Nintendo blocks flashcards with DSi firmware 1.4.1

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Opium, Sep 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Sep 8, 2010
    • Former Staff

    Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Message Count:
    8,163
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    [IMG] Nintendo blocks flashcards with DSi firmware 1.4.1
    do not update!
    [IMG]

    Nintendo has just blocked flashards on the DSi yet again with the release of firmware update 1.4.1 today. However, it does not seem like all flashcards have been affected.

    Nintendo's system menu update page says the new firmware provides "behind-the-scenes improvements", but as expected that is really just PR speak for "no more homebrew for you". This is the first incremental update for the DSi in over a year, yet it is not believed there are any new features for the DSi outside of flashcards being blocked.

    Several GBAtemp users have updated and tested their flashcards and ended up with a black screen that tells them to turn off the power. The Supercard DSTwo and Acekard 2i are confirmed to be blocked, but resident AKAIO developer and flashcard wizz Normmatt says the EZ-Flash Vi and iSmartDS have not been blocked. We will keep a list of confirmed flashcards.

    Thanks to SickPuppy for the original tip-off on the forums about this update.

    For now, steer clear of the update if you want to keep using your flashcard!





    • Member

    shango46 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Message Count:
    164
    Location:
    Andrew, Alberta Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    First Sony with 3.42 and now Nintendo with 1.41. Microsoft, your up next!
    • Member

    TeenDev GBAtemp's Original Hipster

    Member Since:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Message Count:
    633
    Location:
    Republic of Devistan
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure "behind-the-scenes improvements" means "Fuck your flashcarts!".
    • Member

    AcekardFan New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Message Count:
    232
    Location:
    Stockton
    Country:
    United States
    Im Going To Update Let's See nintendo

    Why Does It Say I Can't Connect To the Server?I Have 3 Bars....Error Code: 034302

    Nintendo Dsi Shop Is Going Through Maintainence Huh Sounds Fun
    • Member

    DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Member Since:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Message Count:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    It's obvious this was made to block the exploit wintermute made (or added onto if you want to get technical).
    • Member

    johncenafan427 New Member

    Member Since:
    May 11, 2010
    Message Count:
    479
    Location:
    Troy, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    glad i don't have a dsi anymore!
    • Member

    Omega_2 New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    677
    Country:
    Antarctica
    ? I'm always the last to know about anything XD
    • Member

    Gh0sti iOS Guru

    Member Since:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,203
    Location:
    Inside you, all around you
    Country:
    United States
    so who wants to test to see if it blocks flashcarts?
    • Member

    Shinintendo New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Message Count:
    335
    Country:
    Israel
    If it block flashcarts or dsi key exploit it can go f*** itself [IMG]
    who needs it anyway.
    • Member

    WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Member Since:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,375
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    I dont think that update will block any flash cards. The 1.4.1 implies more probably just a small fix.
    • Member

    RoMee ??

    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,315
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not willing to risk it....I'll wait till it's safe
    • Member

    haddad GBAtemp's Official Video Reviewer™

    Member Since:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,516
    Country:
    Canada
    So does this mean we should not update? Ill disconnect from my wifi until this is confirmed and tested >_<

    Everyone, dont update!
    • Member

    MadClaw New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    322
    Location:
    Usa
    Country:
    United States
    "Behind the scenes".................Come on Nintendo. Almost a full 13 months since your last update and you can't come up with anything new? F*ck you! [IMG]
    • Member

    AcekardFan New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Message Count:
    232
    Location:
    Stockton
    Country:
    United States
    I'm going to update as soon as possible becuase I wanna see if This Will Block my Acekard 2i
    • Former Staff

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,279
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    thanks for posting this news! my dsi is nothing without a flash kit and dsi-ware. i'll wait to see how this plays out before trying to run any updates. sadly i have 500 dsi-ware points in the shop right now. lets hope their little shop update doesn't screw up my stored points =P

    -another world
    • Member

    murkurie New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Message Count:
    316
    Location:
    California, Redlands
    Country:
    United States
    updated, will test SCDS2
    • Member

    AcekardFan New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Message Count:
    232
    Location:
    Stockton
    Country:
    United States
    In a few minutes i will upload a video showing if this will block my dsi ok?
    • Member

    Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Member Since:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,593
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    *bites nails nervously*
    • Member

    murkurie New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Message Count:
    316
    Location:
    California, Redlands
    Country:
    United States
    Update blocks my Super card DStwo just gives a error saying to hold power to turn system off
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!

    yes I used a DSi to take these photos of a DSi
    • Member

    RoMee ??

    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,315
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    many thanks to all you guys who's testing this new firmware [IMG]
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page