PS3 Being Slow

Discussion in 'PS3 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by THEacekardFREAK1, Jun 23, 2012.

Jun 23, 2012

PS3 Being Slow by THEacekardFREAK1 at 5:17 AM (5,173 Views / 0 Likes) 36 Comments

    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys me again. I finally got around to asking for help. Ok so my PS3 is acting slow. None of the symptoms seems to have happened until after I played
    Skyrim a few days after it came out and I'm not sure if that's what caused it. Audio problems are the most out of all these. So here are the symptoms.

    - PS3 usually takes a while to boot up than normal.
    -Games take this slowdown differently. A few examples below.
    1. GTA IV- Music cuts off during intro. Audio cuts off during cutscenes. When driving too fast, textures start to disappear and/or freezes for a few seconds.
    Phone takes a while to pop up and using certain cheats freezes the game for a few seconds then activates the cheat. (weapons and vehicles)
    Also my Profile save files (the one that saves the options) sometimes gets corrupted causing me to have to change my settings again.
    2. Red Dead Redemption- Same audio issues as GTA IV. When riding too fast on my horse, my horse stops for a few seconds and starts appearing
    a few feet forward every few seconds until I hold L1 to stop my horse then it's back to normal and sometimes my horse clips through mountains and
    after a few seconds of trying to move I will reappear somewhere else on the map usually far away from where I clipped. (clipping happened only once but
    likely to happen again.)
    3. Skyrim and Fallout 3 seem to be slow and freeze occasionally even with the new update for Skyrim.
    -XMB acts slow in certain areas: Saves, Game Data, and PSN Store.

    I have tried using the Recovery Menu and used option 3 many times. I have also used option 4 many times too. I am also on the latest PS3 update.
    I'm not sure if this has to do with my hard drive and if I should do a quick/full format. What do you guys think?
    Forgot to mention I have a PS3 Slim 160GB.


    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone? Can't seem to find any similar results on google or anything.
    • Member

    Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Member Since:
    May 30, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure about the problem, but is it still under warranty? If so it's worth getting a replacement.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    I got it about 2 years ago. I don't think it us under warranty any longer. I thought of that but it seems that things go wrong after the warranty goes out.
    Should I do a quick/full format or get a new HDD?
    • Member

    DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Member Since:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
    If you are not under warranty
    Backup ur saves.
    Do a full format and wait for it. Takes tons of hours for it to do it. And why not quick? Because when something similar happend to my second PS3, the quick format didint help at all. Though you can however try which i highly doubt it will help at all.
    Turn on again and update it like usual. Transfer back your saves and it should by now be fixed

    If you are under warranty
    Backup ur saves
    Send it back. They most likely do the same anyways.... At worst case they either give you a full payback for the price you bought it or give you a new one, Im not sure if this is the same for all countries, but it should be. My friend had a problem which i dont know what it is, but they were not able to fix it apparantly and just gave him his money back for the full price he bought it. Then he bought a new one(He had fat).

    If you are under warrant but want to solve it urself instead of waiting.
    Do what i wrote first

    Im not guaranteeing it will work after doing a DIY, but atleast you tried :yay:
    EDIT: FAil.... posted halfway done.. editing it to finish what i was writing
    EDIT2: Done.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Cool. I might do the full format and stuff because I'm not under warranty which sucks. I was thinking of doing the quick format before but a quick format just marks
    all the files as "deleted" but doesn't actually remove files that could be corrupted or damaged. If all doesn't work just gotta get some cash and by me a new HDD. Thanks for the help.
    • Member

    DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Member Since:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
    Nice! Be sure to report back for results. It might help others in the future!
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Will do. Gonna suck downloading my game data and dlcs back though but at least it should be fixed. Also another question since PSN changed the activations on one account, should I deactivate my PS3 from my account and then format and reactivate it or just format and the activation stays the same?
    • Member

    DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Member Since:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
    Wait is the PSN accounts console bound? I thought they were profile bound???(The one you pick at start)
    Either that or im misunderstanding big time. Last time i did a full format(around january) i simply just relogged on to my PSN after the HDD was wiped clean. Nothing else.
    Well lets say i get what you say. My course of action would just let it be the same since nothing will really change, It will basically be when you first booted up ur PS3. Everything like its unique code or anything like that should stay the same. If you where changing PS3 however i would do the other method. But like i said. Im not exactly understanding what you mean by this activation.

    EDIT: And im hitting bed now. If you do respond to this. You will need to wait 7-9 hours for a response.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Ok then. Sounds like you got it. Alright Full format around tomorrow.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    K guys reviving my old thread here haha. Well I didn't format my hard drive just yet but I have a new question that has arrived. So my sister had a broken laptop due to a corrupted hard drive (500GB WD Scorpio Blue) so i formatted it and tried using it on my PS3. I was trying to do a full format and it got around 5% and it gave me:
    Code:
    "An error occurred during the format operation. (8002F271)" 

    So I had to unplug my PS3 and put my original back in. I was wondering if that means it's damaged. Also it gave me a fear of my original HDD doing the same thing during formatting. :unsure: Will this happen to my original or am I just paranoid from this situation? The reason I didn't format the original yet is cuz if this HDD fails on me I don't have any others or any cash. Thanx in advance.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Anybody? Should I format my harddrive or try the 500GB again?
    • Member

    Coto Challenge Taken.

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,088
    Country:
    Chile
    I'll tell you... a PS3 using a 500GB+ hdd will cause you issues (I've tried a 640GB and the disk was lagging like hell while used on PS3. I had to reformat yet still had those issues, so I've put a 250GB HDD in there and no problems at ALL, trust me.).

    Those slowdowns you experienced could have been caused by a dying HDD (the 160GB you had first) hence the slowdown. Most issues happen when you access factory service mode (those listing 6 options, re-install firmware, rebuild database, etc) you try to rebuild the database (will flush the latest XMB cached data, saves, etc then rebuild a new one with the current data inside the hard disk), then right after you begin it'll stop by saying "system files are corrupted, you must format and reinstall firmware".

    My advice: Backup everything you can because a new drive (new firmware, new harddisk) will wipe everything, and some games won't even be able to import saves from another HDD/PS3 unit where they've been created.

    So, if you want to keep your files/data/trohpies even if you re-install a new firmware:

    - Buy a 250, 320GB hdd WITHOUT known shitware bundled (auto-sleep, hard disk power management, etc)

    - Try doing a system backup (from XMB, system config tab) by plugging a SATA /USB HDD to one of your PS3 ports, wait for it to finish, then when you're done, remove the old 160GB HDD then swap with the a new HDD (not the one you did the backup...), but a new one as it'll be completely used by PS3.

    - Access factory service mode, use the same HDD you did the backup to re-install the newest FW (4.20 up today, during installation you'll need a source USB HDD to stream the fw update), then if the system ask you to format the new HDD installed (inside the PS3), select YES.

    - When the FW setup is done, you'll be greted by Sony's XMB. Go to config-setup tab again, system config, choose system restore and use the same external USB you did to backup your data when you used the old 120GB HDD.

    Good luck! english's not my main language! xD
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Cool. Will do. But so far I don't have any cash for a new HDD (which sux). Should I do a full format of my 160GB or will it come up with that error like the 500GB. And for some reason I cannot find any info for that error on google. Seems like most people don't have that issue. Thanks.
    [EDIT] Also I checked the Model number for the WD Scorpio Blue HDD and it is a 7200RPM Drive. Do 7200RPM Drives cause more problems than the original 5400RPM Drives in the PS3?
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 Shotgun to the face is not a contingency plan.

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    19,537
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    It doesn't sound like an HDD issue at all Read the later posts and since you have a format failure then it probably is an HDD issue after all.

    It may also be the BluRay drive that's working out-of-order if the games have problems loading, it could be the memory that's overheating, it could be first symptoms of the chipset starting to overheat, it could be just about anything but it's unlikely that it's the drive.

    If I were you, I would try to boot a game off that HDD and check if the symptoms surface as well - at least you'll rule out the BluRay issue. Next, check if the PS3 isn't abnormally hot.

    If the Wii can handle 500GB+ drives over USB, the PS3 shouldn't have any issues at all with doing the same over the original built-in port. It's the first time I've ever heard of PS3's being fussy over HDD's due to their capacity.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Yes games on the HDD are slow too. I have Dead Nation and inFAMOUS (From the PSN Outage Welcome Back Package) and Dead Nation has audio problems like music cutting off and dialog cutting off. inFAMOUS has slowdown and audio issues too. So I'm thinking it is the HDD. Blu-Ray drive seems just fine. Movies have no slowdown whatsoever unless they are the hard drive. Also it doesn't seem to get very hot just a normal PS3 hotness. Tested with my friend who brought his PS3 Slim over (same as mine) and his works really good and gets hot as well but thats because PS3 Slim's have their power brick inside the case. But yeah no abnormal heating issues.
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 Shotgun to the face is not a contingency plan.

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    19,537
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I see. Did you just try formatting it? Perhaps it's fragmented beyond belief? A full-format (zero-fill) should fix any issues concerning the drive and its fragmentation.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah that's what I wanted to do but I'm wondering if I'll come up with the same error like the 500GB drive or if the error was just because the 500GB drive was damaged.
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 Shotgun to the face is not a contingency plan.

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    19,537
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Basic HDD knowledge tells you that their performance depends on their fragmentation and bad sector count, and those are mostly dependant on how the HDD was used and for how long without breaks. Even seemingly irrelevant things like turning the PS3 off while it's still turning the spindle or keeping it in an upright rather than horizontal position take a toll on the HDD, as it's made to work in a horizontal position and putting it in any other position rapes the ball bearings... but I digress.

    My point is that you cannot do it more harm, and if it will improve readout speeds then good for you. If it doesn't, it may be damadged and you may have to remove it from the system for diagnostics.
    • Newcomer

    THEacekardFREAK1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    66
    Location:
    Cali of all fornias
    Country:
    United States
    Ok then I'll try doing a format sometime later when I have the time and patience. Hopefully all goes well. Also the 500GB drive was used in my sister's computer which broke because of the drive being damaged and couldn't even install ubuntu. I wanted to see if my PS3 could use it and it worked fine for a while like let's say 30 mins. After that games started getting a bit slow so I wanted to try a Full Format on the 500GB drive which after it hit 5% gave me an error about the format operation. Haven't formatted my 160GB yet though.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page