Now that Configurable USB Loader supports the GC backups...

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by MandL, May 16, 2012.

May 16, 2012
    • Newcomer

    MandL New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    Now that Configurable USB Loader supports the launching of gamecube backups (according to v70 mod R6 changelog) how would one go about using such backups? I haven't tried yet, but I can't seem to find anything through searching. I'm currently using an ntfs partition and converting my Wii backups to .wbfs format. Can I do similar to Gamecube backups and have them all on the same hardrive/partition?

    Also: proof http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBxh3Nvo9rg
    • Member

    clarky World Peace Is None Of Your Business

    Member Since:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,909
    Country:
    United States
    read up on dios mios lite, you will need an sd card as well for the time being
    • Member

    Akotan Go read a book!

    Member Since:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Message Count:
    555
    Country:
    Brazil
    How? When? What? Which? I'm totally lost...
    Is this true? Can I play (the adorable) Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker there?
    It uses the Classic Controller or the Gamecube controller? So many questions...

    Can I have more information and a piece of cake with that, pretty please?
    • Member

    pokefloote h8 anime h8 pokemon

    Member Since:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,651
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, Wind Waker works well.
    Gamecube controller.

    And yes, cake is included.
    Presto99 and Akotan like this.
    • Member

    FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Member Since:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,774
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    It's basically just a launcher for DML stuff, so you need to read up on that. WW works, but everything's GC controller only.

    As for the USB loader, you need to put the GC games in SD:\Games\\game.iso with everything DML needs to launch it. If you want you can put the games onto the HDD in the same fashion, and when you launch the game the ISO will temporarily be copied to the SD card, so you need at least enough space on the card for that.
    • Member

    pokefloote h8 anime h8 pokemon

    Member Since:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,651
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Really? So I can leave 1.4 GB free on my SD and be able to have all my gamecube games on my USB? That's awesome.
    • Member

    Akotan Go read a book!

    Member Since:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Message Count:
    555
    Country:
    Brazil
    So the requirements are:
    - a SD card with enough space;
    - a Gamecube controller;
    - a Gamecube memory card;
    - Dios Mio;
    - a lot of free time.

    I got it. :P
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,237
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, but the time it takes to copy the game to your SD card can suck.
    • Member

    DiscostewSM New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Message Count:
    3,663
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    How long would you say? And, what if it was copied by the loader already, and when you try to run the game again, does it try to copy it again, or will it simply run it? This might be perfect for me with having only 2GB cards lying around. My Wii uses a 256MB card as it is with my external HDD.
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    9,237
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It depends on the card. Higher class should copy much faster. Just keep common games on an SD card.
    • Member

    shortz1994 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,340
    Country:
    United States
    thats why you get a big enough sdcard to put the games on. they still show up. when on sd card, an you don't need to wait for the "copying over" file crap ;)
    • Member

    ddetkowski New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,136
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Keep in mind that the usb loaders only show & launch the GC games....
    You still need the GC game residing on your SD card for it to work, along with installing DML.
    • Newcomer

    MandL New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    So if I place them on my sdcard they'll show up along with the games from the hardrive (I don't have to go into the settings and change the source).


    So in this way I'd be able to use the ntfs partition on my hardrive that I've been running my wii backups on?
    • Member

    FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Member Since:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,774
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes to both questions. Stuff saved on the HDD can't be directly run from the HDD, though; if it's not on the SD card when you choose to launch it, it'll be copied there and then run, and if there's not enough space on the SD card it can't be run.
    • Member

    JN_big3 New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Message Count:
    223
    Country:
    Philippines
    WTF man, please rename the title before it causes confusion to readers.
    • Newcomer

    NemeZZiZZ New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    6
    Country:
    Russia
    wrong topic, deleted
    • Member

    luck_gh0st New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Message Count:
    174
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Too late LOL!
    • Newcomer

    EarlAB New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Message Count:
    22
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Just a quick question! Can I use a wireless gamecube controller? My Wii is newer than 2010 and does not have the gc ports...
    • Member

    PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    No, where would you connect the reciever.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page