Priiloader v0.7 vs. Priiloader v0.7 236 Mod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Mega Pirate, Jan 9, 2012.

Jan 9, 2012
    • Newcomer

    Mega Pirate New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Message Count:
    24
    Country:
    Mexico
    Whats the diffence between those two and which should be installed on a Wii for better protection?


    • Member

    DeadlyFoez Want Hell? Get married!!

    Member Since:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,043
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure the only difference between the 2 is just the installer, otherwise priiloader itself is still the exact same horribly programmed app.
    • Newcomer

    Mega Pirate New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Message Count:
    24
    Country:
    Mexico
    Then why does modmii want me to install the 236 mod when I have the regular one already installed.
    • Member

    burritoboy9984 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Message Count:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    When ahbprot is enabled they are identical. When ahbprot isn't enabled the default priiloader attempts to use IOS 36 to install. When the 236 version is used without ahbprot, IOS 236 is used to install.

    -Erik

    Edit: I guess I didn't really answer your question. ModMii doesn't know what you have or don't have installed. It just wants you to follow it's guide. If you reinstalled a SM while following the guide, it overwrote your previous priiloader install however, and you would want to install it again.
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,378
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    The application runs on the native system menu IOS, this IOS236 mod just uses IOS236 to install it and not IOS58+AHBPROT as burritoboy9984 said.
    • Member

    burritoboy9984 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Message Count:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    It can actually use ahbprot still. Just depends on how it is loaded (with or without ahbprot access).

    -Erik
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,378
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Interesting, good question why daco haven't added it like this by default.
    • Member

    burritoboy9984 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Message Count:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    When I asked him previously

    -Erik
    • Member

    DeadlyFoez Want Hell? Get married!!

    Member Since:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,043
    Country:
    United States
    Fixed!!
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,378
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    lol. Well yeah I have IOS36 patched too but really, IOS236 is just some great way in my opinion. Well, this is how daco thinks and we can't change it since we are not the devs of priiloader.
    • Member

    XFlak Considering Wii-tirement...

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    9,095
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I actually asked daco if he could re-release priiloader v0.7 but with davebaol's ahbprot network init. bugfix applied to the installer (instead of bundling TT's copywritten dvdx with his installer for his workaround method). He said he had already done it but wanted to wait to add more features before releasing it. Anyways, I asked jskyboo to have a stab at updating the priiloader installer code, and he got it working safely via ahbprot (using davebaol's workaround) and anyone can get it from here:

    http://nusad.googlecode.com/files/Priiloader-v0.7-Fix.zip
    http://nusad.googlecode.com/files/Priiloader-v0.7-Fix%2Bsource.zip

    there's no real benefit to using this over the priiloader 236 installer, it just means u can install priiloader before installing IOS236... but installing IOS236 isn't dangerous so there really isn't much difference.
    • Member

    DeadlyFoez Want Hell? Get married!!

    Member Since:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,043
    Country:
    United States
    WTF?!? Are you sure? Damn thats a rather crappy thing to do, but it honestly doesn't surprise me given his nature. What a dink.

    He probably justifies it to himself by thinking "Well everyone hacking their wii is just pirating games anyways".
    • Member

    XFlak Considering Wii-tirement...

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    9,095
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    yea, a little more info on priiloader v0.7+DVDx can be found here:
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/300936-priiloader-installer-and-darkcorp-question/page__view__findpost__p__3769549

    there was another thread where the handful of lines of code he borrowed were identified but I couldn't find it.
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,378
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Yep, this 'please wait while we init' means he uses AHBPROT to install a copy of DVDx, then installs priiloader and removes it again.
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,610
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Meh, I don't see what the big deal is. DVDX is public and I wouldn't hesitate to share links with others in a PM or something. You can't get DVDX from TT anymore.
    • Member

    DeadlyFoez Want Hell? Get married!!

    Member Since:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,043
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I am aware it is not open source, hence why XFlak used the term "Copyrighted". You don't see what the big deal is because it isn't your code. Although, knowing you, even if it was your code you would not give a shit because you'd be happy knowing that people are benefiting from using your code, but it would piss you off if someone shared your stuff without giving credit.... which is exactly what DacoShmuco is doing.
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,610
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, I didn't realize that. I am very much against using code without giving proper credit.

    Before anybody mentions it, I kept Settings Editor GUI closed source for awhile (except for devs who requested it via PM) just because I was kind of proud of it (I am a newbie, lol), and I didn't realize I was using code that wasn't part of libogc. I had originally intended to release the source after a couple weeks.

    I wouldn't share DVDX if it was still available from TT, but it's not, so I don't mind.
    • Member

    DeadlyFoez Want Hell? Get married!!

    Member Since:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,043
    Country:
    United States
    Oh but it is.... if you still have hackmii installer 0.6... like I do :D.... but I never bother using it.

    There is no good reason to use DVDx. Daco is just being a dink.
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,610
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Which isn't available from TT anymore. Besides, the version of DVDX that is good is from a much older version. It allows access to the SEEPROM for example.

    Well not anymore, but before the network bug was fixed it was obviously of some use.

    DVDX is good for people like me who still use legacy apps, but for the average user it is pointless.
    • Member

    DeadlyFoez Want Hell? Get married!!

    Member Since:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,043
    Country:
    United States
    Almost no one ever needs access to the eeprom. dop-mii gains access to it without using dvdx (afaik). MINI and ahbprot has certainly cut the need for using DVDX, hence why all legacy things have been deleted from wiibrew.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page