Pandora/MMS guide for installing CFW

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by ProtoKun7, Jan 28, 2010.

Jan 28, 2010
    • Newcomer

    glitcherpwnsall New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Message Count:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I opened up my PSP phat's battery and it is different to all the pictures

    The visible hardware is on the top, like the battery of psp 2000 but the layout is different
    The sides are metal but one of them has a foamy type bit on it.

    What should I do?
    Can I make it pandora?
    Do you want photos?


    • Global Moderator

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 2

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    7,403
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes please.

    I'd say wait until we're able to confirm whether it's possible or not; is it official?
    • Newcomer

    glitcherpwnsall New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Message Count:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I believe so, I bought it off my friend and it looked like a legit battery and my friend doesn't normally go poking around down there.
    I'll get some photos now for you.

    EDIT: If it makes a difference I have the UK psp (as i live in UK)
    EDIT: O.K I have the pics, how do I make it so you can see it? In other forums they have 'Attach a file' but that doesn't seem to be here. What should I do?
    • Global Moderator

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 2

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    7,403
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can upload the images here, then you'll be given a few tags after you upload. Use the one that is listed BBCode Tag: (or alternatively BBCode Tag with thumbnail:).

    Code:
    [img]Image link here[/img]
    • Newcomer

    glitcherpwnsall New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Message Count:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Banned

    prowler Banned!

    Member Since:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    9,343
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How could you think that even remotely looks like a legit battery?

    It's just waiting to blow up.
    • Global Moderator

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 2

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    7,403
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Uh...yeah, don't do anything with that one. [IMG]
    You can get batteries, both pandora and regular, from places like DealExtreme.


    *ducks behind lead shield*
    • Newcomer

    Leeness New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi, I'm also having the IPL problem. It says there is no room for the IPL, so the memory stick can't work with my pandora battery.

    My memory stick is a brand new 8gig ~official~ Sony memory stick. I know you recommended to the other guy with this problem to get a new MS, but...mine is brand new. =/

    I know it says on the thread that it needs to be smaller than 4gig (I got mine before I read that...), but my friend has everything working with an 8gig one, so...

    Thanks for any help!
    • Global Moderator

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 2

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    7,403
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When you say they have everything working with one, do you mean when installing or rather working on custom firmware that's already been installed? I think you might mean the latter, and if so, that's normal; once CFW is installed you can use any size MS.
    • Newcomer

    Leeness New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh...that might be it. I thought he'd made an MMS, but maybe not...

    So for the MMS, you very specifically need between 64mb and 4gigs? I guess I'll have to do that. Man, more money I don't have, haha.

    Just related questions. Would a 4gig one work, or should I just get a 2gig to be safe? And, just out of curiousity, is there a reason it needs to be that specific size?

    Thank you very much for the help. [IMG] I've been trying everything to unbrick my PSP, so this is, hopefully, the ~final~ piece of the puzzle, haha.
    • Global Moderator

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 2

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    7,403
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To be honest, I'm not sure why it would have to be 4GB or under, but when I was writing the guide, I think that was the information I had to hand and I had no reason not to use it. It's possible that that might be outdated, and if so I'll remove it. Maybe if you keep trying with your 8GB card and it works, let us know.

    It's better to have a card that's actually bigger than 64MB due to the NAND backup, which is recommended, as that takes up 66MB.
    • Newcomer

    Leeness New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, at the moment it doesn't work with my 8, so... haha.

    I'll pick up a 2gig or something in the next few days.

    Thanks for all the info. [IMG]

    EDIT: So I picked up a 2gig and it doesn't say that it can't hold the ILP, so yeah, it has to be 4gig or smaller. [IMG]

    However, I'm still not sure if it finished? I don't get that error message, but my Pandora battery still isn't doing anything, so I'm wondering if the MMS actually worked.

    It gets to this:

    [IMG]

    and then it just sits there. Is that the end? Or is it supposed to say "Completed!" or anything?
    • Global Moderator

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 2

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    7,403
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh, sorry, I didn't notice your edit until I looked just now (edits to a post aren't notified as new).

    It's been a long time (just under a year, actually) since I CFW'd my PSP for the first time, so I don't remember if I saw a "Completed" message or not. If you're certain it has finished file operations, then by all means try using the stick and see if it will work. I'd say that it wouldn't be a problem if it didn't work, especially as you have a pandora battery if anything serious goes wrong (which I don't expect).

    So yeah, try it and post the results, if you haven't already.
    • Member

    VLinh New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Message Count:
    318
    Country:
    Canada
    Just used your guide! It all worked out!

    Thanks again! XD
    • Member

    Alex221 New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Message Count:
    602
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Used You're Guide Man Everything Work Perfectly And Now I Have Hacked My First Psp....BEAST
    • Member

    777kidis777 New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    300
    Location:
    Fuckin', Earth.
    Country:
    United States
    Will I be able to format the memory card back to normal and use it, or is it toast?
    • Member

    xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Member Since:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Message Count:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Once installed you can reformat the stick.
    • Member

    Jolan New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,382
    Location:
    Somewhere in ZA WARUDO
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    There's a "Clean Pandora Stick" option in PSP Grader if you fail to realize you can format it yourself.
    • Member

    777kidis777 New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    300
    Location:
    Fuckin', Earth.
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I wouldn't know since I found my PSP with firmware 5.03. :b
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,885
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, following your instructions, the installation of the CFW step has changed (yes, I used the files you linked).

    You no longer press Square to do a NAND backup, instead you choose "NAND Operations" from the main menu and choose "Dump NAND".

    Also, the installer will get you straight to 5.00 M33-4, (not a 3.80 CFW).

Share This Page