Pokemon Black or White w/ R4 III Upgrade w/ YSmenu

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by MasterSurfer, Oct 6, 2010.

Oct 6, 2010
    • Newcomer

    MasterSurfer New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    13
    Country:
    Germany
    For People w/ R4 III Upgrade Chip.

    Please download Pongs and Retros Update 6.31 and replace the r4patch.dat file in the ttmenu folder to play Pokemon Black or White on an R4 III Upgrade chip /w YSmenu.

    Here is the download:
    http://filetrip.net/f13249-R4patch-dat-%28...k-White%29.html

    Rename the downloaded file to r4patch.dat and copy it into the ttmenu folder on your sd-card.

    Please post feedback if it works (or not).

    greetings MasterSurfer
    • Member

    bitonio6 New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,801
    Country:
    Switzerland
    if i dont do mistake,
    you can use directly the DSTT kernel with your R4III, you just need to change "TTMENU.DAT" with "r4.dat" or something like that!

    For the compatibility of the game you want, i dont know if it is already fixed!
    • Newcomer

    MasterSurfer New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    13
    Country:
    Germany
    No!

    On a R4 III Chip you cannot simple replace the ttmenu.dat file. You must use the full release from pong and retro and replace the r4patch.dat file in order to play pokemon black and white.

    The R4 III chip dont use the ttpatch.dat file in the ttmenu-folder nor the ttmenu.dat file in the root directory.

    The R4 III chip cannot start the ttmenu.nds file (ttmenu.dat).

    Thats the problem. But w/ the posted r4patch.dat file the new kernel of the dstt is fully used by the R4III chip (in conjunction w/ the files from pong and retro).
    • Member

    drwhojan New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,658
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probly using the r4patch.dat original!, some r4patche.dat get messed-up abit!
    • Newcomer

    chenke New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    China
    It works for old R4 card with YSmenu to play Pokemon B/W

    BUT it doesnot work when playing Eigokoro.nds and New Fire Emblem.nds

    it reports rom load error -5
    • Newcomer

    MasterSurfer New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    13
    Country:
    Germany
    This r4patch.dat is from the latest ttmenu.dat file (w/ ysmenu-auto program).

    To play some older games it seems to be necessary to change the file. This is not good, but for now the only possibility to play pokemon black and white w/ the r4III upgrade.
    • Member

    bitonio6 New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,801
    Country:
    Switzerland
    What are you talking about?!

    Many R4 are simply a DSTT base
    Maybe not the R4 III, you need to test

    The R4 compatibles with DSTT kernel:

    R4V
    R4New
    R4Top
    R4i SDHC (not all, but it is difficult to know before testing)


    If people dont buy R4/R4i, the flashcard world will become much better
    • Newcomer

    MasterSurfer New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    13
    Country:
    Germany
    I know.

    The R4 III Upgrade isn't getting better - but w/ the patched R4patch.dat you get a working solution to play newer games w/o the rom -5 load error.

    The R4 III chip benefits only from the updates the DSTT chip gets but only w/ ysmenu - which loads the r4patch.dat and not the ttpatch.dat file.
    • Newcomer

    drgame93 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Message Count:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I have an R4 III and I'm just wondering where to get Pongs and Retros update? I searched google to no avail. If anyone could help that would be great.

    Edit: I have started Pokemon Black and white clean roms previously, but upon getting done with the intro where you say you are a boy or girl the game does a white screen freeze. Do these help remedy the situation?
    • Newcomer

    yoyoloto New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Message Count:
    67
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Feedback : Doesn't work, I get errcode = -4

Share This Page