PS3 Being Slow

Discussion in 'PS3 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by THEacekardFREAK1, Jun 23, 2012.

Jun 23, 2012

PS3 Being Slow by THEacekardFREAK1 at 5:17 AM (4,954 Views / 0 Likes) 36 Comments

    • Reporter

    Foxi4 Tinkeink ov fst.

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    18,737
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Remove the drive from the PS3 then and depending on the make, download the corresponding factory tool (Seatools for Maxtor and Seagate, Data Lifeguard for Western Digital etc.) or a third party utility like Hiren's Boot CD, create bootable CD of it, connect the HDD to the PC, boot into the utility and perform Full Diagnostics, followed by a Zero-Fill. Repeat the process until you stop seeing changes in the Bad Sector count. If the drive fails to pass the test after 2-5 tries, it's on its last legs and will keel over soon. Good luck.


    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Ok then will do. Thanks for your time and help.
    • Member

    Coto Challenge Taken.

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,074
    Country:
    Chile
    When games are lagging like mad, usually is the HDD "reading" or "seeking". I just got this 3 days ago and I lost everything. The same 640GB HDD (disabled power saving through editing S.M.A.R.T features) giving issues is right now working like a charm from a notebook running W7.

    Seems sony takes a small % for OtherOS (linux) and the rest is given as system partition. 650GB were 590GB which thanks to this were only 530GB as HPS and the rest given as OtherOS. I too thought that a drive shouldn't have any issues but after googling 640GB on PS3 a lot of users had these sympthoms (HDDs lagging like mad).

    This is based off my experience, and frankly a PS3 with a 250GB is just fine. (3.55)
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. By any chance is that 640GB HDD 7200RPM? I've heard people having problems with 7200RPM Drives and my WD Scorpio Blue is 7200RPM as well.
    • Member

    Coto Challenge Taken.

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,074
    Country:
    Chile
    Yes, 640GB 7200rpm Toshiba 16MB caché. It's a small monster... such a shame it isn't working (after quick and full format, it came straight from an external 640GB USB drive)..

    the 250GB installed on PS3 is 5400rpm 8MB caché only. It's working 100% fine (GT5, GTA4,SF IV streamed from disk, don't ask how hahaha) zero lags under heavy HDD use.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    So yeah I'm thinking that 7200RPM Drives don't work well with the PS3. Such a shame. 500GB Would be an awesome amount of space. Well thanks for your help.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Ok guys so I used Hiren's BootCD, that Foxi4 recommended, and used it on the 500GB HDD and it would not scan for errors. It would start and end a split second later and an error message saying that the drive could be damaged. So I just left it alone. Should I just get rid of the HDD because it's toast?
    • Member

    Coto Challenge Taken.

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,074
    Country:
    Chile
    Was this drive recognized under the computer's BIOS? was the HDD led stuck while doing anything like reading/writing? If so, yeah, it's busted, and you should consider getting a new one.
    (that error could be caused too by an unsupported SATA chipset, it happened to me twice)

    You should try using other tools, like acronis or partition tragic to see if those can build partitions/move data on this HDD.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Ok will try although I'm really thinking this drive is busted. Thanks.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    I'm still not exactly sure whether I should format or not. I forgot to mention that Black Ops also has problems such as during zombies, whether it be online or solo, it would freeze for a few seconds after a while, and sometimes when using Sniper Rifles in multiplayer and I use the scope there is nothing like no circle with crosshairs it's as if i just zoomed in front of me and it's very hard to aim because of the lack of crosshairs. Sometimes it looks like I'm holding an invisible weapon when I get a new weapon in zombies. People are saying that it is a Blu-Ray Drive issue but it also lags during HDD games so I'm not very sure. If it is the Blu-Ray Drive i don't have enough money to cover a repair or replacement and what would I do to diagnose if it's the drive and not the HDD? DVDs play just fine. Help is very much appreciated at this point.
    [EDIT] Also why does "diagnose" have a link to filetrip? I can't remove it.
    • Member

    Coto Challenge Taken.

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,074
    Country:
    Chile
    look, if possible, try using an external USB disk and use the system backup option you have under Settings tab. It'll backup all PS3 games,trophies, accounts, etc. By what you're saying the HDD must be busted, or fragmented like mad (this happens when you turn off the PS3 unexpectedly, not using the power button and waiting to go to standby).

    Once you're done, enter factory/service mode (a quick google search will tell you what is it), and try rebuilding the database.

    FACTORY MODE SETTINGS:

    • Restart System: Restarts the PLAYSTATION®3 System. (cold reboot)
    • Restore Default Settings: Reset all system settings back to default. (erases user profile/system settings and builds a new one from ground up)
    • Restore File System: Checks for corrupt/missing system files. (sort of scandisk, and will check/fix HDD if possible)
    • Rebuild Database: Rebuilds the OS for the PLAYSTATION®3. (PS3 deals with a database system, caching most settings from there. Building a new database prevents excessive loading times)
    • Restore PS3 System: Fresh restore; Deletes everything and starts from Scratch.
    • System Update: Update the PLAYSTATION®3 System

    now, careful because if you do important system changes while it's malfunctioning, the HDD (or the HPS partition) may be unrecoverable, thus, PS3 system asking you to re-format the drive to "fix" it, and you'll lose everything- So, it's important to denote, if you mess with these settings, do a full system backup first.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    I wouldn't mind doing a full format because i backup my saves regularly and I'll just redownload my stuff on PSN. But I need to know how to check if my blu-ray drive failing.
    • Member

    Coto Challenge Taken.

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,074
    Country:
    Chile
    If you format and reinstall any system firmware some games won't read savegames built on another HDD/PS3 system and/or trophies won't work if saves come from another HDD/console (HDD is tied to PS3).

    Why do I insist so much being the HDD the culprit here? because I had the exact same issues, but in my case the HDD had power saving (from the HDD itself) and the larger 640GB capacity. PS3 begun lagging like mad on most apps, my blueray unit is in mint condition as I've seen DVD movies/Blueray, even PS1 backups, but it lagged running FIFA 2010 from BD... just when data had to be retrieved from HDD (music,background voices, etc stuttered and became silent every 3 secs);

    I was like what the hell the disc is new, no scratches or so, also because it ran perfectly fine with the stock 120GB HDD the ps3 had before. After I put a 250GB HDD 8MB cache 5400rpm, all problems have magically gone. And i'm telling you, I have already over 160GB of data right now inside the PS3 HDD without a single issue on XMB/Multiman/emus/network share.

    So in short, yes, the drive was causing issues when it'd seek read/write data (the orange led lit), and since you say you have those lags til ps3 stutters on audio/video (games from PSN/BD/etc), it's clear. Also, if the BD unit were to be bad, you'd have stuttering only when playing from BD, but not from games downloaded through PSN (they live inside the HDD and they don't require any Bluray Disc set in the BD unit).

    Sorry the long post, but I hope things are more clear for you.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. Yeah the problem is in my 160GB drive. So I guess I'll do a format just wanted to make sure my Blu-ray drive was ok.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for such a late reply and bump but my PS3 still isn't working. HDD formatted a few months back (didn't have time to post cuz of school) and it took 9 hours to complete and it's still so slow and can't play games very well. Guess I'm gonna need to buy a new hard drive.
    • Reporter

    Qtis Grey Knight Tech-Priest

    Member Since:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,305
    Location:
    Fortress Monastery Titan
    Country:
    Finland
    Just a point that I'd like to input (without having time to read the rest of the posts). I upgraded my stock 160 GB to a 1TB HDD just a few days ago. The main reason was that I didn't have even 1 GB free on the original. It has sped up my PS3 a huge amount, probably due to extra space available if needed. New 500-1000 GB HDDs don't cost that much anymore (roughly $50-100) so you'd be good to go with one of those. If you happen to want a cheaper one, go for a 250GB or 320GB.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Alright that sounds like a good idea. I'll look around for some reasonably priced HDDs during Christmas sales. Don't need too much space just a new hard drive so I can even play. So far I've been using my cousin's PS3 Phat which he has had for about 5-6 years now and is in perfect condition. Thanks.
    Last edited by THEacekardFREAK1, Dec 23, 2012

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page