Need some original Xbox Modchips. Any US/NA sellers?

Discussion in 'Online Stores and Purchases' started by codezer0, Oct 14, 2016.

  1. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,368
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Long story short, original thread for reference or the long version.

    Simply, I have two OG Xbox systems that I picked up for salvage. One is giving me an error implying that it can't start the dash on the system. The other, I accidentally unlocked the hard drive after soft-modding, and now gives me an error because it's expecting it to be locked.

    Both are v1.6 systems. And in the interest of being able to resolve this quickly and effectively, it would appear I'd need a modchip that can at least load a new BIOS to give me a way to actually re-set the hard drives in both systems and get them both up and running correctly.

    While some of the fellow tempers were indeed helpful, the links provided seem to imply that they were going to be shipping overseas, which would negate the up-front cost of picking up a chip from the linked site. Trying to search on Amazon or ebay brings me no results, and my Google-Fu is, for lack of kinder wording, terrible.

    I'll be up front in saying that I really don't know what would make for a good/meh/bad modchip for these, since the last time I actually shopped for a modchip was when I ended up buying a pre-modded PS2 with a Matrix Infinity chip. I am aware of there being solder-less modchips for an OG xbox, but would any of them work in a 1.6 system? At least if there is such a thing at a reasonable price, I could slide by with just picking up one and then installing to the afflicted box to perform the necessary repairs, kind of like a portable tool kit. Otherwise, I'd need to order at least two (one for each system).

    Is there even such a thing as a reputable seller that carries these anymore? I get it's not a retro system, but it also isn't a current system, either. And just trying to do what I can to get them up and running. Ideally it'd be great if they were in the US, but I'd even settle for at least in the north american continent if it isn't like having to pay double the amount and still waiting two months to get the thing.
     
  2. vb_encryption_vb

    Member vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Canton, GA or Acworth, GA
    Country:
    United States
    If you have your eeprom, you can relock your hdd with pc. If you have any soldering skills you can make your own eeprom reader to read from MB as well.
     
    Last edited by vb_encryption_vb, Oct 17, 2016
  3. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,368
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Even if I could do that successfully, that only covers one of the consoles. The other, is giving the error code of not being able to set the clock, and not being able to launch the dashboard to remedy that. I wouldn't presently know of any way to get that one up and running, either. Since, without a known dashboard build, I can't use that ndure soft mod setup to get it running again, I would think.
     
  4. vb_encryption_vb

    Member vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Canton, GA or Acworth, GA
    Country:
    United States
    There use to be an eeprom info program, I do think this would tell you the dashboard, the clock, could be battery related?
     
  5. codezer0
    OP

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,368
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Correct me if im wrong, but I fail to see how that will help if neither system will boot at this point in time.

    While your eeprom item might help with one, I am skeptical about it helping at all with the other that - for all I know - has no dashboard at all.

    At least I know for certain with a modchip, I could make them boot up to at least load stuff either via FTP or disc.
     
  6. 3dsgametime

    Newcomer 3dsgametime Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    I have only purchased from them once, but I got my OG xbox mod chip (aladdin chip) from http://www.ps2cover.com/products/Aladdin-XT-Xbox-Mod-Chip.html It came via USPS, I think took about 4 days or a week and it's been working fine. I don't know if this is the best OX Xbox chip, though way back machine tells me it was popular, I haven't been able to find any other ones at all and this chip is working just fine for whatever i have thrown at it so far.
     
    codezer0 likes this.

Share This Page