Nintendo Account and user advice

Discussion in 'Switch - Games & Content' started by CatmanFan, Mar 18, 2017.

  1. CatmanFan
    OP

    CatmanFan nope

    Member
    1,284
    405
    Aug 14, 2016
    Morocco
    If I unlink my Nintendo Account from one Switch user and then link to another Switch user on the same console, which data will I lose? Should I add all my friends again? Will my friend code be reissued?
     
  2. xile6

    xile6 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,194
    305
    Jan 15, 2006
    United States
    Each user has a different friend code i believe.
    Gotta check mines and see.
    As for linking i dont know what will change.
    The saves are stored under each user data and only one account needs to be link to nintendo in order to use the eshol.
    Other then that i do not know. Nintendo is never clear about these things
     
  3. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time

    Member
    1,112
    425
    Mar 20, 2015
    Canada
    10th Dimension
    Just link both users for now. I have 3 users on mine one for each region NA, EU and ASIA each with their respective eshops. giggity.
     
  4. CatmanFan
    OP

    CatmanFan nope

    Member
    1,284
    405
    Aug 14, 2016
    Morocco
    Linking both users with a single Nintendo account isn't even possible. I tried it and it didn't work. You need to have one Nintendo account for each user, you can't have one Nintendo account for two users, or even two Nintendo accounts linked to one user. End of story.
     
  5. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time

    Member
    1,112
    425
    Mar 20, 2015
    Canada
    10th Dimension
    I misunderstood you, I thought you wanted to add another user.

    If it helps, I changed my linked Nintendo account on one of my users and my friends list stayed intact.
     
  6. CatmanFan
    OP

    CatmanFan nope

    Member
    1,284
    405
    Aug 14, 2016
    Morocco
    You mean you renamed your Nintendo account?

    I'm talking about MOVING a linked Nintendo account to ANOTHER user.
     
  7. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time

    Member
    1,112
    425
    Mar 20, 2015
    Canada
    10th Dimension
    I "Unlinked" my nintendo account from one user and "Linked" it to another user, then "Linked" a new account to the original user.

    The original user still has all the friends that were originally on it. Your friends and saves will not carry over to another user.
     
    Last edited by Mr. Wizard, Mar 21, 2017
    CatmanFan likes this.
  8. hamodii_87

    hamodii_87 Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Nov 10, 2016
    so if i download a DLC for an EU game with my second EU account and want to play it with my USA Account it will work ?
     
  9. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time

    Member
    1,112
    425
    Mar 20, 2015
    Canada
    10th Dimension
    Yes, all users can play the games on that console no matter what user purchased it as long as that account is active on that console, this includes DLC.
     
  10. hamodii_87

    hamodii_87 Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Nov 10, 2016
    thanks bro for this information

    its time to buy switch
     
  11. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time

    Member
    1,112
    425
    Mar 20, 2015
    Canada
    10th Dimension
    Just an update, I had to unlink an account on one of my users today and move it to a newly created user. I was mistaken when I said your friend don't transfer, they do in fact transfer to the new user that you link your account to.
     
  12. CatmanFan
    OP

    CatmanFan nope

    Member
    1,284
    405
    Aug 14, 2016
    Morocco
    And do your friend code and saves transfer?
     
  13. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time

    Member
    1,112
    425
    Mar 20, 2015
    Canada
    10th Dimension
    Friend code yes, saves not sure didn't have any. It did mention that some save data may be lost but it didn't go into any detail.
     
    CatmanFan likes this.
  14. CatmanFan
    OP

    CatmanFan nope

    Member
    1,284
    405
    Aug 14, 2016
    Morocco
    After I unlinked my Nintendo account from one user and then linked it to another one, the process somehow copied the original user icon and username to the new one. And then I thought that my Zelda saves were gone, but it turns out they were completely fine.