People with WesternDigital HDD sleep problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Tutorials & FAQs' started by OriginalHamster, Jan 11, 2012.

Jan 11, 2012
    • Member

    OriginalHamster New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,772
    Country:
    Chile
    CHECK YOUR APM VALUE BEFORE USING THIS TOOL, INFO IN POINT 3

    1.What is this

    Ok, I've seen some people suffering from this bothersome spin down mode with their Western Digital HDD, well, I was once a "victim" of this annoying spin down. After some search in the WesternDigital forum I found a tool that disable it, it's called WDIdleDisable Tool.

    Works on:
    • Windows XP
    • Windows Vista
    • Windows 7
    As you can see in the download page it shows a WD Elements SE Portable device, well my HDD is 1tb WD My Passport SE, so it shouldn't be problems of compatibility for people with My Passport.


    Obligatory: Use at your own RISK!!!
    http://support.wdc.c...sid=154&lang=en




    2.Why sleepy HDD are bad for my Wii

    Wii needs keep data transfer constant to avoid problems as longer loading times, music stream hiccups, etc.




    3.How to know if my HDD is sleepy

    1. Run CrystalDiskInfo in your PC http://crystalmark.i...fo/index-e.html
    2. Connect your HDD
    3. Select "Function" tab
    4. Select "Advanced Feature" > "AAM/APM Control"
    5. It will open a new window, select your HDD
    6. Check your Advanced Power Management (APM) settings
    7. It should shows a 80h value (every value over 80h is good)
    8 If it shows a value inferior to 80h you have a sleepy drive, and you should check for help
    9. THIS TOOL DOESN'T MODIFY YOUR APM SETTINGS, IT ONLY SHOW PERFORMANCE!
    10. ???
    11. Profit
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,171
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Sounds more like a thread for the wii tutorial section somehow ;)
    • Member

    Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Member Since:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,996
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 320gb mypassport, just returned the 1tb Passport I got for Christmas due to issues with this one. Now this "IdleSleep" what happens when it activates? I previously sent mine in for not connecting to anything.
    • Newcomer

    mikefor20 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    64
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    The sleep mode can be disabled through the "smartware" software that came with the WD drive under the settings tab. The function is to spin down the drive when not in use. Turning it off makes them work with the Wii but it also means whenever power is going to the drive it is spinning. Could wear it out faster. Although some say spin down is what kills the drive.
    • Member

    OriginalHamster New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,772
    Country:
    Chile
    No, smartware doesn't help, it just configure the drive idle example: 10min, 15min, never.
    The problem with some models is they go idle almost like 3min after.
    You can check this setting with CrystalDiskInfo, if your drive is 80h or more performance you're good.
    • Member

    OriginalHamster New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,772
    Country:
    Chile
    Didn't know that section exist, heh, will try contact a mod.
    Thanks

    This tool just fix the spin down setting, if your drive doesn't connect to anything it has another problem.
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    9,863
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Isn't what the user wants? never stop the drive.


    I can move this topic to Faqs and Guides section.
    But I think it could be a general computer's faq, not only for Wii.
    I'll move it to Wii's faq as it's more problematic with the Wii than a computer.
    • Member

    Coto Challenge Taken.

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,048
    Country:
    Chile
    Nice guide OriginalHamster! .. That's why I always stick with $4 sata cases
    • Member

    hybrid -x1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Message Count:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    So how exactly do you run this app?

    EDIT: Alright well I ran the app and it detected my WD Mypassport and it said this "Drive Update Not Applicable" below "Firmware"
    So was it supposed to tell me something like "disable sleep mode"? or what???
    • Member

    OriginalHamster New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,772
    Country:
    Chile
    Did you check your HDD condition with CrystalDiskInfo?
    If the app aplied the fix, it should appear 80h in the APM setting.
    • Member

    hybrid -x1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Message Count:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    AH yeah it did appear that way with crystaldisk!! Dude thanks a lot man!!! xD
    • Member

    OriginalHamster New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,772
    Country:
    Chile
    Glad it worked for you =D
    • Newcomer

    mae New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Message Count:
    2
    Country:
    Philippines
    I tried running WDIdleDisable Tool but whenever I do so, the app crashes before it even reads the Western Digital HDD.
    but when I unplug the
    Western Digital HDD and start running the WDIdleDisable Too it doesn't crash.

    so what should I do?? ;__;
    • Member

    OriginalHamster New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,772
    Country:
    Chile
    Did you check your APM setting with CrystalDiskInfo? We need check if you really need this fix.
    Also, what model is your HDD?
    Try connect the drive after and before run the app, maybe that way it works.
    Remember this was designed for some WD HDD, not everyone is compatible though.
    • Newcomer

    mae New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Message Count:
    2
    Country:
    Philippines
    My APM setting is just fine. It's above 80 actually.
    WD Elements 1023 with 1TB.
    I've tried to connect the drive after and before I run the app, still had the same effect.
    maybe it doesn't support the model...
    • Member

    OriginalHamster New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,772
    Country:
    Chile
    If your APM setting is above 80h then you don't need this tool, your HDD is fine.
    This tool fixes APM for values below 80h.
    • Member

    alphamule New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Message Count:
    414
    Country:
    United States
    Depends on the drive... Drives designed for data centers are often killed in less than 50 power cycles. Drives designed for home use will hopefully handle hundreds of if not 1000+ power cycles. Of course you could be unlucky and be one of the proud owners of the Seagates with the buggy firmware that would randomly corrupt the error log. Which of course prevented it from communicating over SATA so that you couldn't even update the firmware to a fixed version without some hacked serial cable and careful timing on a partially removed board and obscure commands over a terminal emulator program. Irony: Drive was working just fine - it was the damn SATA port part of the firmware!

    My bigger worry about drives is stuff like dropping them, excessive vibration, water, bad luck with specific drive, power surges...

    It's an old argument for letting drives run all the time or not. I have drives that have been powered up almost continiously for years and not failed. I've had others fail after rebooting. It's funny because when I went to reconnect the data and power cable, the SATA plug had broken the socket off. So I had to straighten one of the pins and then carefully reattach the cord's plug using the gaps in the (now) jammed plug. Still working but it's getting replaced!
    • Member

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Member Since:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Message Count:
    10,137
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Uh, why the warning? Is that WDIdleDisable tool really that detrimental for MyPassport USB HDDs? That very issue you've described may be what's been screwing up Snes9xGx for me this whole time.
    • Member

    bm123456 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Message Count:
    465
    Location:
    Houston
    Country:
    United States
    i have used this tool on a few my passports,, it fine ,,just read how to use it... fixed my problems,,,
    • Newcomer

    Dump New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Message Count:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    so here is my issue just got a 3tb wd my book essentials I can't disable my spin down with the tool that is linked in this guide. It will not work with my drive I'm pretty sure its just for wd elements.. :(

    Edit: Took back that drive cause of spin down issues now i got a 1tb wd my passport everything works fine now

Share This Page