Hacking Playing .wbfs files

raphzthename

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi all, I'm definitely not a noob when it comes to Wii modding, but perhaps I am a noob to the newer and greater methods out there. I typically mod systems for people and format their hard drives to WBFS, drag ISOs of games onto WBFS Manager and let the program do the rest. I know that you can now leave your drive in NTFS format and just leave the games in .iso format. I have just modded a Wii system for a friend who bought a hard drive from craigslist with the games preloaded. The hard drive is formatted in NTFS, but the game files are .wbfs. How can he get these games to run?

When starting USB Loader GX, it says that it cannot find a WBFS or FAT/NTFS partition. He has options to select a partition or format the drive. When selecting the main partition, it just gives a code dump. I'm hesitant to tell him to format as I'm not sure whether there is an option to partition the HD through USB Loader GX or if it will just wipe his entire drive. I've tested out a game with one of my USB drives using my method of choice (drag .iso to WBFS Manager to transfer to WBFS formatted USB drive) and it works just fine. I have also tried dragging one of his .wbfs files to add onto my USB drive and that doesn't work. Normally when you drag an .iso file into WBFS Manager, it shows you the game name and other info. Trying to drag the .wbfs file into WBFS Manager does nothing.

What's the easiest way for my friend to be able to play the .wbfs game files on his NTFS HD?

Shano56

noobie
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Make a folder called "wbfs" on the root of the hard drive and place all .wbfs files in there. What revision is the USB loader gx? Global settings > Credits should tell you

EmbraceFiction

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Canada
You should format the drive in FAT32, and follow the above directions.

I also recommend CFG Loader
tongue.gif

Jackaltyson

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country