PS3 Softmod Guide - cFW3.55

Discussion in 'PS3 - Tutorials & FAQs' started by Zorua, Feb 28, 2011.

Feb 28, 2011

PS3 Softmod Guide - cFW3.55 by Zorua at 4:04 AM (184,454 Views / 1 Likes) 394 Comments

    • Member

    ankc New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Message Count:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    Hi Cyan

    thanks for your answer :)

    as you said it is possible to install CFW 4.30/4.31 but the current guide is based on CFW 3.55 and I heard here and there that 3.55 is the best as you might not be able to downgrade above it(unless you use an E3 flasher). so how do I play the newer games if I want to stick to 3.55?

    Thanks


    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,609
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    There are different way to play new games requiring a higher firmware:

    1. install a CFW equal or higher (there's no big sticky tutorial to update to 4.x on gbatemp, but it's still evolving. Someone might write one once it's easier/more straightforward to install).
    It's not hard to do if you really want to update, and you can downgrade without hardware flasher if you followed the guides correctly (you need to start at 3.55 to add a debug menu to allow software downgrade later, then update and the debug menu will still be there)

    2. Wait for someone (usually released groups) to release a patch/fix for the game to work on older firmware (usually 3.40+). The file are decrypted and re-signed for 3.40

    3. Do the above patching yourself. You need the 4.x keys and a program to decrypt the files, then sign them with the known private 3.40/3.55keys
    Then when you launch a game from a higher firmware, multiMAN ask you if you want to patch the file setting for that game (PARAM.SFO) which contains the required firmware version. it will replace the value "4.x" by "3.40" (you can even to it manually in your computer, but multiMAN does it for you).

    Recent games have another firmware version check directly into the executable in addition to the PARAM.SFO file.
    but new version of multiMAN can patch it too.
    • Member

    ankc New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Message Count:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    Thanks clears things up :)
    • Newcomer

    LittleRedRidingH New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Message Count:
    41
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Most of the files are down :closedeyes:
    • Newcomer

    LittleRedRidingH New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Message Count:
    41
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where can I get OFW 3.55? The link is dead.
    • Newcomer

    LittleRedRidingH New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Message Count:
    41
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ALSO the link for MultiMan is dead
    • Newcomer

    urskog New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    7
    Country:
    Sweden
    Have a virgin 4.31 slim PS3 here I'm looking to install CFW on.
    Which version(s) out there are safe to use?
    I find a couple when I google search but none are on sites I trust (like this one), any tips for me?

    EDIT: The one from ps3jail.com seems to be the one most people say is working, even on OFW 4.31.
    Can anyone confirm?

    EDIT2: And now I find that the "CFW" from ps3jail.com is actually just the OFW so now CFW at all :/
    Last edited by urskog, Feb 10, 2013
    • Member

    trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Member Since:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,240
    Country:
    United States
    You cannot install CFW on virgin (OFW) 4.31, period.

    What is your Slim model? Depending on the model you can buy and use E3 Flasher to downgrade to 3.55 and go on from there.
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,609
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    You can check if the custom firmware you found is a known and legit one, (or if the cfw you created yourself from an ofw+patch is correctly patched) with PS3 PUP Check
    Thanks to the extensive md5 hash from Aldo's tools website :)
    • Newcomer

    urskog New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    7
    Country:
    Sweden
    Seems like my only 2 viable options are:
    1: Wait until 4.31 possibly gets hacked
    2: Use an E3 flasher
    And option 2 is the more likely one, expensive stuff thou :)
    • Member

    snakepliskin2334 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Message Count:
    226
    Country:
    United States
    i found a video if people find watching it easy
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,609
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I wouldn't recommend a youtube tutorial (in general), and even less when it's only showing the TV screen all the time without future supports and better explanations. but, it's up to the user to decide if he wants to take the risk to follow a random video which is not even made for what he is looking for.
    That video is initially for GeoHot Custom Firmware 3.55, some CFW can be installed like that, and other might require the recovery menu.
    • Member

    blaisedinsd New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Message Count:
    851
    Country:
    United States
    I have a phat ps3 so my understanding is that it is hack able. I am wondering though if there are downsides to hacking, would I be blocked from psn or online play? I have playstation plus so that is a deal breaker.
    • Member

    jing90 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Message Count:
    186
    Country:
    Italy
    no you won't be blocked from playing online, you only need to stay on the most recent cfw or have a spoofer.
    • Member

    blaisedinsd New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Message Count:
    851
    Country:
    United States
    So it looks like the hardware to downgrade the PS3 to a hackable firmware is pretty expensive.

    Couldn't I just use 3k3y?

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page