Ni No Kuni (US) Save Modification

Discussion in 'PS3 - Tutorials & FAQs' started by Kentoss, Jan 25, 2013.

Jan 25, 2013
    • Newcomer

    Naesaki New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Message Count:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As for the inventory editor, i decrypted the files like it says but when i go to load the SYS it says an Unhanded exception has occurred in your application
    Apparently due to Object reference not set to an instance of an object


    • Newcomer

    Shaddolk New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Message Count:
    4
    Country:
    France
    It doesn't seem like you use Bruteforce Save Data to decrypt your file.
    It's like that whenever you don't. So you have to use it.

    EDIT
    Trying to open an encrypted save will result in an unhandled exception for now, I might fix this later if I ever decide to update this.
    Last edited by Shaddolk, Feb 18, 2013
    • Newcomer

    sassapphras New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Message Count:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    That means your save files hasn't been decrypted.
    • Newcomer

    Naesaki New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Message Count:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    According to the brute force thing though the files were decrypted >.<

    So i must be doing something wrong during the decryption process

    Decided to download and reinstall the bruteforce again, and it now works :)
    Last edited by Naesaki, Feb 19, 2013
    • Newcomer

    sassapphras New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Message Count:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Did you get errors installing Brute Force? I did and had the same issue you're having now. I still haven't figured out how to fix it, so instead I use PS3 Save Resigner (check an earlier post here by me) to decrypt instead of Brute Force. Save Resigner works well. You'll just have to make sure to download HxD because it doesn't come with a portable version like Brute Force does.
    • Newcomer

    MaximusArg1982 New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Message Count:
    8
    Country:
    Argentina
    Hi, maybe this can help on the structure analysis:
    Just wanted to add I don't think all blocks are variable length and end in FEFF

    This is the start of my savefile.
    I think blocks F1 and F3 seems to be fixed size (so, no FEFF terminator) and F2 is variable size (so, FEFF terminator)

    [IMG]




    @Supercool:
    You think it possible to rip the whole Character/Familiar db out of the decrypted data files?
    Or are those tables more likely stored in the program than a data file?

    It would be cool to make a web based database with all info of learnable skills, which lvls, max lvl for a especies, stats for each lvl, etc.

    There's a primitive DB on one of the faqs in GameFaqs, but I reckon this way would be easier than checking one on one :)
    • Newcomer

    sassapphras New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Message Count:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Yes please.
    • Newcomer

    MaximusArg1982 New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Message Count:
    8
    Country:
    Argentina
    Addition to Character/Familiar Structure

    Off 0x0c Position in save.
    Follows the same rule as Inventory, low 4 bits are type, grows by 0x10
    type 0 for chars,
    type 1 for familiars

    e.g:

    Oliver 0x00
    Drippy 0x10
    Esther 0x20
    Rashaad 0x30
    ...

    Familiars (For some reason, it's not sorted in the same order you got them)
    1st 0x01
    2nd 0x11
    3rd 0x21
    .....

    Stored familiars doesn't seem to have a different store in the save, they are immediately next to party familiars
    e.g, In my case I've got 5 familiars in the party,
    1st stored 0x51
    2nd 0x61
    ...
    • Member

    Don Killah New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Message Count:
    1,127
    Country:
    France
    It's because it's using a new .NET Framework (4.5 if i recall right) which is not compatible with XP.
    I'm facing the same issue, the author must recompile it with dependecies set to 3.5 or 4.0, which is the latest compatible one.
    Plus, v4.5 doesn't really add impressive stuff, so no need to use it.

    So i'm asking to gimmestuff, can you please recompile your app to framework v4.0 ?
    This way, us, XP users can enjoy your tool, thanks.
    • Newcomer

    Manu-Kesna New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Message Count:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    is someone working on that savefile editor from gimmestuff02 so it can add familiars to your party/familiar retrieve too? I would love you forever :(
    • Newcomer

    EntItThough New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Message Count:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    WARNING

    This is a heads up, I used gimmestuff02's incredible program maybe 30 times tonight and have found a few things that cause the game (well my game) to glitch.

    Treats set max 80
    Provisions set max 80
    Familiar Tickets set max 80 but only ONE FAMILIAR used at a time
    Growth Items set max 80
    Accessories set max 80
    Ingredients set max 80
    Armor set max 12
    Weapons set Max 9

    For best results. I was getting a lot of DUPE items when I was doing 99s instead of one set (99) of each.
    I set up two familiar tickets at 99 apiece and it duped it to be two sets (99) of griffy which kept freezing my game whenever I would look at stats.

    I highly suggest only doing the modding ONCE per save I found the glitches more common after each modification.
    I was very disappointed in my self for causing these problems with being over zealous. Use with caution and care.
    Just my two cents so no one has the same terrible discovery of a fully corrupted save file due to unfixable cheats.
    • Member

    Don Killah New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Message Count:
    1,127
    Country:
    France
    Hi everyone, is there any items list with the hex values ?
    • Newcomer

    Lord Blade New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    Canada
    I gave myself 99 of all consumables, ingredients, treats and skill gems. Didn't have any problems.
    • Newcomer

    Shaddolk New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Message Count:
    4
    Country:
    France
    EntItThough: You have a back-up, right?

    Don Killah: Yes on the FIRST page.
    • Newcomer

    Caidezes New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Message Count:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    So, uh...I think I did something wrong. I edited my save to give myself all the "exclusive" familiar tickets, but only one of them worked like it should. I used it and that was that. The rest, however, stayed in my inventory after using them and some had a zero in the amount in-bag. I managed to edit the save to delete them from my inventory and everything was fine for a while until later when several different items won't disappear. They have zero in the quantity display and they can't be moved or sold. In addition, the inventory has one or two blank spaces in it.

    I'd appreciate any help. Everything else is working as it should, other than those items and blank spaces. (I can upload the code if needed.)
    • Newcomer

    jakdo New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Message Count:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    How to edit Familiars bonus stats (growth stats):

    From the start of the familiar (explained on the first page, the 0D byte) go to these offsets:
    Notes:
    • They are only 1 byte long.
    • Feeding them treats will reset them to the max if you've given them more than 50.
    • They do not reset when your familiar levels (not sure about evolution though, but i assume it won't)
    (Give FF for 255)
    Stat - Offset (from 0D) - size
    Attack - EA - 1 byte
    --3 byte spacing
    Defence - EE - 1 byte
    --3 byte spacing
    Magic attack - F2 - 1 byte
    -- 3 byte spacing
    Magic defence - F6 - 1 byte
    -- 3 byte spacing
    Evasion - FA - 1 byte
    -- 3 byte spacing
    Accuracy - FE - 1 byte
    Last edited by jakdo, Feb 22, 2013
    • Newcomer

    phantonn The Might Phantom T-Rex.

    Member Since:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Message Count:
    6
    Location:
    In the Past.
    Country:
    Brazil
    It's possible find the amount of glim that i catch in the save? Because i need the "Glim Reaper (catch 2000 glim) for plat this game. And i would like to know if someone know if is possible mod the save for that?
    Thanks in advance.
    • Newcomer

    jakdo New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Message Count:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    phantonn likes this.
    • Newcomer

    phantonn The Might Phantom T-Rex.

    Member Since:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Message Count:
    6
    Location:
    In the Past.
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thanks, dude. I will try.
    I'm trying to learn to mod me save, and i'm getting better. ;)
    • Newcomer

    EntItThough New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Message Count:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    hey bud, if you notice its been duping items, think the treats you will have two of one item and missing another same with ingredients instead of a few of all

    I didnt, I had the modded file with hours on it but didnt back it up after each mod addition so I lost time when the file messed up.
    Any inventory searching freezes the ps3
    Last edited by EntItThough, Feb 23, 2013

Share This Page