Probably will need to send ps3 in for warranty(question)

Discussion in 'PS3 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Tom, Nov 22, 2012.

Nov 22, 2012
    • Member

    Tom Gbatemp's Unofficial Modder

    Member Since:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Message Count:
    987
    Location:
    New jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Well my ps3 is most likley bricked and is under warranty so I will send it in(bricked via a bad HDD) Will they re-flash it or send me a new one? I want to be able to downgrade it later , so if they send me a new one then I can't Right? When My wii got bricked they sent me a new one instead(well, they replaced the Motherboard which Is essentially the same thing)
    • Member

    Magsor I am watching you

    Member Since:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    953
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    They will likely send you back your own PS3(I say 95%). But for the 5% that's left why don't you just try to fix it yourself if you know the problem and replacing your own HDD does not void the warranty.
    • Member

    Tom Gbatemp's Unofficial Modder

    Member Since:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Message Count:
    987
    Location:
    New jersey
    Country:
    United States
    I'm working on it, but if my HDD bad then they won't give me a new one unless I send it to them , if it isn't then it needs to be flashed
    • Member

    Tom Gbatemp's Unofficial Modder

    Member Since:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Message Count:
    987
    Location:
    New jersey
    Country:
    United States
    HDD's bad , If anyone has a laptop sata hdd ( like 20gb or something) they'd be willing to part with for 10 shipped that'd be awesome.
    • Reporter

    Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Member Since:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,213
    Location:
    Fortress Monastery Titan
    Country:
    Finland
    Usually the console will be updated with latest firmware and the parts that are broken will be changed. In this case, I'd say that they'll update your console instead of giving a new one out, since I'd assume Sony having the tools needed to reflash the console to original stock status.

Share This Page