum had a guide for the procedure: http://psx-scene.com/forums/f118/rogero-cfw-how-107499/
    At the time it's written it's for upgrading to CFW 4.21, but the procedure applies to CFW 4.30, too.

    Unless you know how to make your own patch for games, you'll find that some of the newer games don't have patches available for CFW 3.55, such as Black Knight Sword.

    BTW, does anyone here know how to patch new PSN games for CFW 3.55?
    madridi4ever likes this.
    • Member

    Twiffles танковые победы

    Member Since:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    You can just install the update PUP from the XMB, if you want to. The safer way is to go back to 3.55 OFW before doing that, but it doesn't really matter that much. Just remember to dehash if you downgraded to get to 3.55 beforehand. Nothing will be lost when you update, but anything patched for 3.55 will need to have their original eboots and stuff put back in order to work on 4.30. Also remember to update to the latest Multiman before going through with this, just in case.
    madridi4ever likes this.
  2. geishroy
    This message by geishroy has been removed from public view by raulpica, Dec 17, 2012, Reason: Rude -rp.
    Dec 17, 2012
    • Member

    madridi4ever Card Collector

    Member Since:
    May 9, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,106
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    Thanks, that guide still mentions rehashing though, which I don't think I need on my console? I never went past 3.55
    • Member

    madridi4ever Card Collector

    Member Since:
    May 9, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,106
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    A very helpful post! Thanks.
    Thoughts:
    - going back to 3.55 OFW will remove everything I have installed correct? Or would it be intact but just not playable or even accessible?
    - no need for rehashing if my console never went past 3.55. Right?
    - thanks for the info about patched games needing to be clean again. Luckily, only FFXIII-2 is patched.
    - latest multiman (and creating a NAND dump), check :)

    So, install QA flag, then CFW 4.30 PUP, and that's it? Anything else I might have overlooked? Anything else preferable to have after or before installation?

    Thanks!
    • Member

    shakirmoledina Legend

    Member Since:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Message Count:
    6,584
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    another question since i am on the same level as madrid from qatar... kifak ya akh.
    does upgrading solve the hdmi issue. my hdmi is not detected at all as if there is no connection. hardware broken or short circuit?
    • Member

    madridi4ever Card Collector

    Member Since:
    May 9, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,106
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    Ana Bkhair, and I hope you are as well :)
    hmmm I don't think that has anything to do with upgrading. It seems to be a HDMI cable issue, or maybe even hardware issue or compatibility with the TV?
    I could be wrong though..

    Edit: Does anyone a link to the toggle QA.PKG? For some reason I'm not able to find it
    Last edited by madridi4ever, Dec 17, 2012
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,495
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Some answers, and some questions from my part too:

    - going back to 3.55 OFW will remove everything I have installed correct? Or would it be intact but just not playable or even accessible?
    Intact, just not playable.

    - no need for rehashing if my console never went past 3.55. Right?
    That's what I think too, but someone suggested me to do it nevertheless (I'm on 3.41). I think it's only to "clean" the information that it downgraded.

    - thanks for the info about patched games needing to be clean again.
    I didn't know that, thanks for the info too :)

    - latest multiman (and creating a NAND dump)
    It's required before updating because 4.30 doesn't have a "install package" menu anymore.
    Latest multiMAN added one.

    So, install QA flag, then CFW 4.30 PUP, and that's it?
    To install QA flag, can you do it in Kmeaw?
    You may require to install rebug first?

    a question from me:
    You can install the pup from XMB? a guide said to use the recovery menu to install cfw
    I guess the recovery menu is only needed if it's not working on XMB, like when downgrading or installing the same version of the firmware? XMB is perfectly fine when upgrading, right?
    madridi4ever likes this.
    • Member

    madridi4ever Card Collector

    Member Since:
    May 9, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,106
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    Hey Cyan,

    Thanks for your reply. I just finished updating my PS3, and all went well
    - Rehashing is not needed for me. I never downgraded my system. Where you on a version higher than 3.41? In that case, I would suggest rehashing it just in case
    - Thanks for the info about multiman, I didn't know that 4.30 removed install a package. Good thing I updated it before I upgraded the firmware
    - Yes, I was able to install QA toggle and run it successfully in Kmeaw. I didn't install rebug at any point in my life :)
    - I've read several places that you do not need to install from recovery, and that it is only as a last resort (like you mentioned). I went ahead and installed mine from the XMB, all went fine :)

    Now, I have what should hopefully be the last question:
    Is there anything I should notice off while I'm online? I've heard people mention FuckPSN, and I heard people mentioning a ban, and I also heard that I should use the stealth version of multiman?
    Can you explain to me what's with that? Because I'm able to go online just fine without FuckPSN or anything. I didn't play online. I just synced my trophies, and checked out the store.
    Is there something I should do to prevent any problems regarding online?

    Thanks
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,495
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    thank you for telling the result :)
    That's good news, enjoy your new cfw.

    I don't have a PSN account so I'm not expert here.
    I think fuckPSN obfuscate your consoleID (along with other data, like your current fw version) to prevent a console ban as they don't know which consoleID to ban.
    But using a zero'ed consoleID is maybe more noticeable than a regular connection, no?

    Of course, they certainly have other mean to detect hacked/cfw consoles connecting to their server.

    Someone else will probably help you more than me regarding online features.
    madridi4ever likes this.
    • Member

    madridi4ever Card Collector

    Member Since:
    May 9, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,106
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    Thanks Cyan, You should try updating yours as well. I've seen that you have been hesitant :)

    Thanks for the information, I'll look into it. Meanwhile, I hope someone else can shed some light on this :)
    • Member

    shakirmoledina Legend

    Member Since:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Message Count:
    6,584
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    me too cuz i heard some tried to upgrade and got a brick due to not rehashing it correctly. thats what i am scared of and besides, the only reason for me to upgrade is hdmi resolution which i dont think is going to happen as you said. maybe a system restore will work but i need to backup first.
    • Member

    Twiffles танковые победы

    Member Since:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    You don't actually need to do anything special to go online/sync trophies/buy things from the PSN store. There's always that risk of getting banned, but from what I've seen, the only morons getting banned on 4.30 Rogero are silly kids playing CoD and hosting hacked lobbies. (Apparently Treyarch has a way to detect CFW or something.)

    mM Stealth is for the extra paranoid. Having that means you won't have a icon present in the XMB, thus giving the impression that you're not on CFW. By having it like this, it sends off to Sony and stuff that you're playing ______ game when you go into it when you're obviously not. As a FYI, mM stealth actually has compatibilty issues with some games that aren't present in regular mM. It's all up to your personal preference what you want to use at the end of the day, really.
    madridi4ever likes this.
    • Member

    madridi4ever Card Collector

    Member Since:
    May 9, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,106
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    Another excellent post Twiffles. This cleared everything up except for 1 small thing:
    What's the purpose of fuckPSN? why do I see posts of people using it while we can connect normally?
    Thanks again for all clarification. It really helped :)
    • Member

    Twiffles танковые победы

    Member Since:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    fuckPSN was made so one can spoof their firmware to go online. Aimed at those that are on 3.41/3.55/4.21 CFWs.

    Rogero's 3.55 CFW had similar spoofing natively, but ever since the LV0 keys were found he was able to make a proper 4.30 CFW. In 4.30 v2.03 he spoofs it to 4.31, but the passphrase for PSN remained the same in OFW so nothing really changed, and thus anyone on his 4.30 CFW can go online normally. At least until Sony changes the passphrase again.
    Last edited by Twiffles, Dec 18, 2012
    madridi4ever likes this.
    • Member

    madridi4ever Card Collector

    Member Since:
    May 9, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,106
    Location:
    Doha
    Country:
    Qatar
    Amazing info. I knew 2.03 was spoofed to 4.31, thanks for filling in the gaps.
    Thanks again for your help! Much appreciated
    • Newcomer

    Patrick444 New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    OK guys, I hope I can get some help and info on a problem I'm having. I was on rogero 4.30 since that version came out. Well, something went wrong. system needed to rebuild and format before anything else. I'm thinking hard drive failure but it wasn't the case. so I go ahead cus I have no choice, and system reverts back to 4.21! not sure if its ofw cus I can still install pkg files but I just get black screens with every install.
    so I assume ill just go back from scratch and downgrade to 3.55, toggle, upgrade to 4.30v2. Every time I do this however, it(the update) is corrupted. I'm at a stand still here. Ive searched for other similar files to make sure they're not corrupted but ps3 says it every time. I don't understand why it would be ofw 4.21 if it really is at all.
    • Member

    trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Member Since:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,160
    Country:
    United States
    Did you happen to have a disc inside while messing the firmware?

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page